BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Family

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!

I cant lie. The first time I read this book I cried like a baby. The importance of knowing my family history and being African American made this book really get to me. I put myself within the shoes of the characters and I was able feel the feelings they felt. This boo...
I cant lie. The first time I read this book I cried like a baby. The importance of knowing my family history and being African American made this book really get to me. I put myself within the shoes of the characters and I was able feel the feelings they felt. This book is one of my best reads.

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I found it "easy" read:)

I found it well written yet ok:)

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Love this book!

    I cant lie. The first time I read this book I cried like a baby. The importance of knowing my family history and being African American made this book really get to me. I put myself within the shoes of the characters and I was able feel the feelings they felt. This book is one of my best reads.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    REWIND YOUR LIFE

    I read this book when I was in middle school, I am now a College Freshman and I was in search of this book. My horrible memory remembered above all, THIS book. That has got to stand for something. This book can take you back and bring forward in you an understanding of your heritage you never thought you'd witness. I recommend this book to my race and all races even if you've got a something else in you. This book is truly hypnotizing and for a breif moment, you are actually back there.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this story, my 1st by J Calif Cooper but not my last, I

    I loved this story, my 1st by J Calif Cooper but not my last, I want to read all her books! This book was highly recommended by a friend now I highly recommend it to my whole family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Ok of awsome

    U WILL LOVE BOOK

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    A Definite Must Read

    I first read this book when I was in 4th grade, then read it again in middle school. I can still vividly remember passages from this book, and some of the obstacles that the characters went through. I will definitely have my children read this book. There are so many lessons to glean from it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    This book touched so many places in my spirit!

    Beautifully written, Cooper masterfully expressed the feelings and senses of pure joy, raw pain and the free spirit of each character, especially Always and her ever-present mother. Cooper shows that freedom has so many meanings. Well done!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Family

    This was a wonderful book although it made me sad for the children and the life they had to be given. This book is a must read. I alone have read it 3 times and never got tired of reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2001

    Fantastic

    A bittersweet mix of love, pain, and family. A great read, finished in one day. Nonetheless interesting, a learning experience for everyone assigned this book in my African American History Class (Adelphi University). Thank you Ms. Darling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2001

    Abosutely Beautiful!!!

    This book is beautifully written. The flow is smooth and on-going, a non-stop read. The novel is set during the time of slavery. It's about a woman (Clora) who wants to keep her family together, but, however, during that time period, keeping a family together was hard to do. However, Clora dies in the novel, but her spirit still lives on, as depicted on the cover. From Clora's spirit, she's allowed you to visit each of her children from the United States to France. We experience the pain and joy of each child. From Always (her oldest child) to Plum (her youngest). Reading 'Family', you will melt right into the characters and you will find yourself loving it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Awesome

    I read this book years ago when my grandmother reccomended it. Worth the buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    Highly Recommended, for sure!

    I was unfamiliar with J. California Cooper's writing until I read Family for a discussion series at the local library. I am so grateful for the opportunity. Her POV choice, characterization, and writing style pull the reader through from the "cosmic" beginning to the end.There are very few ways to describe the horrific wrongness of slavery adequately. That is why we need the creative strength of Cooper's characters telling their stories and both defining and praising the need for family. Read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Brute

    Hey im a male. I saaw u nedded a mate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Red

    Red nodded quickly, then ran there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Cranberrykit

    The grey tabby shekit with blue eyes looks for kmart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Rigamortis

    Happy fourth!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    To sydney

    For #1 tell ur bf that u wanatake a break but do it so it wont be akward after than be friends with both guys get to know them ad decide who u like for #2 does ur friend have gmail or facebook have her friend the guy its a lot easier to talk when ur behind a screen when theyre really good friends they shuod talk for real it might be easier and hell know her more hope this helps!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    TO SHELBY

    Poo. -_- Nuff saidd.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    T family tragedy

    You need to meet her again somehow. Talk to your grandma about it an maybe you can go see her sometime. Just me sure you keep telling yourself sh hasnt fprgotten you and soon youll believe it tell me if this helped!<p>Lexi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    ANSWER TO YOUR PROBLEMS

    Kill them all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    FAMILY TRAGEDY (HELP ME)

    My aunt cathy (shes actually pretty young to be an aunt to me) and she and her brother chris left to go back to their real parents. You see, Cathy and Chris are both adopted. Now that they are gone, im left devastated and helpless. I feel empty inside. I just cant imagine how heartbroken my grandparents are! Their real parents are very poor, and near homelessness. Cathy is pregnant, and has no money to pay for the baby. I feel as if theyve completely forgotten about me, thier favorite best niece. -from, devastated Lilly-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3