Customer Reviews for

Family: The Real Story of the Bush Dynasty

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fair and Balanced

I have never read a Kitty Kelley book before--when her other books were written, I was too young to be interested. This one generated such a buzz that I thought I would try to read it and see what all of the commotion was about. What I ended up finding was a fascinati...
I have never read a Kitty Kelley book before--when her other books were written, I was too young to be interested. This one generated such a buzz that I thought I would try to read it and see what all of the commotion was about. What I ended up finding was a fascinating page turner that I devoured as if it were a novel. The alarming part for me was that the 'characters' in it were real and the power and influence that the 'haves and have mores' or as W calls them 'his base' have is alarming, given the disdain they have for the people who put them there (a.k.a. the 'little guys'). Given the media storm, and charges leveled against Kelley--I thought this would be a book of what GHWB called 'vitriol'--instead, Kelley is actually fair and balanced. She corrected a notion I had that Prescott Bush was involved with the Nazis and cleared up several other myths I believed. In the end, I think Kelley wrote a great and well-documented book--much of the facts come from written correspondence or recorded public statements¿not ¿off the record¿ or subsequently recanted interviews¿in spite of what the media has said.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining but Unable to check sources & documentation

Like many of her other books, I found it hard to check her sources. It is an entertaining read, she is the type of writer that you want to read her book in one session and let the housework go unfinished, but I question it's accuracy because of so little documentation....
Like many of her other books, I found it hard to check her sources. It is an entertaining read, she is the type of writer that you want to read her book in one session and let the housework go unfinished, but I question it's accuracy because of so little documentation.

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    Fair and Balanced

    I have never read a Kitty Kelley book before--when her other books were written, I was too young to be interested. This one generated such a buzz that I thought I would try to read it and see what all of the commotion was about. What I ended up finding was a fascinating page turner that I devoured as if it were a novel. The alarming part for me was that the 'characters' in it were real and the power and influence that the 'haves and have mores' or as W calls them 'his base' have is alarming, given the disdain they have for the people who put them there (a.k.a. the 'little guys'). Given the media storm, and charges leveled against Kelley--I thought this would be a book of what GHWB called 'vitriol'--instead, Kelley is actually fair and balanced. She corrected a notion I had that Prescott Bush was involved with the Nazis and cleared up several other myths I believed. In the end, I think Kelley wrote a great and well-documented book--much of the facts come from written correspondence or recorded public statements¿not ¿off the record¿ or subsequently recanted interviews¿in spite of what the media has said.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    A Reviewer

    I applaud Kitty Kelley for writing such an insightful book about the Bush family especially considering that George W. Bush is still in office. I can understand why some sources did not want to be identified. The Italian political strategist Niccolo Machiavelli said that the hard way to the top is often the best. People born into money and power are more likely to fail than self-made people who are forced to learn the important life lessons. I thought of this as I read about the privileged life of George W. Bush. Forget about electing people to the office of president just because of their name. Brains and talent are what counts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    The Truth Be Told

    This is my first Kitty Kelley book. My interest in politics especially this election year, encouraged me to read her book. Ms. Kelley did not disappoint. I must say the book is outstanding. Informational as well as historical. I'm fascinated that tactics in use for the 2004 presidental campaign are similar to those used throughout the Bush family's political history. I found her documentation very believable. Kudos to Ms. Kelley for having the strength to write a book umasking the publics personna of the Bush Family. A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    Excellent CD

    Susan Denaker gives an outstanding reading of Kitty Kelley's tell-all epic of the Bush 'dynasty'. Her beautifully modulated voice and crystal-clear reading are a pleasure to hear. What a contrast to the often sordid details she must relate: shady business schemes, underhanded politics, the misuse of power and influence, and the unsavory pasts of some not always likable people. Put on the CD and prepare to be entranced - and sometimes revolted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2005

    A must read

    An excellent book, informative as well as interesting. A real insight into the Bush family. It changed my vote and further opened my eyes. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2004

    REQUIRED READING!

    This eye-opener should be REQUIRED READING for every voter prior to the election.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2004

    These Power/Money hungry ppl rule our country...

    Very entertaining and insightful book into the Bush family. Although I knew some of the stuff she mentions already, there was a great deal I didnt. I didnt like the Bushes before, and am discusted now.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Finally some TRUTH

    This book was truely an eye opening experience. It is very enlightning about this administration that seems to constantly never follow up on it's promises. This book will shock you, but is a must read!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    Entertaining but Unable to check sources & documentation

    Like many of her other books, I found it hard to check her sources. It is an entertaining read, she is the type of writer that you want to read her book in one session and let the housework go unfinished, but I question it's accuracy because of so little documentation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Anonymous

    It's very obvious that the author intently dislikes the Bush family. She constantly tells us what Bush family members "thought." How can she possibly know their private thoughts? She misrepresented the Supreme Court decision about the Florida recount. This is not a serious book about the Bush family. Do not waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    At last !

    Finally, the real story of our current political dynasty. The tone is a little breathless but the factual narraitve is straightforward and square with the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    OUTSTANDING!

    At last, an objective, insightful look at the Bushes as they really are beneath the fabricated veneers of image management experts!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    Must read for all voters.

    This was a great piece that truly exposed the Bush family for what they really are. I am impressed that the money and power behind America's new royal family, did not squash this, as it has so many others, trying to get the truth out there. Read it and decide if they are the kind of folks that you want representing your country.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    Suprise Suprise

    Well she got this one right. Not anything I didn't already know, but a good read all the same.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    Family: The Real Story of the Bush Dynasty

    This book is very well written. I'm a veteran and the this book is clearly factual. As an independent this book helped me decide who was telling the truth. I could not put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    The Queen of Unauthorized Biography!

    Kitty Kelley confirms her standing as the once and forever queen of unauthorized biography...she knocks the Bushes off their self-created pedestal; her revelations about Barbara Bush, once America's grandma, were especially revealing. Thanks!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    Family: The Real Story of the Bush Dynasty

    interesting book about what really happened beore George W Bush was appointed. Not what we have been told. Makes you doubt the veracity of Bush. Makes me and others that I have given the book to want to see the rest of his military records and why he went awol during the Vietnam War and then lied about it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    Family: The Real Story of the Bush Dynasty

    It seems that this book has much more verifiable evidence compared to what Mr. Bush presented when he repeatedly flip flopped on the reason why he was going to war in Iraq. Whatever your political leanings, evidence talks and allegations walk...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    Family: The Real Story of the Bush Dynasty

    For those on both sides of the political spectrum, or those firmly in the middle, this is a MUST READ! Before forming a firm opinion on all you're hearind about in the media, you MUST read this one for yourself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Excellent book! Opens your eyes!

    This book tells the real story of the Bush's. All I can say is read it, it's riveting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2