Customer Reviews for

Family Affair

Average Rating 3
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This is a fun throwback contemporary romance

In San Francisco, Lacey Lancaster knows she is in the midst of a self pitying and self cursing fit for being a coward afraid to tell her boss Mr. "take credit for her designs" Sullivan she deserved a raise and accolades. Her listener is her Abyssinian cat Cleo who unde...
In San Francisco, Lacey Lancaster knows she is in the midst of a self pitying and self cursing fit for being a coward afraid to tell her boss Mr. "take credit for her designs" Sullivan she deserved a raise and accolades. Her listener is her Abyssinian cat Cleo who understands abandonment as her two siblings were bought two weeks before Lacy saw her look pitiful in the pet shop window. Unlike her cheating lying ex Peter, she knows Cleo would not hurt her. Still though her dream of a family is temporarily shattered, Lacey, thanks to her feline friend, remains hopeful that one day she will meet her mate, an honest soul.

The other irritants making her life miserable are the man in the next door apartment Jack Walker and his rogue womanizing cat Dog. Jack drives Lacey crazy with his non-stop insistent raging at his beautiful girlfriend; demanding she move in with him. His beast is the neighborhood's worst womanizer trying to get into Cleo's purr. When Lacey realizes Cleo is off her feed, she learns why. Her cat is carrying and the absentee dad lives next door. Lacey goes next door confronting Jack and Dog; both listen with exasperating male bonding grins. Confusing Lacey further is when she learns who his girlfriend Sarah is and what their fighting like cats and dogs is about.

This is a fun throwback contemporary romance in which boy meets girl; girl dislikes boy; girl and boy fall in love. The entertaining novella stars two delightful protagonists supported by their cats and Sarah as love is in the San Francisco air.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

There is nothing I hate more than ordering a book and finding out it is a reprint. I can't believe that they made this a hardcover. It is so tiny! I love Debbie Macomber but I feel completely ripped off.

posted by 2923742 on January 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    Disappointed

    There is nothing I hate more than ordering a book and finding out it is a reprint. I can't believe that they made this a hardcover. It is so tiny! I love Debbie Macomber but I feel completely ripped off.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Should have read reviews before purchasing!!

    I couldn't believe it once I downloaded this book to my new Nook!! It REALLY is only 79 pages. What a rip off for 9.99. I want a refund also!!!!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    Disappointed in the length of the book for the price I paid.

    What a rip-off! I will never buy a book before release ever again! I want a refund.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Not Worth the Money

    This book was a short story not a full length novel. It was not worth the high price!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Very disappointed.

    I enjoy reading Debbie Macomber but 9.99 for 79 pages. Nook needs to credit anyone who bought this book and they need to include the number of pages in book info.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Good story.

    Was very disappointed by the length of the book. Paid way to much for Nook version.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Not worth the money

    I am VERY disappointed I spent ten dollars on a book that took me less than an hour to read and that I didn't find out until after I purchased the book that it isn't even a new story. It was originally published some time ago. It was a cute story but NOT worth the price I paid for it. I think the people at the publishing company should be ashamed of themselves for overcharging on an old story and extremely quick read just because the author is a good sell.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Disappointed

    I love her books by I was so disappointed that is was only 79 pages and I paid $9.99 for it. I normally don't mind paying that much for her books but not for 79 pages!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fun throwback contemporary romance

    In San Francisco, Lacey Lancaster knows she is in the midst of a self pitying and self cursing fit for being a coward afraid to tell her boss Mr. "take credit for her designs" Sullivan she deserved a raise and accolades. Her listener is her Abyssinian cat Cleo who understands abandonment as her two siblings were bought two weeks before Lacy saw her look pitiful in the pet shop window. Unlike her cheating lying ex Peter, she knows Cleo would not hurt her. Still though her dream of a family is temporarily shattered, Lacey, thanks to her feline friend, remains hopeful that one day she will meet her mate, an honest soul.

    The other irritants making her life miserable are the man in the next door apartment Jack Walker and his rogue womanizing cat Dog. Jack drives Lacey crazy with his non-stop insistent raging at his beautiful girlfriend; demanding she move in with him. His beast is the neighborhood's worst womanizer trying to get into Cleo's purr. When Lacey realizes Cleo is off her feed, she learns why. Her cat is carrying and the absentee dad lives next door. Lacey goes next door confronting Jack and Dog; both listen with exasperating male bonding grins. Confusing Lacey further is when she learns who his girlfriend Sarah is and what their fighting like cats and dogs is about.

    This is a fun throwback contemporary romance in which boy meets girl; girl dislikes boy; girl and boy fall in love. The entertaining novella stars two delightful protagonists supported by their cats and Sarah as love is in the San Francisco air.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    Thanks.....

    Because of all the NEGATIVE feedback....I will NOT purchase this book!!! And I usually LOVE her books! But it seems this one is not woth thr price!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Very DISAPPOINTED

    This book was only 79 pages and they charged 9.99 plus tax. The story was a an ok short story but not worth the price.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Very Disappointed!!

    This eBook is almost $10. I can tell by the reviews it got that everyone was as surprised as I was at how short it was. Personally, for someone who reads as much as I do it was a rip off and will definitely be more careful in the future. The Nook is supposed to be saving us money or so I thought. I think B&N should list the number of pages before a person has to buy it. I have never seen any of this author's books this short. Based on the reviews I read I think everyone agrees.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Not Recommended

    I can't believe this is a Debbie Macomber book!!! I was very disappointed with how short this story was and the price I paid for it. It was so unlike her!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Disappointing for Sure!!!!!

    Short story at best in a Hard Cover disguise!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Too much money for such a short book.

    The 9.99 price was way too much for 70 some pages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Rip-off

    What a rip-off! $9.99 for 79 pages! I expected a decent length read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Good but not worth the money

    I am a fan of Debbie Macomber and I liked the sample pages. I agreed to purchase/buy and then, there were only 79 pages in the book. The story was good but it was the worst $9.99 that I have ever spent. If I had known that it was only 79 pages, I would not have agreed to the price. I would have waited until I could check it out at the public library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Dissappointed

    I was so excited thinking this was the next "New" book from Debbie Macomber. When I purchased, I immediately started to read. Couldnt believe the price I paid for such a short story. This story could certainly been stretched into a much longer version for this price. It's the first time I was truely disappointed in anything I got of Debbie Macombers. Such a waste.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    'Don't bother

    The story line was just ok.....not a lot of meat to the story. I will never buy an ebook again without checking reader reviews. I love Debbie Macomber but will be wary before buying another of her books. The price was extremely high for a book only 79 pages. Ridiculous!!!!
    So if you want to spend ten dollars for a book you can read in a couple of hours.....thi is the book for you!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Disappointed

    No where in the preview does it say you are paying $9.99 for a 79 page story. On top of the price, the story was very choppy and haphazardly edited. I don't know if the fault lies with Barnes & Noble or if Debbie Macomber is getting greedy but, this whole book left a bad taste in my mouth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11