Customer Reviews for

A Family Apart (The Orphan Train Adventures Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Adore this series

    I read this series to my fourth grade students during my student teaching practicum and now that my sons are old enough I can't wait to start reading it with them! It is warm hearted, funny, adventurous and teaches good morals while making kids think. You fall in love with the characters, so it is great that the author weaves them back in to future books. This is a fabulous series to read to your class or family aloud so you can discuss what choices the characters are faced with. Highly recommended. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    BEST SERIES EVER CREATED!

    Im almost 13 years old and Im an advanced reader. I've read sooo many books but by far this series is one of the best you'll ever read! I read this when I was 11. I read all 5 of them in about 4-5 days!! You can't put it down!!! A must read for everyone/anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    AWESOME BOOK!

    This book is one of the best books you'll ever read! This book made me laugh. This book made me cry. This book was well written, wonderful, and exciting. No part of the book was boring! It was GREAT! I recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    A FAMILY APART

    I liked this book very much. It has a lot of truth in it. It really shows what people had to go through in the past to have a better life. It's sad in a way but it's good in a way. It's sad because the children lose their mother and they have to move to separate homes. It's good in a way because the children have a second chance to be come a better person. To my opinion this was an outstanding book. Family Apart was an excellent read that I would recommend to all readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    It was really great.

    I didn't like this book at first, but I really like it when I kept reading it. I just finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Amazing

    Imani-13 Family Apart is about a family who is separated during the American Westward Expansion. It was heartbreaking for the children, but they soon understood why their mother sent them west. Family Apart was an excellent read that I woul recomend to all readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2003

    A REALLY GOOD BOOK

    This is a really good book. It explains how our country was in a period of time and it describes how kids feel. Also, it gives many good examples of sacrifices. I think that it is a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    GREAT BOOK!

    This is a very good book. Even if it does make you cry once and a while. It really shows what people had to go through when they came to our country to find a new life. I love that most of the kids found good homes since that wasn't always the case on orphane trains. I recomend that you read this book with a box of tissues. You're going to need them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2001

    A Heart Warming Story

    I loved this book. My fourth grade teacher read it to us and everyday my class couldn't wait until she did. It's a great family book. Read it with a box of tissues. It's one of the best books ever writen!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    A Family Apart

    This book is great and it captures your imagination and takes it to the next page. I am reading this sires with my daughter and she absoultly loves the sireis.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2000

    A Family Apart!!!

    My name is Jessa,I am 13 years old. I thought that the book was great and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2000

    Outstanding book.

    It is a very good book. It made me feel very sad about the family. Ithink this is Dixon's best book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2000

    good book

    i think the book was excllent and it was written well i think that the book could of went into a little more detail other than that i would recomend this book to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2000

    A outstanding and an accurate book

    I liked this book very much. It has a lot of truth in it. It's sad in a way but it's good in a way. It's sad because the children lose their mother and they have to move to seperate homes. It's good in a way because the children have a secpond chance. To my opinion this was an outstanding book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1