BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Family Blessings (Cisco Family Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

No sex, violence or human degradation - just a good story!

What a wonderful story Fern Michaels has written in ¿Family Blessings¿. It is so refreshing to read a novel that does NOT contain murder, sex and human degradation. The story is set in the Allegheny Mountains of Pennsylvania in the days before the Thanksgiving Seaso...
What a wonderful story Fern Michaels has written in ¿Family Blessings¿. It is so refreshing to read a novel that does NOT contain murder, sex and human degradation. The story is set in the Allegheny Mountains of Pennsylvania in the days before the Thanksgiving Season. The cast of characters is of a grandmother, son and a set of triplet grandchildren and their spouses. Grandmother, Cisco, is the family patriarch and owns a family business of candy making. A tornado descends on their peaceful lives and destroys not only houses but the surface peace of the family. Deep down, the triplets ¿ Hannah, Sara and Sam who are all newlyweds ¿ have never come to terms with only relying on each other. Father, Jonathan, has never told Cisco of his true desire to work as a carpenter rather than in the family business. Other family secrets surface when Sara and Hannah¿s husband¿s start spending nights away from home. Sam¿s wife, Sonia, leaves him because of a secret she is keeping. Ezra, Cisco¿s significant other, has asked her yet again to marry him and this time she says yes. They will be married on Christmas Day. The big question though is can all the family secrets be brought out into the open and resolved happily in time for the wedding. Grab a copy of ¿Family Blessings¿ to find out the answers.

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

whimsical holiday tale

In Larkspur, Pennsylvania, newlywed sisters Hannah and Sara believe their spouses are cheating on them as they work late every night. Actually colleagues Dr. Zack Kelly and Dr. Joel Wineberg are working together on a surprise to take a year off and sail with their belo...
In Larkspur, Pennsylvania, newlywed sisters Hannah and Sara believe their spouses are cheating on them as they work late every night. Actually colleagues Dr. Zack Kelly and Dr. Joel Wineberg are working together on a surprise to take a year off and sail with their beloved respective spouses Hannah and Sara; they just have not told them for fear of their reactions. Meanwhile the third of the Cisco triplets (brother to Hannah and Sara), Sam is stunned when his beloved wife Sonia leaves him. He is shocked because he thought their loving relationship was going great; he is unaware that Sonia left him because she is accidentally pregnant and he just told her adamantly that he is not ready for a family.--- A tornado wrecks the home of the triplet¿s grandmother; all the neighbors pitch in to help with the rebuilding of the structure. Will this opportunity enable the three married younger generation couples to take the time to talk or will the Cisco siblings join the statistics of failed marriages? If a sweet-toothed grandmother has a say these three marriages will turn to bliss by Christmas.--- Though whimsical and starring delightful characters many of whom performed in NO PLACE LIKE HOME, the triple marital woes of FAMILY BLESSINGS seem ridiculous. All three couples could resolve their troubles in one page or less by communicating with each other for five minutes. Still the cast is likable and spending the holidays with Fern Michaels is always fun even when the despair appears so unnecessary.--- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    No sex, violence or human degradation - just a good story!

    What a wonderful story Fern Michaels has written in ¿Family Blessings¿. It is so refreshing to read a novel that does NOT contain murder, sex and human degradation. The story is set in the Allegheny Mountains of Pennsylvania in the days before the Thanksgiving Season. The cast of characters is of a grandmother, son and a set of triplet grandchildren and their spouses. Grandmother, Cisco, is the family patriarch and owns a family business of candy making. A tornado descends on their peaceful lives and destroys not only houses but the surface peace of the family. Deep down, the triplets ¿ Hannah, Sara and Sam who are all newlyweds ¿ have never come to terms with only relying on each other. Father, Jonathan, has never told Cisco of his true desire to work as a carpenter rather than in the family business. Other family secrets surface when Sara and Hannah¿s husband¿s start spending nights away from home. Sam¿s wife, Sonia, leaves him because of a secret she is keeping. Ezra, Cisco¿s significant other, has asked her yet again to marry him and this time she says yes. They will be married on Christmas Day. The big question though is can all the family secrets be brought out into the open and resolved happily in time for the wedding. Grab a copy of ¿Family Blessings¿ to find out the answers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    whimsical holiday tale

    In Larkspur, Pennsylvania, newlywed sisters Hannah and Sara believe their spouses are cheating on them as they work late every night. Actually colleagues Dr. Zack Kelly and Dr. Joel Wineberg are working together on a surprise to take a year off and sail with their beloved respective spouses Hannah and Sara; they just have not told them for fear of their reactions. Meanwhile the third of the Cisco triplets (brother to Hannah and Sara), Sam is stunned when his beloved wife Sonia leaves him. He is shocked because he thought their loving relationship was going great; he is unaware that Sonia left him because she is accidentally pregnant and he just told her adamantly that he is not ready for a family.--- A tornado wrecks the home of the triplet¿s grandmother; all the neighbors pitch in to help with the rebuilding of the structure. Will this opportunity enable the three married younger generation couples to take the time to talk or will the Cisco siblings join the statistics of failed marriages? If a sweet-toothed grandmother has a say these three marriages will turn to bliss by Christmas.--- Though whimsical and starring delightful characters many of whom performed in NO PLACE LIKE HOME, the triple marital woes of FAMILY BLESSINGS seem ridiculous. All three couples could resolve their troubles in one page or less by communicating with each other for five minutes. Still the cast is likable and spending the holidays with Fern Michaels is always fun even when the despair appears so unnecessary.--- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Mating places rest of res.

    <>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    A good Read

    This was a good book for a second book in a series. Sometimes the second book does not live up to the first book in a series, but this is not the case.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    I highly recommend the entire Cisco Series

    These are books of real valued family situations from bad to good. They are fast reading, entertaining and fun to read. Cannot wait for the next one to come out if Fern writes any more of this family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Family Book

    I loved reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    I enjoyed the first part of the book at story development, howev

    I enjoyed the first part of the book at story development, however somewhere in the middle it became somewhat too unreal. The women were portrayed too bull-headed and men were lacking common sense and reasonable judgement. Just how fast they came to resolve all their differences (almost if the blink of an eye - in span of one conversation) just does not make it real at all. I have enjoyed most of Fern's books but this one happy ending felt just uncharacteristic of her writing. It felt as if she was under the gun to write this book and did not get a chance to edit it.

    This is just my humble opinion on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    I just could not get into this book. It was my first Fern Michaels book, and now, I'm hesitant to pick up some of the others that I was interested in reading. I didn't care for her writing style and the characters just flat out irritated me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Emotional

    Even though I bought this to pass my Time on Plane trip, I really enjoyed it!! I felt it all Anger, joy, saddness and in the end it all made sense, and I even teared up a little. Good read!! I will be reading more from this Author

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    I agree, disappointing.

    This is my first Fern Michael's book. Her characters just don't seem real. No violence, etc., but nothing in plot could have happened. The characters were just plain unbelievable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    A BIG DISAPPOINTMENT

    This was my first Fern Michaels book and I have heard others say she is a great author. I had to quit this book half way through. I really tried to read the entire thing but couldn't. The plot could have been written by a high school student.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2004

    love to read----but not this one

    I have read many of Fern Michaels' books & usually enjoy them very much. This one was very disappointing, especially since it is a holiday story. The characters act very stupid & I kept wondering why they just didn't talk to each other. I agree with another reviewer who said they were very babyish. I checked this book out at the local library to read, & I am glad I didn't waste my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    Feel Good Holiday Read

    Having read the first book, No Place Like Home, I looked forward to this sequel. I found it to be a feel-good, warm cozy read. There was nothing nasty, ugly or overdone sex scenes to clutter up the story line. Perfect Holiday fare. I know I will read it again before the holidays are over I enjoyed catching up with the Trips and Cisco. I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2004

    Awful book

    I have never read such an awful book. The writing is dull and the story line babyish. The characters are so one dimensional that one doesn't really care what happens to them. What a disappointment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    Heartwarming!

    No one tells an emotional family story like Fern Michaels. She always makes you feel like you are part of the family as well as the story. Family Blessings is a heartwarming holiday book that you won't want to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    A Tale of Triumpth...

    After reading this book...I'll be more appreciative this Christmas! Two thumbs way up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2