Customer Reviews for

The Family Book

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Great book!

    Todd Parr knows what he is doing and does it well! We have several of his books and the themes about loving the earth & loving and undertsanding one another are awesome! We love his books as much as our 3 year old. Even his grandparents enjoy readingt these books to him. We let this book go to daycare one day & the teacher said after reading it that she was going to order it for the classroom & see what else Todd Parr had available. This book does a great job of getting kids, young & old, to understand about diverse families no matter what form they come in. The artwork is always great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    We love this book!

    It is a great way to help children understand and accept the differences between families.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    Brilliant Book

    The Family Book by Todd Parr is a great book for young children to learn about different types of families. Parr talks about two moms or dads, single parent families and different cultures. This book brings a unity to families of the world because no matter what differences families have from each other, they still share similar ways of love and caring. I read this to 1st graders and they loved the illustrations and it was addressing multi-cultural families.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for Kids @ TeensReadToo.com

    I absolutely love Todd Parr's work, both in his books and his videos. No matter what subject he's writing about, or speaking about, behind it all is the universal theme of diversity and acceptance. <BR/><BR/>With THE FAMILY BOOK, children and parents learn that families come in all shapes and sizes. Some families are large, some small. Some all look the same, some look different. Some families have children who are adopted, while some families even have two moms or two dads. Regardless of how your family is made up, all families share some of the same things: they like to hug, they like to celebrate together, and sometimes they're even sad together. <BR/><BR/>What a great way to teach tolerance! The bright, bold illustrations and easy-to-read pages are perfect for both beginning readers and older children, and the story is even better when read aloud with a parent -- or two! <BR/><BR/>This is another keeper for your collection!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Great for Young Children!

    I really appreciated the way the author dealt with the differences in families and in life. Very sensitive and balanced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    not happy

    Bought this for my nookcolor. Thought it was. a read-to-me book like most of the other. Todd Parr books.It is not, nor does it change to a horizontal page like most other kid picture books that Ive downloaded. Page six needs to be viewed both pages at once for it to be read correctly. Im very disappointed in this purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    The Family Book

    i thought this was a read to me book. i also wish this had been like most of the kids books that load horizonally because the last 2 pages dont make sence cause you need to see both pages to read the ending correctly ! i think this book needs to be reformatted to be in the horozontal layout. don't recommend purchase for nook color.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a WONDERFUL book!

    I taught preschool and we read this book on the last Friday of every month and completed a project on how or why we love our family. This book is an extraordinary way to show children- and adults! -that everyone can come together to form a family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    good Adoption Gotcha Day gift

    My daughter has loved The Mommy Book and The Daddy Book since she was a baby. This is a new fav -- it was a great gift from us for her Adoption Gotcha Day. She has decided that the three of us are the bear family :)<BR/><BR/>(FYI: I didn't like the wording in We Belong Together: A Book about Adoption and Families -- not appropriate for us.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1