Customer Reviews for

The Family Fang

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

An Early John Irving!

I had to be very careful as the first borrower of our library's freshly-cataloged copy not to read the funny parts while sipping coffee. Like the younger characters in the book, I was constantly wondering what was real and what was art. When the weirdness turned maybe ...
I had to be very careful as the first borrower of our library's freshly-cataloged copy not to read the funny parts while sipping coffee. Like the younger characters in the book, I was constantly wondering what was real and what was art. When the weirdness turned maybe serious, maybe real, I was hooked.
I received a Nook for my birthday. This will be the first book I'll load into it, wondering whether the e-version is a real book or some kind of high-tech art. While reading this I knew I was in the presence of a gifted writer, a true artist. I picture him strolling the acreage of the Sewanee domain with his mind cooking up something equally bizarre and rewarding for his next one.
Years from now someone will comment on another promising, highly original young writer and call him: An Early Kevin Wilson.

posted by TboneJim on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Enjoyable

The Family Fang is about a family of performance artists. The novel jumps back and forth between their performance art pieces, done when their two children were young, and the present, visiting the family and their now grown-up children. Both left the family business to...
The Family Fang is about a family of performance artists. The novel jumps back and forth between their performance art pieces, done when their two children were young, and the present, visiting the family and their now grown-up children. Both left the family business to pursue other careers, but are still tethered to their wildly dysfunctional parents and past. It is both darkly funny and very sad. The novel has been compared to The Royal Tennenbaums a lot, but I enjoyed this much more.

posted by Allimuffin on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    An Early John Irving!

    I had to be very careful as the first borrower of our library's freshly-cataloged copy not to read the funny parts while sipping coffee. Like the younger characters in the book, I was constantly wondering what was real and what was art. When the weirdness turned maybe serious, maybe real, I was hooked.
    I received a Nook for my birthday. This will be the first book I'll load into it, wondering whether the e-version is a real book or some kind of high-tech art. While reading this I knew I was in the presence of a gifted writer, a true artist. I picture him strolling the acreage of the Sewanee domain with his mind cooking up something equally bizarre and rewarding for his next one.
    Years from now someone will comment on another promising, highly original young writer and call him: An Early Kevin Wilson.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Recommended - great vacation read!

    Fun read, quirky and kinda clever. The author draws the reader into the mystery that drives the story, which is as unpredictable as it is endearing. With page-turner pacing, this less-than-cerebral black comedy is an engaging and easy story you're not likely to forget soon.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Quirky great read

    I loved this book! It's quirky and interesting. The characters are hilarious and sometimes sad. It had me lauging aloud at times and then feeling genuine sorrow at others. I highly recommend this roller coaster read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Enjoyable

    The Family Fang is about a family of performance artists. The novel jumps back and forth between their performance art pieces, done when their two children were young, and the present, visiting the family and their now grown-up children. Both left the family business to pursue other careers, but are still tethered to their wildly dysfunctional parents and past. It is both darkly funny and very sad. The novel has been compared to The Royal Tennenbaums a lot, but I enjoyed this much more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exceptional Premise

    I'd like to award this novel a higher rating. Conceptually sophisticated with profane
    tests to the family structure and absurdist humor, I was immediately drawn to the
    surreal Fang experience. Unfortunately I would have appreciated a little more character
    development in the beginning. The antics took first position over a lesser emotionally enthralling son and daughter. I didn't establish much care for the kids until two thirds of the way through the story, which, by the way, was still quite exceptional.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Darkly amusing read

    I enjoyed this chaotic and dysfunctional story. The ending for me came before the actual end of the book with the last few pages as more of an afterthought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Not Impressed

    I had a very hard time getting into this book and felt like it was a chore until about 1/3 of the way or so, through. It got a tad more interesting but it was so peppered with the "F" word that I found it pretty disgusting that practically all the conversations between characters used this word. The style of the author's writing also reminded me more of the "Dick and Jane" books I read back a hundred years ago, in elementary school. Very juvenile. Over all, I got interested in the book just as it ended so, I was left sort of, hanging at the end. Wouldn't recommend.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    This isn't exactly a light and breezy read; it seemed more like

    This isn't exactly a light and breezy read; it seemed more like a creative writing 101 project and less like a great book to pickup and lose yourself in. Don't get me wrong, it's enjoyable all around, but not necessarily all I hoped it would crack up to be. The timeline jumps around, which typically isn't an issue, but it didn't seem to serve much of a purpose in this case. Not to mention that the ending is about as satisfying as the dreaded it-was-all-just-a-dream (that's NOT the actual ending, by the way). The premise/plot has a lot of potential, and I give the author credit for thinking of such an incredible idea. However the end result seemed simple ok, but not as spectacular as it could have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Quirky, but an enjoyable read

    Nothing ordinary about this story and yet the characters seem recognizable in their family dynamic. Everyone survives their childhood somehow, but the Fang's children hang on by their toenails while their parent's film the scene for the drama of it. Interesting, funny, sad and engaging...right up to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Good but not great

    Story was good but I was a little disappointed with the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Quirky Fun Read

    I saw this recommended for fans of Wes Anderson movies, so I picked it up on the strength of that. I can see some of the characteristics of Anderson's characters, but the book falls short in that department and takes a wide turn and leaves Anderson way back on the horizon. I felt the ending was a bit unbelievable, or just lacking in some way, but I did enjoy the ride getting to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Ok book

    Overall this was on okay book. I honestly thought it'd have more funny parts (there were a few in the beginning of the book) but by the end of the story it got a little sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    This Book is for Everyone Who Openly Dreads (but secretly enjoys) Their Family Reunions

    Funny, absurd, heartbreaking. An odd book with an original premise. A playful sense of the absurd with a lot of insight into family dynamics and how we manage to become adults in spite of and because of our parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Like a Cohen brothers movie

    The guilt I felt, at times, from laughing out loud at the quirkiness of the characters reminded me of how I felt when watching the movie "Fargo." An extreme example of living your passion at all costs. Overall, I very much enjoyed this unique read, and look forward to discussing with my book group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    The Family Fang

    A creative story, but it resolved with a dull thud that was a too contrived and quite disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Very enjoyable read

    A great book about art, family, and the need for separation of them. When the book comes to a point of two possible endings, I found myself wishing for both. Great characters, great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Off to a wonderful start...

    ...but it lost steam at the halfway point. Interesting story in which every character became victim of their art

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Fantastic

    Funny, inventive, exciting and tragic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Crazy but enjoyable story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Expected more... couldve been great but it wasnt

    Disapointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4