Customer Reviews for

Family First: Your Step-by-Step Plan for Creating a Phenomenal Family

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dr. Phil does it again!

    I was NEVER a fan of Dr. Phil in the past. At least not until I started reading his work and actually listening to what he had to say. The moment I did I realized that this man is not just another talk show fly-by-night pseudo "know-it-all."

    This man and his work is relateable and just plain real. He writes in a way that is easy to read and not full of five dollar words to make him look smart either.

    Even if you do not have a Family, this book is worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    A must for every family

    I think every family of every age needs to read this book to bring back family values. Dr. Phil talks about all different situation in family lifes. This book sure made me look in the mirror and see myself and see where changes need to be made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    An awesome reference for those who are clueless

    While a lot of Dr. Phil's 'reveleations' are obvious to many of us who have dedicated ourselves to parenting our children, they may be precisely the same things those of us who are not so into parenting (and who don't want to listen to those who are better at the game) are not aware of. Phil's sometimes bombastic way of communicating can be just the right thing to cut through the noise in one's head. I was looking for something simple and basic to give to my husband for Father's Day and he's getting 'Family First' on audiocassette so he can listen to it in his car -- no excuses!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2005

    Divorced Parents Raising Kids with More Peace

    Getting divorced is a real challenge when you both share custody of your 2 precious children. Ours are only 3 and 5 years old. We each have recently remarried and both deeply love our children unconditionally. Dr. Phil's advice in this book was just what we needed. His down-to-earth 'tell it like it is' style asked the questions of us that we needed to answer from the perspective as to what is best for the children. His comments are thoughtful and practical and get down to the real nitty-gritty of the issues at hand...free from psychobabble. His insight and teachings are truly simple (however, not necessarily easy to do) involving developing better ways of communicating and understanding one another. I really appreciate that he respects this particular blended family constellation which he does not view as 'broken' and that gives us more motivation to let go of our guilt and anger and make the right choices for the best life possible for all concerned. As far as the deep, detailed probe into the specific 'whys' and 'hows' of what has happened in each of our lives is not as important to us as the immediate focus in learning how to make our lives 'work' where we're at right now. Dr. Phil was just what we needed...and we actually found him to be a kinder gentler man in the book than he appears sometimes on TV. Because of his advice, we now communicate...getting together as '4' parents every 3 weeks at a restaurant and are surprising able to discuss things as they come up relating to our children. It isn't always easy or without argument, but we are develping the confidence to take ownership of the problems and are trying to work out the solutions...and WE ARE DOING IT!!! Thank you, Dr. Phil...It is amazing that we all all getting along better and see positive changes in our behavior as well as in the behavior of our children. If you have children 2-6 years old, I also wish to recommend a compatible book called 'The Pocket Parent' which is an easy reference A-Z guide for all of us. This book clearly addresses the most challenging toddler behaviors that test our sanity such as: sibling fights, disrespectful attitude, lying, bedtime and mealtime refusals, the gimmes, not listening and whining. FAMILY FIRST and POCKET PARENT have helped us gain better control of ourselves as well as the children...far more than the expensive family therapy we tried for four months that seemed to only add fuel to the fire of the feuding families rather than guiding us to more understanding, cooperation and peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    Phil states the obvious then claims ownership

    Phil states the obvious then claims ownership to ideas that are intuitive to many parents and families. Let's summarizing the pertinent points of Family First: 1. Your family is important. 2. If you prioritize your family you will experience healthy consequences and have healthier children. With that said, how do you achieve this if, by chance, you lack the critical skills and experience to incorporate this belief into your familial relations? Well, this is where Family First comes up short. This is a complicated process and goes well beyond Phil's over simplified 'step-by-step plan.' Sure, read Family First if you are a Dr. Phil fan, then quickly move on to other more competent books such as 'Systemic Parenting: An Exploration of the Parenting Big Picture' (Gaskill) and 'Parenting from the Inside Out: How A Deeper Self-Understanding Can Help You Raise Children Who Thrive' (Siegel & Hartzell). These books were written by seasoned therapists who seem have greater experience working the real life challenges that face families and parents. These authors may not have afternoon TV shows - that's probably because they recognize there are few 30 second soundbite solutions, or simple step-by-step plans, that effectively address the real life situations we all encounter. I've read all three and would suggest that you forego Family First and go straight to the parenting and family resources that are more likely to be helpful. One person's opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    Isn't his 15 Minutes Up Yet?

    I read this book because I wanted to find out what all of the buzz about Dr. Phil was all about, and because I thought it might actually help me and my family become closer. Well, I can honestly say, that I have no idea why people pay any attention to this guy. The book is a non-stop stream of easy answers, condescending retoric and plain old pyschobabble. If you are really interested in helping your family's relationship I would recommend investing in a book by an established and reputable doctor rather than a TV hack. Leave this book to the Oprah set, they deserve it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    Not a good book!

    This book complicate things and I did not enjoy it at all. Yes it expound on some needed topics, however, it is not realistic as one would think. It has more of a description of family for hollywood or rich people, I look for a book that is real for all people and cultures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    FAMILY VALUES

    A wonderful book for parents whoose kids are just starting out at school and who might need alittle encouragement for some family values.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2004

    'Let me put a verb in it.'

    'Just get over yourself. Your family has to come first.' - Dr. Phil McGraw. That says a lot about this book. Dr. Phil's no-nonsense approach and insight coupled with his 'ABC Steps' make this a valuable guide for parents to restructure their priorities and relationships. Dr. Phil always has told it like it is. In 'Family First', Dr. Phil tells you specifically and directly what to say, what to think, and how to act. Follow the guidelines in this book and you will see a difference - I have. It is almost like having Dr. Phil for your very own guide and mentor - more like a parenting/marriage coach. In 'Family First', Dr. Phil talks about the rhythm of the family, or family traditions, rituals and patterns of predictability. For example, he had a ritual in his own family of putting his boys to bed with a story. It sounds so simple, but once I started that with my own children, I saw immediate and powerful changes in our relationship. Thanks Dr. Phil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    This man should bePresident!!

    Dr. Phil is right on with the values that today's families are trying ot instill. Raising kids today is not easy, given today's culture, however, Dr. Phil makes you feel that it is possible to resist the pull to be like all the other families out there chasing what they think is the the American Dream. We can't give in to our children so easily and abdicate responsibility. Dr. Phil is a Texan who means what he says and says what he means. We need more of his folk around here!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    Dr. Phil Delivers

    I found Dr. Phil's common-sense, tough-love advice for putting your family first very appealing and helpful. Dr. Phil tackles the issue of putting your family's needs before your own, which is a difficult thing for men (and women) to understand, since we equate success with happiness. My other favorite book about family life is the hilarious 'I Sleep At Red Lights: A True Story of Life After Triplets,' by Bruce Stockler, about a man discovering his priorities under extreme pressure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    Dr. Phil Gives You the Tools to Turn Your Life Around

    I saw Dr. Phil's 2 Hour TV special and immediately bought his book. What I really like is that he helps you recognize the problem and gives you guidance in making 'a plan' to change for the better. Although Phil's style is to tell it like it is, each scenario holds hope for a positve change in behavior to better the communication and cooperation within the family. He explains many practical strategies that actually work on people of all ages. I really liked the point he makes regarding how many times we automatically tell young children (who often tune us out) what they CAN'T do...like 'Stop that!'...'Don't touch that!' rather than telling them specifically what they CAN do in a calm voice...Although this technique does not come naturally and takes thought to impliment...it works! I have a 3 and 5 year old and have found this tip to be extremely effective. If you have toddlers or preschoolers I would also like to recommend 'The Pocket Parent' written only for moms and dads of 2-5 year olds. I really like these two books filled with insight, tons of practical things to try and a sense of humor which have served to jump start the positive changes in our family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1