Customer Reviews for

The Family Man

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Pitch Perfect

    I have long been a fan of Elinor Lipman, and I think this book is her best yet. The quirky characters that are her signature are drawn with a light hand and a tender heart. Even the annoying character is given sympathetic treatment. There are some laugh-out-loud moments, and the rest of the book had me smiling. The family that is created in this novel is so unconventional that it makes perfect sense. This book is truly a joy to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book

    This book was much better than I expected. The characters have depth and the story line is rollicking but highly enjoyable. You wind up rooting for ALL the characters, no matter how annoying they are because they are so human. Highly readable and highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    A Stylish Tale

    This novel is highly stylized without being cloying or annoying. The characters are endearing and the story is scaled to life. Hilarious and heartfelt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Nice and Fun!

    Cute book! so many personalities and bizarre adventures..made me jealous!! it proves, anyone can be a family...you just have to want it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    Clever but Inconsequential

    The Family Man represents a "light" read that may satisfy someone looking for summer humor. I found it somewhat quirky, sometimes enjoyable, with characters I probably won't remember very long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Evie

    Hello son

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Tyler to Evie

    ,=Line finished. Im making a song.
    It goes like this: A rock in the water sinks to the deep, but you and me float to the surface.A secret so hidden and hard to keep,her head on my shoulder we're thinkin about past and the present, there are many things kept to hearts content,like the memories weve spent together, but love is a different thing.
    (Guitar solo)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    This is sort of like Sex in the City with gay protagonist; I wou

    This is sort of like Sex in the City with gay protagonist; I wouldn't say the characters are "realistic" or in any way "down to earth", but they sure are fun. I greatly enjoyed this novel about 2nd chances for family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    A quirky,fun little read

    This is acute story. Great light reading. Interesting characters, fun premise. Definitely worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Family Man Rocks

    I loved this book because it was funny and topical. Elinor Lipman deals with the topics of divorce, blended families, and homosexuality beautifully. The plot is witty and the ending is wonderful. Todd's and Henry's relationship was written well and I liked Thalia. Denise is bananas but she works in the story. I would recommend reading The Family Man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Elinor Lipman does it again!

    I'd fallen in love with two of Elinor Lipman's books, The Inn at Lake Devine and Isabel's Bed, and read as many of her others as I could find, following those. I was a bit disappointed in the last two I'd read , My Latest Grievance and The Pursuit of Alice Thrift, so I was a bit hesitant to read The Family Man. I actually stayed up half the night reading because I was so drawn into the story and the characters. I loved the relationship development, especially between Thalia and Henry. One of the things I love most about Elinor Lipman's writing, is that there's always a sense of familiarity with her characters - they remind me of my own family and friends - I felt like these were real people being written about, fully fleshed out characters. I highly recommend starting this book early enough in the evening, that if you have to go to work the next day, you'll be able to get to bed on time. I finished it in just one evening - fast paced and engaging. The last time I did that was reading The Wife by Meg Wolitzer, which I also recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    So So...

    VERY light, a bit disappointing since critics gave this book high marks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good outing by Lipman

    I'm a big fan Elinor Lipman. Her books are funny and always a page turners in good story telling. My favorite is still The Inn at Lake Devine.

    The story does start off a little slow but does pick up and doesn't disappoint. I laughed a little more this time than with her previous outings.

    If you're looking for something to delve into or just a beach read, then this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Delightful fun: A great read for summer, and any other season, too.

    "The Family Man" is a delightful, funny read, with quirky and charming characters. Lipman is a master of making her characters come alive through their dialogue and interaction. I loved that Henry, the narrator, was so smart, gracious and witty even in his initial loneliness. And it was entirely believable that Henry should fall under the spell of Thalia, who is just charm personified. Todd, and his mother, and even nutsy Denise are irresistibly engaging. The characters are drawn so well you "buy" the goofiness of the plot and have a great time going along for the ride. I actually didn't want it to end, and I'm thinking about rereading it already just to spend time with the characters again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another lovely social comedy from Elinor Lipman

    Elinor Lipman writes stories about relationships with a wonderful light touch and a continuing theme - what goes around comes around. I think this story of a man trying to connect with his lost adopted daughter is one of her most delightful. The mother character will remind you of the mother in And Then She Found Me. My only complaint is that it is a very fast read and then we have to wait a long time for another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2