Customer Reviews for

Family Matters: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mistry Never Disappoints

I have yet to pass up a Rohinton Mistry book. His writing style is illuminating, REAL, and captivating. He has absolutely NO EQUAL in modern-day storytellers. In this book, as in all his others, his characters are never lacking in explanation or description, and the way...
I have yet to pass up a Rohinton Mistry book. His writing style is illuminating, REAL, and captivating. He has absolutely NO EQUAL in modern-day storytellers. In this book, as in all his others, his characters are never lacking in explanation or description, and the way he weaves the story is fascinating. I couldn't put it down...never knowing when the classic "Mistry Tragedy" would occur. He is such a wonderful, poetic, and reality-based author!

posted by Anonymous on December 12, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Big Disappointment!

I loved A Fine Balance, absolutely adored it and is one of my favorite books of all time and so I went into Family Matters expecting maybe not an equally great story but one that at least matched up. A Fine balance had a Parsi touch to it but Family Matters was overloa...
I loved A Fine Balance, absolutely adored it and is one of my favorite books of all time and so I went into Family Matters expecting maybe not an equally great story but one that at least matched up. A Fine balance had a Parsi touch to it but Family Matters was overloaded with the Parsi religion. And although that is not a bad thing, it was completely not what I expected. It seemed like a motivation book to go back to being a good practicing parsi. The book was wonderfully written but the story line was not at all interesting.

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    Another wonderful tale of India from Mystery

    Mystery has here again captured the life of contemporary Bombay Parsi's torn between the old and new traditions and necessities. Nari, the 87 year old patriarch who breaks his ankle is the fulcrum of this tale. He is living with his step daughter and son who remember and are cursed by his relationship with their Parsi mother whom he was forced to marry after her widowhood to keep his family in order instead of the forbidden Christian woman, Lucy, from Goa whom he loved and his family refused even though she would not give him up. In thier small community they all saw each other daily. Nari was willing to give in to his new wife, but Lucy waited outside of his window daily singing songs from their past. And she dramatically threatened to throw herself off the roof of their apartment building on a regular basis. Nari's wife was jealous and furious. She took his clothes so that he must meet Lucy in the street clothed only in a towel. Finally, she confronted Lucy on the ledge of the building from where she threatened to dive and for reasons unknown they both fell to their death with Nari not succeeding in saving either. Nari lived for years with his three children in a flat in Chateau Felicity until his youngest daughter married. He gave her and her new husband a small apartment in Pleasant Apartments. They have two sons. Too soon Nari found himself 87 and retired from the University under the care of his two half-children, Coomy and Jal, who see him as a burden in his own home. One night Nari slips on his evening walk and breaks his ankle. He must have four weeks of bed rest. After three days his step-children, Choomy and Jal can't stand the work and the smell of his bed pan. They decide that their younger sister, Nari's full child, Roxane should take over the job even though she lives in a two room apartment. Roxane takes in her father with joy and cares for him. Nari hates to be a burden, but the grandchildren Murad and Ja help him with the generosity and good cheer. But, Roxana's husband Yesad finds having Nari in the small apartment an emotional and financial burden. Money is tight in the house and the rooms are small. Tempers rage. Temptations come. Coomy indulges in foolish schemes to keep Nari out of his apartment. She decides to destroy the plaster ceiling of his bedroom and to call in a neighbor in the building to fix it. This fixing leads to the death of both of them. Over the course of sacrificing to maintain Nari even Yesad learns to care for him and is drawn to the Parsi faith. The story resolves itself in a beautiful, yet ironic manner. This is a real tale of contemporary Parsis in India. Their practical and religious concerns are honestly discussed. The story ends with new dilemmas beginning.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    Delightful reading

    I finished this book late last night. It completely pulls you and captures you into the story. RM's prose captures every little detail of life which we so easily take for granted....and then gives it back! Very very delightful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2002

    Mistry Never Disappoints

    I have yet to pass up a Rohinton Mistry book. His writing style is illuminating, REAL, and captivating. He has absolutely NO EQUAL in modern-day storytellers. In this book, as in all his others, his characters are never lacking in explanation or description, and the way he weaves the story is fascinating. I couldn't put it down...never knowing when the classic "Mistry Tragedy" would occur. He is such a wonderful, poetic, and reality-based author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Big Disappointment!

    I loved A Fine Balance, absolutely adored it and is one of my favorite books of all time and so I went into Family Matters expecting maybe not an equally great story but one that at least matched up. A Fine balance had a Parsi touch to it but Family Matters was overloaded with the Parsi religion. And although that is not a bad thing, it was completely not what I expected. It seemed like a motivation book to go back to being a good practicing parsi. The book was wonderfully written but the story line was not at all interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    Among Indian writers of prose, Mistry has no peer!

    Of all the Indian novelists writing today, yes Rushdie included, Mistry truly has no peer. His latest novel shows why the comparisons to Dickens and Austen are not misplaced. I grew up in Bombay and lived there through college, and my love for that lively city has never waned. Mistry's elegant, elegaic prose provides the truest description of Bombay life that I have ever encountered. This book is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    Make this book in to a movie, PLEASE!!!

    Just returned from India where this book has been released. Could not put it down. As usual, RM captures the little things in everyday life and makes them interesting as only Jane Austen could do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    A Joyful Experience

    I read this book a couple of weeks ago and found it very illuminating. The book is as much a poem for a Bombay, long gone, as it is about Nariman Vakeel and his family. As an Indian and Bombayite, I found this book to one of the best I have read in a while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    loved this book

    family in Mumbai struggle to care for their aging father ,some don't want to others find it all consuming ..the feel of the book is that you are right there the depth of character is spot on ...the social cast of the people play deeply into the novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    A sad, sometimes funny, and ultimately unsettling read

    The patriarch of a Parsi (Persian) family living in modern day Bombay, who suffers from Parkinson's, breaks his ankle. Until then, he lived in a reasonably spacious 7-room home with his resentful adult stepchildren, but after the accident they cannot stand being saddled with his care. So they pack him up and ship him off to be cared for by their step-sister, in a cramped, two-room flat that she shares with her husband and two young sons. Through the voices of several main characters, Mistry shows what happens to a family that is pushed to the very edge, financially, emotionally, and spiritually. He also paints a vivid picture of an unfair caste system in India and how it tears into the moral and social fabric of families and the greater community, and of a corrupt government. I'll admit this particular book was a bit heavier than most of my reading fare, and I had to stop several times because of the overwhelming depressing nature of the situation. But then after catching my breath, I would always pick it up again, partly because I came to care so much for the characters, but also because it shamed me that to get away from such a tense, stressful existence, I needed only to set the story aside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2004

    beautiful

    This writer will always be someone I will read. Even if his novels are sometimes painfully realistic about squalid living conditions, bodily functions and nasty odors, they are so worth reading. Beautifully done, as usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2003

    Family Pain

    I liked this book better than Mistry's A Fine Balance because Family Matters is less melodramatic, less preachy and more realistic. Each of the characters rang true and I experienced each one's pain and joy. My only compaint is that Mistry is determined to leave lives unresolved, as in real life. Is that a Parsi ideal, to accept one's fate without questioning it? I don't know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    Mistry Fails to Evoke Same Magic as 'A Fine Balance'

    This book was alright, but failed to keep me interested like his previous book, 'A Fine Balance'. I found myself unsatisfied by most of the characters and the storyline was disappointing as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2