Customer Reviews for

Family Pictures

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Sounds Good

This book sounds good.

posted by Anonymous on March 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bland and disappointing

Maybe my expectations were too high, but I thought too many pages were devoted to bland dialogue that added nothing to the story. The premise of the story was good, but the characters weren't fleshed out enough for me to spend dozens of pages with them as they discussed...
Maybe my expectations were too high, but I thought too many pages were devoted to bland dialogue that added nothing to the story. The premise of the story was good, but the characters weren't fleshed out enough for me to spend dozens of pages with them as they discussed dinner plans, chatted with girlfriends, and wondered about their career plans. The last half of the book showed the most promise, but by then I was too irritated for it too matter. I think Jane Green has great potential, but this book was not her finest work. I'll still check out other books of hers, but will try one or two from the library first before parting with anymore money.

posted by Willworkforbookmoney on April 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Bland and disappointing

    Maybe my expectations were too high, but I thought too many pages were devoted to bland dialogue that added nothing to the story. The premise of the story was good, but the characters weren't fleshed out enough for me to spend dozens of pages with them as they discussed dinner plans, chatted with girlfriends, and wondered about their career plans. The last half of the book showed the most promise, but by then I was too irritated for it too matter. I think Jane Green has great potential, but this book was not her finest work. I'll still check out other books of hers, but will try one or two from the library first before parting with anymore money.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Disappointing

    As an avid fan of jane green, i was disappointed to find she wrote such an unrealistic, sappy novel.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    I am an avid Jane Green fan and am wondering if she really wrote

    I am an avid Jane Green fan and am wondering if she really wrote the book. The story was predictable and unbelievable at the same time. The writing was awful and the book was just awful. The writing style was terrible and incoherent at times. Jane is a great writer and I usually look forward to her books, however I feel that she is starting to slip. Her best books were the ones that took place in London. Possibly she needs to go back to London to write. I am so disappointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I found it hard to believe that both wives could be portrayed as

    I found it hard to believe that both wives could be portrayed as such incompetent, childish women. It was hard for me to grasp how either could have believed the lies and lived in such ignorance.
    I didn't feel much sympathy for either of them. Also found the coincidence of the two daughters meeting hard to believe. I did find the book readable as the premise was interesting. If the characters had been more self-sufficient and less shallow I might have rated this book higher.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Another great story

    Jane Green never disappoints,her writing really pulls me in and then i cant put the book down till I'm finished!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Good Not Great

    Compelling like all Green's books, while simple and easy to read, it was a page turner. A great short read for Spring Break.

    My only complaint would be the characters and lack of depth of each. I found myself resembled in one of the main characters and felt she needed a better ending; perhaps Green's connection with Connecticut brought one character to a 'better' ending than the other.

    Of course, the story line was great, a little 'fantastic' but good none-the-less. Would have loved to see more, maybe another book with the same characters from the last part of the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Sounds Good

    This book sounds good.

    3 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Outstanding story

    Loved this story. Jane Green did it again. Excellent didnt want it to end. Loved all the characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    The reason I like Jane Green's novels is that they deal with iss

    The reason I like Jane Green's novels is that they deal with issues that are realistic and that any woman may face at some point in her life. While the main plot line was outside of the norm in that it doesn't happen very often, it wasn't that bad...it was the plot contrivances that led to the revelation of the secret that were just silly. Disappointing...the quality of her novels has definitely gone down over the last few books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone hides a secret or two  Sylvie and Maggie are two women

    Everyone hides a secret or two 

    Sylvie and Maggie are two women with great children, wonderful friends, and an amazing husband.  
    The problems in their lives are minimal and nothing coming cannot be handled.  All that changes in the
    blink of an eye when a freak coincidence causes the calm on the water that is their existence to become a tsunami. 

    When everything comes apart at the seams and the two women are forced to begin again one woman
    builds from strength while the other woman wanders with no foreseeable course of action.  
    Granted this disaster is in no part their creation but when suffering through a nightmare at some point you
    have to wake up and face the day.  The changes that take place, the things you must give up, and the sacrifices
    you are forced to make will show your true character. 

    When answering the question of "do you like this book" one wow it was amazing will on begin to describe
    how phenomenal the story is.  Jane Green consistently writes stories that show how strong women are
    under any circumstance and where our strength comes from.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    I typically enjoy books by Jane Green and was excited when this

    I typically enjoy books by Jane Green and was excited when this one was released. However, I was very disappointed. The plot of the book jumped all over the place and was very contrived. Characters were not well developed with a few characters appearing seemingly randomly with no real purpose to the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Excellent Read!

    I enjoyed this book from beginning to end...kept me engaged and wanting to read "just two more pages" each night while falling asleep! This was my first time reading Jane Green but will be purchasing another soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Great Novel

    Follow up to her 1st novel with the same characters. Great story line and detail. It made you really understand and feel their pain. I'm glad I ordered the nook version for my iPad.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    OK

    This was just OK. Not as good as her other books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Good book

    Great story and fun read! Looking forward to reading more by this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    good but I prefer Too Crazy To Live to Beautiful to Die This w

    good but I prefer Too Crazy To Live to Beautiful to Die

    This was a good read though too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Amazing

    I believe any author can write a good book. However it takes a special author to really get me into a book so deep that I connect and root for the people in it. I have read several of Janes books and they are all excellent! Keep up the good work! Your books make me think of how to make my life and those around me better and happier.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Not the best

    Very rushed and predictable. I didn't enjoy this at all.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    This was an interesting book.  I believe you have to suspend dis

    This was an interesting book.  I believe you have to suspend disbelief sometimes in order to enjoy a book or movie.  So, while the ending isn't probable, it feels great to think it could be.  I thought the book was unique and I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Xx

    Boring and extremely predictable!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5