Customer Reviews for

Family Storms

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another amazing book....

Another amazing book by VC Andrews! I'm glad I didn't get this first book until now since I only have about a month until the 2nd book comes out. Another fast, read that I didn't want to put down until I was done reading it.

posted by 4236586 on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awful

This book is so unrealistic. Yes, rich people get away with things, but the situation with Kiera was too much. First she kills Sasha's mom. Does she get punished? No. She then proceeds to treat Sasha like garbage, and neat the end of this book, does really, REALLY mean ...
This book is so unrealistic. Yes, rich people get away with things, but the situation with Kiera was too much. First she kills Sasha's mom. Does she get punished? No. She then proceeds to treat Sasha like garbage, and neat the end of this book, does really, REALLY mean things to Sasha, including nearly killing Sasha. Is she punished? Again, no. Even in the next book of this series, which is the last one, she still never gets punished. This series is unbelievable and does not reflect the true VC Andrews. The ghostwriter needs to stop writing this garbage, these new books do not hold a candle to the likes of Flowers in the Attic, Heaven, or My Sweet Audrina.

posted by Raegeane on December 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining book

    As all true fans know, V.C. Andrews was an American novelist who had the amazing ability to combine Gothic horror stories with family sagas, and turn them into some of the most beloved books in the world of fiction. Almost everyone you ask can remember the Flowers in the Attic series that told the fascinating tale of four children locked in the attic of a wealthy Virginia family by their overzealous, religious grandmother. Unfortunately, in 1986, V.C. Andrews passed away from cancer, leaving a huge hole in the writing world - that no one has yet been able to remotely fill. From that time on, the family hired a ghostwriter to not only continue and finish the books this incredible woman had started, but also to continue with series' in the same "mold." This is the first book in a brand new series that follows the same formula V.C. made popular. Sasha Porter is a fourteen-year-old girl who has seen some truly hideous things. She loves her mother, but her mother has become an alcoholic, jobless, and she and Sasha mainly live on the streets, eating out of garbage cans. Worse? The depression of having her husband walk away and leave she and Sasha in the dust, as well as their horrific situation in life, has caused Mom to go a bit crazy - which is why she walked out into the dark, rainy street that night with her daughter where they were both hit by a car. When Sasha wakes up in the hospital, she finds that her mother is now deceased, and she is on her own. Letting the darkness take her, Sasha is extremely surprised when she next wakes to find herself in a private room, with a private nurse, and a woman by the name of Mrs. Donald March telling her that she would like to adopt Sasha and bring her into her wealthy family to make up for the accident. Turns out, Mrs. March's oldest daughter was the one driving the car, drugged out of her mind, that took Sasha's mother away from her. Taking the March family up on their offer, Sasha soon finds out that the mansion and money are not all they're cracked up to be. Mrs. March lost her youngest child, Alena, to leukemia and seems to want to replace that child with Sasha. Placing her in Alena's room, buying her clothes that Alena loved, making her Alena's favorite meals, etc. Not only is the atmosphere more than a bit freaky inside the tremendous estate, but the older sister, Kiera, who hit Sasha and her mother that night, is a real snooty pain. She hates Sasha, and will make sure Sasha does NOT take her place in the March family. She will do anything to stop that from happening.and, I mean, anything! Family Storms is a fine and entertaining book. It still uses the same 'type' of premise that made V.C. Andrews a star. But readers will always know and see the difference between 'before Andrews' and 'after Andrews.' That woman could write! Quill says: Although her spirit and name are being kept alive, you can't help but miss the original!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Only if a V.C.Andrews fan

    Was not as happy with the book as i usually am with all of V.C.Andrews books,But cant let one slip with out reading it,everyone else has vampire boooks so iguess they gave it a shot.read it fast will probably read sequal ,as always .

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    I loved it!

    This book, like most other VC Andrews books, was full of all the juicy drama I love. Sasha, the main character is easy to like and so many times I wanted to speak advice and encouragement to her, like a loving older sister would. Instead, she is caught in the path of her foster sister Kiera, who ironically is way more street-wise than Sasha, despite the fact that Kiera is a spoiled rich girl. It was hard for me to put down once I started reading and I will definately read the next one when it comes out.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1