BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Family Tree

Average Rating 4
( 432 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice story

This was a book I really enjoyed reading.. it was kind of predictable but entertaining and well worth the time spent reading it.

posted by EffieTX on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting topic, but droned on and on...

While I have read other books by this author, and enjoyed them, this book was almost painful to get through. The subject matter was interesting, an African American child born to two Caucasian parents and a question of heritage. There are many deep issues here: trust...
While I have read other books by this author, and enjoyed them, this book was almost painful to get through. The subject matter was interesting, an African American child born to two Caucasian parents and a question of heritage. There are many deep issues here: trust, racism, pride.

posted by 1403756 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    Family Secrets, Oh My

    I found the book to be a fascinating read. I adored each of the characters and enjoyed the variety from the New Englanders who vacationed on the Vineyard to the elderly women in the kniting store. Although we supposedly live in a "post-racial" America, race is an extremely touchy subject these days; this book explores race in an enlightening perspective. I really liked how Dana was a strong, protective mother who handled birthing a baby that obviosuly had black genes with grace and care while the world around her crumbled. I highly recommend the book and think it would be an awesome selection for a book club. I would have NEVER guessed the outcome.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nice story

    This was a book I really enjoyed reading.. it was kind of predictable but entertaining and well worth the time spent reading it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    Family Tree, rich in color and complexity

    This book looks at human responses when a black child is born to 2 white parents. It explores family biases that are carried from generation to generation, DNA testing, the meaning of family, friendship and much more. As usual, Barbara Delinsky introduces the reader to complex characters, and a plot filled with unexpected twists and turns. I picked up the book, planning to read at a leisurely pace, but I could not tear myself away until I reached the final page.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I highly recommend!

    Hugh and Dana Clark are excited about the upcoming birth of their child. A shock is in store for them when the baby is born of obvious African / American decent. This is a well done, well written lesson to all of us that love supersedes all. There are lots of heartwarming elements in this lovely novel. I highly recommend!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    Loved this book! Buy IT!

    This was a really awesome read. Somewhat predicatable at some points but ending with a fact you did not expect!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    Totally Awesome

    Wow !!! This book is a page turner. I could not put it down. It had love, devotion, suspense and an ending I was not expecting. I would love to know how Eaton handled what he had uncovered, so I hope Barbara writes a sequel and soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    This book can't be put down.

    This book was amazing i couldn't put it down literally. i enjoyed the storyline and i just hope that there is a sequel to this because i will love to know what happens to the different characters down the line. How their lives changed especially what happens to the Clarke's Family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    heartwarming family drama

    He dotes on his wife while she adores her husband. Both Hugh and Dana Clarke are eagerly awaiting the birth of their first child but when Lizzie is born, both parents are shocked to see she has Afro-American features including skin color and hair. The Clarke family came over on the Mayflower and the patriarch is a rich published author who lives in a wealthy neighborhood whose residents are old money. When they come to the hospital to see their grandchild, Hugh¿s father becomes furious, claiming his daughter-in-law had an affair with a black man or if not she has black blood in her ancestry. Other relatives and friends comment on Lizzie¿s features and Hugh asks for a paternity test in the hope that it will shut people up. Dana is heartbroken that her husband made such a request and a schism in their loving marriage opens. Hugh needs to know what relatives in Dana¿s family are black and the only person it could be is her unknown father. Yet when they confront him, he provides positive proof that there is no African blood in his family. Dana doesn¿t care because she thinks how Lizzie looks is insignificant but Hugh pursues the subject and ends up shocked at what he learns. --- This is one of Barbara Delinsky¿s finest books because she raises interesting social issues and leaves it to the reader to form their own opinions. Hugh is not a bad man but is a product of his blue blood upraising. He loves his wife and daughter very much and is shocked at himself when he sees things differently because his daughter is not totally a Caucasian. Dana feels that a DNA test was irrelevant and loves her daughter just as she is and hopes Hugh can do the same. The protagonists are great characters because they are not saints but people who are products of their environments. FAMILY TREE is a heartwarming family drama. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Delinsky winner

    As a fan of Barbara Delinsky I was delighted to find this book on the discount table. It was a quick and easy read. Very thought provoking, as the characters struggle with the issues of race and family background. My sympathy lies with the new mother who struggles with a new baby and the unknown issue of her family background. Must say I did not see the issue being resolved the way it was.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Very thought provoking!

    A real look into how much we know about our partner's and our families. How we normally perceive each other might not be at all true during difficult times. Lies are brought forth and loyalties challenged.

    This challenges you to look into your own heart and mind and try to figure out how you would react to a similar situation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    AMAZING - A REAL PAGE-TURNER

    I read this book in a couple of days -- I just couldn't put it down. This is a real winner -- don't miss it. I loved this author's 'Three Wishes', and thought it couldn't get any better. Barbara Delinsky is truly a pro -- I eagerly await each new book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    Stupendous

    This is a most excellent book which looks at what do you do if you find out you are not what you have always taken for granted you were. Dana and Hugh become parents to an obviously african american child although they are both middle class white. They, particularly Hugh has always taken his 'whiteness' as his only given right and due with all that goes along with it such as the country club, etc. First he accuses his wife of adultery and them blames her for the race of the child. Now he has to wonder, as well as his father does, what would he have become and how he would have lived and been received by his peers if it had been always know he was not lily white. He has to reexamine all that he is and just how deep his 'political correctness' goes. A most interesting spin on an idea. What would one do if one found this out about one's self??? Strong and compelling handling of the flip side of bigotry. How may people secretly worry about the same issue in their own families? I loved this book. This is the best book that Barbara Delinsky has written as far as subject matter and timeliness is concerned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    If these branches could talk...

    A softly spoken tale of infidelity which manifests itself, through the wonders of Biology 101, in newborn baby Lizzie. Very obviously white parents Hugh and Dana are left in middle class bewilderment when one of their recessive genes darkens their newborn's skin and beautifies her exotic features. The results of familial investigations are somewhat predictable. But remember, this is a soft, lilting tale of a newborn who, while the center of the book's focus, becomes irrelevant from birth to plotline to conclusion. Barbara Delinsky whisks the story forward, like a creme brulee with a sweet, smooth crusty topping that takes a lot of polite abuse before the creme can be eaten.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Birth of the families (family tree for Bluestar, Whitefoot, Sneakshadow, & Waterripple)

    Greypebble (tom, WaterClan) and Holllyflight (she, WaterClan) are the parents of Bluestar. They later adopted Whitefoot. Greypebble later left Hollyflight for Smallmouth (she, SnowClan). They had two kits together, Sneakshadow and Waterripple. (Next four results will be more in depth on each of the kits.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Shauna

    Black, long hair. A rather pale complexion. Wears a short gamer tshirt that bears her midriff proudley along with her navel ring. She wears black booty shorts. She has green eyes. She is aboit five foot one. And, of course, she ibi.s

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Good

    Good book, poor grammer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Keepletter

    Went to camp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Barkstar

    Alright we both got a catch let get back to camp she walks back to result one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Kitty

    ?........ um.... ok...... well nancy and i r fine.........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    I love this book

    Family Tree, Impossible are two of the most amazing books i have ever read. I got Impossible from Target and Family Tree from Savers. Both books i have had for about 2-3 years. I have went over these books with friends and Ex boyfriends (boyfriends at the time) they seemed to love the books too. These books i have posted on here have great plot lines and amazing relatible people. Knowing this i canvmake a little story in my head on how every little thing plot setting clings together as one whole story. Sometimes i wish i had someone i can put my words and heart into like these two ladys did in these two books. I was about in middle school when i have read these two amazing books i am now in my almost a senior in high school. I really wish theu could have read these books in my high school and middle school years. I would enjoy reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8