Customer Reviews for

Fancy Pants (Only In Gooding Book #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I really liked reading this book and would have given it 5 stars

I really liked reading this book and would have given it 5 stars except for the last 1/3 of the book. It was a hoot and the characters were well written up to that point.

The preaching became a bit over the top for me and the story seemed to drag a bit the last 1/3 of ...
I really liked reading this book and would have given it 5 stars except for the last 1/3 of the book. It was a hoot and the characters were well written up to that point.

The preaching became a bit over the top for me and the story seemed to drag a bit the last 1/3 of the book. The ending was good but not great for me.

Overall it was an enjoyable read.

posted by songbirdsue on November 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed a few aspects of this book and disliked several others

I enjoyed a few aspects of this book and disliked several others. The humor the book attempted was often well done. Slap-stick type humor was done fairly well, and the dialogue had moments where it really was extremely witty. There were times, however, where the humo...
I enjoyed a few aspects of this book and disliked several others. The humor the book attempted was often well done. Slap-stick type humor was done fairly well, and the dialogue had moments where it really was extremely witty. There were times, however, where the humor felt forced and over the top, primarily in overly witty dialogue that felt unnatural.

The romance, while very cute at parts, came across as uneven to me. Cute and plausible moments followed by rushes of feeling that didn't seem to follow the pace for growth that was previously set. Secondary characters also weren't fleshed out very well, and the salvation acceptance near the end seemed rushed and unnaturally timed/forced. And the resolution with Syd's proposed fiance completely lacks any sense of plausible resolution. All tension leading up to that point is doused when, it turns out, there was nothing really to fear and a simple solution was readily accepted.

While there were individual scenes that interested me, I would not pick up the book in order to re-read.

posted by Kaelme on March 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Fun read

    This was the sweetest book! Didn't lag...the story line was rich with plot and this was an easy, fun read. Review by CherishD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Yo dog

    Yo dog this gosh dang book was so tight man i could not put it down i especialy liked the front cover i mean a girl in a bath tub hilalar lar. Read all yo other coments and you the one above me i freaking love you baby i totally agree with you love you kiss kiss god bless you americaa for giving me this woman. Thank you and goodbye

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific amusing inspirational historical romance

    In 1889 following the death of her father, Lady Sydney Hathwell, escorted by her Aunt Serena leaves England to join her American fiancé Rexall Hume in New York. However, he agrees to her insistence of an acceptable period of mourning before they marry. One year and one day later, Rexall demands they wed, but Sydney knows they do not suit. Sydney receives a telegram from her Uncle Fuller, who was unaware he had living relatives until he got her note. He invites his nephew to live on his Forsaken Ranch in Gooding, Texas where he explained no human females reside. With Hume¿s unknowing help disguised as a boy she goes to the ranch. Her uncle is away and the ranch foreman widower ¿Big Tim¿ Creighton thinks his boss will be disappointed with his foppish nephew. He decides to change this ¿FANCY PANTS¿ into a real man though he also hopes to drive his lordship back across the content and ocean. Instead Lord Sydney begins to fall in love as she sees the vulnerable caring side of Big Tim, but fears once Uncle Fuller learns he has a niece he will kick her out, leaving her vulnerable to Rexall. --- This is a terrific amusing inspirational historical romance. Sydney is a fabulous nephew as the ranch hands led by Big Tim struggle to toughen up the girly boy going so far as to take her to a brothel. Big Tim in many ways is the more interesting protagonist as he began to fall in love with her when she was an English sissy. The story line is intelligent and fun to read because Hume is not a nasty villain as he persists in marrying Sydney although she rejects them as unsuited (could his story be next?). Cathy Marie Hake has written a droll late nineteenth century tale that sub-genre readers will cherish. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Loved it!!

    Could not put it down--delightful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    To below

    Realy preachi am a chrastain that was fude

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Map and rules

    Map and rules(resalt one) Bios(resalt two) Work applacation(resalt three) Chat room(resalt four to six) kitchen(resalt seven) eating erea(resalt eight) romace room(nine to eleven) Rules:no wepons no nerds no mean drama no godmodding and defitley no sw<_>ere words

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Pat

    I also dont like girls that want to have se.x rigt away

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Great book

    Couldn't put it down. It kept me on the edge of my seat. Old west cowboys customs and their prejudges.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    You must check it out!!

    This book started out slow, but couldn't put the book down after that.
    Very good book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Great read

    Started slow ... but wound up loving it. Ending was a bit short but oh well. Still very good and very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    NO SPOILERS HERE:  (people, please post your warning if you are

    NO SPOILERS HERE:  (people, please post your warning if you are going to write summaries of these books).
    I loved the book. I laughed a lot. I really enjoyed the story line and  found it hard to put down. It has been a while that I've cared this much about the characters. It was  a fun book. I highly recommend this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book!

    I thought this was a very enjoyable book. From the beginning of the book, when Lady Sydney Hathwell starts scheming, I was hooked. Lady Hathwell is running from a future she doesn't want and into new adventures and places she's never been. She is a strong-willed and independent, albeit proper, girl with a mind of her own. She enjoys the freedoms being an American brings her. Her running brings her to the Forsaken Ranch and right into the arms of Tim Creighton. Tim is a rough around the edges man whom you can't help but fall for (once you get past the gruffness).

    There was a part of the story that I felt were not quite necessary. The "villian" aspect, as a friend points out in the group discussion, felt unhashed and not vital to the story's development. The romance part also felt a little rushed. There was no "ah-ha" moment that makes most romance lovers swoon. The spiritual aspect of the story, while some argue wasn't strong enough, was believable to me. Sydney's coming to faith seemed natural, to me. I also thought Tim's portrayal of the faith was real. He approached it one way when he thought Sydney was a boy and then more gently, but still firmly, when he found out the opposite.

    Overall, I am very satisfied with this story. The plot is a little unbelievable, but that doesn't make the story any less enjoyable. The interaction and dialogue is excellent and the story was easy to follow along with. This won't be my last book by Cathy Marie Hake, for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great read!

    This was a very sweet story well worth taking the time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Very good read.

    Really surprised as to the story line. It was one of those books that I wished could go on and on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Cute

    This was a very cute, sweet chistian romance with funny moments. I will need to read the rest of the books. Absolutly loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Fantastic book! My two grand daughters and I have read this one

    Fantastic book! My two grand daughters and I have read this one multiple times each.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    Midnight Reader

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! I have read all of Hake's books. This is one of the best books I have read. Will keep you laiughing. I have purchased a hard copy to pass on to friends and family that do not have Nooks. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    The funniest one

    Of all the books in the series this one is the funniest one. I even bought audiobook so I can listen to it again and again. I recomend to read the book more than once so you can enjoy every moment of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Wonderful, clean, historical romance!

    Fancy Pants was the first of Cathy Marie Hake¿s books I have read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I found the characters lovable and some of the situations quite amusing. Cathy did a great job writing this book and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a clean romance with a little humor blended in. Cathy Marie Hake is definitely now on my list of favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    Christian Fiction with Humor!

    This is a fun, old-fashioned, romantic read. The dialogue between Sydney and Tim had me laughing out loud. If you are a fan of old romantic movies with humor, you will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2