Customer Reviews for

Fangirl

Average Rating 4.5
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

You guys, I¿ve gone and done it again¿ I¿ve fallen in love with

You guys, I’ve gone and done it again… I’ve fallen in love with Rainbow Rowell’s characters and their stories. There’s so much I love about this book (like, every. single. thing. about it) and I’m going to try not to gush. Too much. I don’t feel like I can truly do this...
You guys, I’ve gone and done it again… I’ve fallen in love with Rainbow Rowell’s characters and their stories. There’s so much I love about this book (like, every. single. thing. about it) and I’m going to try not to gush. Too much. I don’t feel like I can truly do this book justice with a review, but I’m going to try.

“To really be a nerd, she’d decided, you had to prefer fictional worlds to the real one.”

Cath is a nerd. She writes slash fan fiction about Simon Snow, boy magician, using the name Magicath. She’s such a Simon Snow fan and writes such complex fan fic, she has a fan base of her own. She’s a big deal in certain circles online. Real life is a little different. She’s insecure and lives in the shadow of her twin sister, Wren. While Wren likes to party, chase boys and experience all life has to offer, for better or worse, Cath is more reserved. She’d much rather spend the night writing and fostering her online friendships than hanging out at parties or in bars. She’s so introverted at times that it’s almost painful. But, she’s an easy character to identify with. She’s as awkward as can be, but she’s lovable, strong and smart. She’s loyal to those she’s closest to, even when they might not deserve it. She’s completely adorkable. I loved her almost immediately, but “Emergency Kanye Party” solidified it for me.

“There are other people on the Internet. It’s awesome. You get all the benefits of ‘other people’ without the body odor and the eye contact.”

Cath and Wren head off to their new lives in college at University of Nebraska-Lincoln. For the first time in their lives, they won’t be living together. It’s time for each of them to experience life without being a crutch for the other. Cath’s new roommate, Reagan, is pretty much her polar opposite. She’s a partier. She’s always out with a different guy, despite the fact that Levi is always hanging out in her room. Cath assumes they’re dating, but the truth is more complicated than that. Somewhere along the way, Levi becomes more than “Reagan’s friend.” He’s Cath’s friend and confidant. He’s there for her. Their chemistry is strong and sweet.

“Oh, put that away,” Cath said with distaste. “I don’t want you to get charm all over my sister – what if we can’t get it out?”

“She didn’t have words for what Levi was. He was a cave painting. He was The Red Balloon. She lifted her heels and pulled him forward until his face was so close, she could look at only one of his eyes at a time. “You’re magic,” she said.

I adored Levi from the moment he appeared on the pages. He’s an adorable farm boy. He’s sweet and thoughtful. He always went out of his way to try to include Cath, despite being turned down again and again. There was more to him than met the eye, as Cath began to find out. When he began meeting her at the library to walk her home from study “dates” with her classmate, Nick, I started to hope there was a glimmer of something more there.

“Cath liked Levi. A lot. She liked looking at him. She liked listening to him – though sometimes she hated listening to him talk to other people. She hated the way he passed out smiles to everyone he met like it didn’t cost him anything, like he’d never run out. He made everything look so easy… ”

As you might expect, Cath was completely out of her element at college. She was so uncomfortable in new situations that she was afraid to try to find the dining hall, so she was more or less living off energy bars. Reagan and Levi finally force her somewhat out of her comfort zone and get her out and about. For a girl with very little social life, Cath has the attention of several guys. Throughout the story there’s Able, her quasi-boyfriend from home, her study-date/writing-partner Nick, and Levi. I’ll let you find out for yourself how that all shakes out though. There’s so many sweet, swoon-worthy scenes and good, old-fashioned teenage angst that you need to experience it all for yourself.

“Apparently, I’m good for something,” Wren said. “You keep stealing all my best lines.”

Wren is a minor character in the majority of the book, at least in a physical sense. She’s not around very often. She’s off doing her own thing, leaving Cath to live her own life. To find herself. While they shared some of the same friends and interests pre-college, I’m not entirely sure Wren and Cath could be any different. They each went through a lot in this novel. I think they both wound up stronger and better because of the events that occurred though. I think their relationship with each other, while different than it was when they left for school, became more solid, too. It wasn’t an easy road though.

“I feel like… what happened last night was just an aberration. Like it could only have happened in the middle of the night, when he and I were both really tired. Because if it had been daylight, we would have seen how inappropriate it was -”

“How do you feel when I smile at you?” he asked – and then he did smile at her, just a little.
“Like an idiot,” she said softly. “And like I never want it to stop.”

The romance in this book was absolutely swoon-worthy in that way only young adult books can be. It was sweet and innocent. It just made me smile. I was absolutely charmed by nearly every character in this book. At the end, despite the fact that there wasn’t a cliffhanger and really, everything was resolved, I was in no way ready to give these characters up. I’ve had such a book hangover from them it’s been nearly impossible to think about writing this review.

“I feel sorry for you, and I’m going to be your friend.”

“But you’re so helpless sometimes. It’s like watching a kitten with its head trapped in a Kleenex box.”

Whether they’re main or secondary, Rainbow Rowell writes amazing characters. They’re real. I want to know them personally. By the end of the book, I feel like I do know them. This book was absolutely no exception. Reagan was just what Cath needed in a roommate. She was sassy and outgoing. She pushed Cath. She helped her grow. I want her to be my friend. Professor Piper also helped Cath come into her own. She was everything a professor should be. She was supportive, but she still pushed her. Cath became a better writer because of it. Cath’s father was another favorite. He was complicated. He had issues. But, he was a great dad. I loved their banter.

“But it’s just so good. Nobody writes Simon and Baz like Magicath. I’m in love with her Baz. Like, in love. And I used to be a major Simon/Agatha shipper.”

“Sometimes…,” Cath said, “when I’m reading canon, I forget that Simon and Baz aren’t in love.”

One of the things I loved most about this book was the way that Rowell integrated the fan fiction so well with Cath’s real life story. This is something most authors couldn’t pull off, but she does it absolutely flawlessly. First of all, I just loved reading the Simon Snow stories. It took me back to the days where I would read a TON of Harry Potter fan fiction to get through the excruciating wait between books. I read more Harry/Draco slash than I should probably admit. (Don’t judge me.) I loved seeing what the fan fic writers did with J.K. Rowling’s characters in an alternate universe. I enjoyed reading what Cath did with Simon and Baz in her stories. The world-building in the fan fic and the Simon

posted by kimberlyfaye on September 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book seemed great from the reviews and synopsis, but after

This book seemed great from the reviews and synopsis, but after I payed (way more than it was worth) for it and brought it home, I was very disappointing. There was very little character development, a very boring plot, and quite frankly I was reading unit the end becau...
This book seemed great from the reviews and synopsis, but after I payed (way more than it was worth) for it and brought it home, I was very disappointing. There was very little character development, a very boring plot, and quite frankly I was reading unit the end because I was still waiting for the climax of the story. The next thing I knew, it was over. Nothing really happens in this book; no climax. boring characters, very predictable, and a huge disappointment. I may as well have just stopped reading halfway through and it would have had the same effect. Not sure why most of other reviews are positive when it is one of the worst books I have ever read and the one thing that I most regret buying after the fact. I recommend borrowing the book from someone before you buy it. If you like it, great, good for you, go ahead and buy it. But I really wish I had read it before paying through the nose for the most pointless book I've ever read.

posted by 16976972 on May 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You guys, I¿ve gone and done it again¿ I¿ve fallen in love with

    You guys, I’ve gone and done it again… I’ve fallen in love with Rainbow Rowell’s characters and their stories. There’s so much I love about this book (like, every. single. thing. about it) and I’m going to try not to gush. Too much. I don’t feel like I can truly do this book justice with a review, but I’m going to try.

    “To really be a nerd, she’d decided, you had to prefer fictional worlds to the real one.”

    Cath is a nerd. She writes slash fan fiction about Simon Snow, boy magician, using the name Magicath. She’s such a Simon Snow fan and writes such complex fan fic, she has a fan base of her own. She’s a big deal in certain circles online. Real life is a little different. She’s insecure and lives in the shadow of her twin sister, Wren. While Wren likes to party, chase boys and experience all life has to offer, for better or worse, Cath is more reserved. She’d much rather spend the night writing and fostering her online friendships than hanging out at parties or in bars. She’s so introverted at times that it’s almost painful. But, she’s an easy character to identify with. She’s as awkward as can be, but she’s lovable, strong and smart. She’s loyal to those she’s closest to, even when they might not deserve it. She’s completely adorkable. I loved her almost immediately, but “Emergency Kanye Party” solidified it for me.

    “There are other people on the Internet. It’s awesome. You get all the benefits of ‘other people’ without the body odor and the eye contact.”

    Cath and Wren head off to their new lives in college at University of Nebraska-Lincoln. For the first time in their lives, they won’t be living together. It’s time for each of them to experience life without being a crutch for the other. Cath’s new roommate, Reagan, is pretty much her polar opposite. She’s a partier. She’s always out with a different guy, despite the fact that Levi is always hanging out in her room. Cath assumes they’re dating, but the truth is more complicated than that. Somewhere along the way, Levi becomes more than “Reagan’s friend.” He’s Cath’s friend and confidant. He’s there for her. Their chemistry is strong and sweet.

    “Oh, put that away,” Cath said with distaste. “I don’t want you to get charm all over my sister – what if we can’t get it out?”

    “She didn’t have words for what Levi was. He was a cave painting. He was The Red Balloon. She lifted her heels and pulled him forward until his face was so close, she could look at only one of his eyes at a time. “You’re magic,” she said.

    I adored Levi from the moment he appeared on the pages. He’s an adorable farm boy. He’s sweet and thoughtful. He always went out of his way to try to include Cath, despite being turned down again and again. There was more to him than met the eye, as Cath began to find out. When he began meeting her at the library to walk her home from study “dates” with her classmate, Nick, I started to hope there was a glimmer of something more there.

    “Cath liked Levi. A lot. She liked looking at him. She liked listening to him – though sometimes she hated listening to him talk to other people. She hated the way he passed out smiles to everyone he met like it didn’t cost him anything, like he’d never run out. He made everything look so easy… ”

    As you might expect, Cath was completely out of her element at college. She was so uncomfortable in new situations that she was afraid to try to find the dining hall, so she was more or less living off energy bars. Reagan and Levi finally force her somewhat out of her comfort zone and get her out and about. For a girl with very little social life, Cath has the attention of several guys. Throughout the story there’s Able, her quasi-boyfriend from home, her study-date/writing-partner Nick, and Levi. I’ll let you find out for yourself how that all shakes out though. There’s so many sweet, swoon-worthy scenes and good, old-fashioned teenage angst that you need to experience it all for yourself.

    “Apparently, I’m good for something,” Wren said. “You keep stealing all my best lines.”

    Wren is a minor character in the majority of the book, at least in a physical sense. She’s not around very often. She’s off doing her own thing, leaving Cath to live her own life. To find herself. While they shared some of the same friends and interests pre-college, I’m not entirely sure Wren and Cath could be any different. They each went through a lot in this novel. I think they both wound up stronger and better because of the events that occurred though. I think their relationship with each other, while different than it was when they left for school, became more solid, too. It wasn’t an easy road though.

    “I feel like… what happened last night was just an aberration. Like it could only have happened in the middle of the night, when he and I were both really tired. Because if it had been daylight, we would have seen how inappropriate it was -”

    “How do you feel when I smile at you?” he asked – and then he did smile at her, just a little.
    “Like an idiot,” she said softly. “And like I never want it to stop.”

    The romance in this book was absolutely swoon-worthy in that way only young adult books can be. It was sweet and innocent. It just made me smile. I was absolutely charmed by nearly every character in this book. At the end, despite the fact that there wasn’t a cliffhanger and really, everything was resolved, I was in no way ready to give these characters up. I’ve had such a book hangover from them it’s been nearly impossible to think about writing this review.

    “I feel sorry for you, and I’m going to be your friend.”

    “But you’re so helpless sometimes. It’s like watching a kitten with its head trapped in a Kleenex box.”

    Whether they’re main or secondary, Rainbow Rowell writes amazing characters. They’re real. I want to know them personally. By the end of the book, I feel like I do know them. This book was absolutely no exception. Reagan was just what Cath needed in a roommate. She was sassy and outgoing. She pushed Cath. She helped her grow. I want her to be my friend. Professor Piper also helped Cath come into her own. She was everything a professor should be. She was supportive, but she still pushed her. Cath became a better writer because of it. Cath’s father was another favorite. He was complicated. He had issues. But, he was a great dad. I loved their banter.

    “But it’s just so good. Nobody writes Simon and Baz like Magicath. I’m in love with her Baz. Like, in love. And I used to be a major Simon/Agatha shipper.”

    “Sometimes…,” Cath said, “when I’m reading canon, I forget that Simon and Baz aren’t in love.”

    One of the things I loved most about this book was the way that Rowell integrated the fan fiction so well with Cath’s real life story. This is something most authors couldn’t pull off, but she does it absolutely flawlessly. First of all, I just loved reading the Simon Snow stories. It took me back to the days where I would read a TON of Harry Potter fan fiction to get through the excruciating wait between books. I read more Harry/Draco slash than I should probably admit. (Don’t judge me.) I loved seeing what the fan fic writers did with J.K. Rowling’s characters in an alternate universe. I enjoyed reading what Cath did with Simon and Baz in her stories. The world-building in the fan fic and the Simon

    33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Five Stars...excellent job!

    This story isn't what I expected. I figured it would just be about some girl obsessing over a fictional character, but it really has more meaning than that.
    This is a story about a girl who is learning to live her life without her twin sister holding her hand along the way. Cath, to me, is a very relatable character. We all have crushes on characters from novels, admit it. Many of us go overboard with our crushes, like Cath.
    The author did an outstanding job at portraying Cath as a true fangirl.
    This deserves a nice round of applause. I'll definitely tell my friends about this book.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Fangirling

    I have always been a die-hard fangirl, (think harry potter, percy jackson, lord of the rings, the works) and i was pleasently surprised to find this book. It is a great representation of those of us struggelling to find ourselves and hold on to what matters to us. Great job, RR- i will definately read more of your books in the future. GO FANGIRLS!!! ;-)

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    Wow. This book was so amazing! I loved every aspect of it! The

    Wow. This book was so amazing! I loved every aspect of it!
    The characters were so beautifully written and real! I absolutely adored how all the characters changed throughout the story.
    The character development was wonderful!
    I loved how Rowell included little sections of Cath's fanfiction story. It just made her seem more real and not just a 2 dimensional character, like so many other character in other books.
    I recommend this book to people who like: fanfiction, cute love stories, awesome characters, and funny scenes!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    THIS BOOK DESCRIBES ME

    THIS BOOK DESCRIBES ME OMIGOSH :D FANGIRL

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Lovely

    I simply adored this book. I felt like I was watching my own life unfold.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this book. Love this book. Rainbow Rowell is magic. I just

    Read this book. Love this book. Rainbow Rowell is magic. I just want more. If only Simon Snow was a real series... or Carry On.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    PRAISE RAINBOW ROWELL. Seriously, though. This was adorable, an

    PRAISE RAINBOW ROWELL.

    Seriously, though. This was adorable, and great, and just so fun to read. As a twenty-something fangirl myself, a lot of things in here hit home for me. It's so refreshing to see that. 

    This is not a book about leaving fandom behind in order to grow up, and is not about shaming nerds or equating being a nerd with immaturity. You don't have to give up fandom or leave it behind in order to grow up.

    Also, Levi is such a puppy and I want to squish him eternally.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    The cover looked cool so I bought and that's when I fell in love

    The cover looked cool so I bought and that's when I fell in love. In one day I read 300 pages and finished the book without putting it down. It is one of those books that people eat up and can't get enough of. I would totally recommend this book to everyone I know because it was just so amazing!!! 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book owns my heart. I¿ve put off writing a review for quite

    This book owns my heart. I’ve put off writing a review for quite a few month because I just don’t think my words will do this story justice. Fangirl was in my top two favorite books of 2013 (only behind The Book Thief), and I know it’s one of those books that I’ll read over and over again.

    From the very beginning I felt this protectiveness over Cath. I think this is because she is one of the few characters that I’ve read where I truly understand them. I definitely see my college days self in Cath, and I totally get her reasoning for her actions. She’s weird and quirky, but is a really good person. Yes, Cath makes mistakes and probably doesn’t handle certain situations in the right way, but she grows in Fangirl and I loved experiencing that journey with her.

    I don’t think I’ve ever felt so connected with a character, or their situation. There is one part of the book where Cath is falling completely apart trying to explain how she’s feeling to her Dad. I don’t know what it is; her feeling so helpless or the fact that in her eyes nobody understand her, but it just tears at my heart. We’ve all been there, and I don’t know about everybody else, but I’ve felt that helplessness of wanting somebody to get what you’re feeling but they just don’t. I wanted to hug Cath and tell her that there are people who do understand, and that it does eventually get better.

    I haven’t mentioned the awesomeness that is Rainbow Rowell’s writing. Her words just flow so smoothly, and she writes the best dialogue. I don’t usually find myself highlighting a book or noting certain sections, but in Fangirl my eBook is all highlighted up.

    “You’ve got Simon Snow heads on your desk,” Reagan said.
    “Those are commemorative busts.”
    “I feel sorry for you, and I’m going to be your friend.”
    “I don’t want to be your friend,” Cath said as sternly as she could. “I like that we’re not friends.”
    “Me, too,” Reagan said. “I’m sorry you ruined it by being so pathetic.”

    Lastly, there is Levi. Oh, Levi. You and your smile own my heart. I love that Levi isn’t you typical “dark brooding” love interest. He’s gangly and tall. Has a receding hairline and reading disorder; not your typical romantic hero. But Levi is just so good. That’s not to say that he doesn’t screw up, because he does, but there is something about him that brings an instant smile to my face. He is so imperfect, and yet so perfect for Cath.

    I pretty much recommend Fangirl to anybody who asks for suggestions. I read two Rainbow Rowell books in 2013 and enjoyed both. She has made it onto my “instant read” list, and I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Fangirling over this book

    Rainbow Rowell obviously is (or was?) a member of some fandom at some point, because she captures fan life perfectly! If there ends up being a sequel, I will buy it as soon as humanly possible! The detail was amazing- for example, though the basic premise of the Simon Snow series is borrowed from Harry Potter, everything else we see of the series serves to make it a different world entirely. Thank you, Ms. Rowell, for giving me such a great book to read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Who is that fangirl everyone is talking about? She is inconspicu

    Who is that fangirl everyone is talking about? She is inconspicuous, modest, dedicated and spends most of her days in front of her laptop writing new fan fiction. Cath and her twin sister Wren are about to start college, a more grown-up part of their lives. But Cath can't let go of the books that have kept her company for so many years.

    Fandom and fan fiction are the overall theme of FANGIRL. Rainbow's third book teaches us that fan fiction can be a very important part of a teenager's life. Through their writing teens get a chance to stay with their beloved characters, expand their imagination, express their creativity and get in contact with other fans.

    A fan can be found in every reader, too. How often have we read a book and couldn't stop talking and thinking about it? There are countless book worlds I would've loved to spent more time in. I don't read fan fiction nor have I ever written anything like it, but I could very well relate to Cath's obsession with her beloved Simon Snow books. I'm a fan of Cath and her passionate love for reading and writing Simon Snow fan fic. But I was no fan of Simon Snow himself (I haven't even read the last Harry Potter book).
    Every new chapter is accompanied by a Simon Snow quote or snippet of Cath's fan fiction to support the overall feel of Rainbow Rowell's FANGIRL and acquaint the reader with his magical world.
    These short snippets were fitting the stories' character and I liked to find out what Cath saw in Simon Snow's stories, what she loved about them.
    Towards the ending of FANGIRL the fan fiction portions of Cath's story grow in relation to one big event she's looking forward to. The publication of the last book in the Simon Snow series. So, long pages of FANGIRL are filled with Cath's fan fiction about Simon and his (as Cath writes it) potential love interest Baz. Even though Cath's characters seem to grow in correlation with the actual FANGIRL story, her Simon Snow fan fic filled too many pages to keep my interest. At some point I was tempted to skip the Simon Snow parts altogether and continue with the actual love story between Cath and Levi.

    Cath starting college is the perfect condition and setting for her to meet new people and maybe even fall in love. It's her chance to evolve and be independent but what if she is extremely shy and just wants to shut out the rest of the world except her sister Wren and her father?
    Cath is drawn back into herself and unaware of the college life going on around her. Luckily there are her new roomate Reagan and her friend, possible boyfriend Levi who help Cath to enjoy a small portion of life outside her bubble. Cath certainly doesn't become a social butterfly overnight, her transformation is a slow one, but she learns how to work on her issues and finally accepts new people into her life.

    Cath writes fan fiction, but always has a realistic and analysing gift when it comes to assess the people around her. The boys in FANGIRL don't come along born Gods, they don't have the shiniest teeth or most perfect features as Cath observes, who sees and likes them for the persons they really are.
    See for yourselves how Cath and Levi first met (their first encounters are probably unprecedented in YA awkwardness) and what their relationship is all about. Theirs is a very unconventional love story. It takes Cath a lot of time to open up to Levi and they become friends first before they can even give in to any romantic notions. To tease you, you can look forward to the Outsiders scene which is one of my favourites in YA!

    FANGIRL is not only about Cath's fan fiction and her love life. Rainbow Rowell found a bunch of other family and college-related aspects to weave together to a thick story mesh and well-written YA contemporary. It's about the many possibilities the new college world has to offer. About the difficulty to ever detach yourself from the ones you always had in your life as Cath's twin sister and their father mean the world to her. Is Wren doing okay on her own and what about her farther? Can he take to be all on his own after sending his two girls to college?
    And ultimately FANGIRL is about finding out who you really are as an independent person and how to make certain things exclusively your own.


    4,5/5 ****/* FANGIRL – An authentic and wholehearted bibliophile college experience. Rainbow Rowell is the new YA phenomenon!

    FANGIRL is a brilliant book for readers looking for a YA contemporary read with the certain touch of magic. Sure I could've done without a good portion of the Simon Snow fan fiction we were given, but never would've wanted to miss out on FANGIRL. It's a very special read, with Cath and Levi's one-of-a-kind love story and Rainbow Rowell's great understanding for her characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fangirl has solidified Rainbow Rowell as a must buy, must read,

    Fangirl has solidified Rainbow Rowell as a must buy, must read, must recommend kind of author. Her YA debut, Eleanor & Park was one of my favorite books of 2012, and also top 10 favorite YA novels I've ever read. I have to admit I was kind of scared that I would be disappointed by Fangirl. I've been burnt more than once by my high expectations of a novel because I loved the author's previous one. But no, Rainbow Rowell didn't disappoint. I can go as far as saying Rainbow Rowell's books are magical. Many contemporary books are interesting but in the end lack the magic I look for. What is this magic you ask? Well here are a couple of points that can help you in knowing whether the book you're reading has the magic or not. 1. Throughout the book, your heart is always beating above the normal heartbeats per minute. Fangirl had a ton of intense family moments that kept me on the edge of my seat, as well as moments between Cath, the main protagonist, and Liv, the love interest, that had me fangirl-ing (see what I did there?) to the extreme. 2. When a book stays in your head and preoccupies your thoughts even when you put it down. It is the type of book that makes you stay up all night to read, or wake up earlier just to squeeze in a few chapters. 3. You tend to have a sudden urge to stop reading and hug your book or ereader because you have an overload of emotions you need to transfer, and the only outlet is through hugging that book or ereader that contains it. 4. You look at the page number and your heart drops when you notice you have less than 100 pages left. You try to read as slow as you can in order to stay in this magical world for as long as possible. All those apply to Fangirl. Every.Single.One. Plot-wise, Rainbow Rowell's novels aren't extravagant and over the top with intense drama, and complicated plot twists. They are simple, clean, clear, and realistic. I witnessed that in Eleanor & Park and also in Fangirl. We've got Cath and her twin sister starting college. The two girls have done everything together and are both part of the Simon Snow fandom (think Harry Potter). However, Wren drops the bomb and tells Cath she doesn't want to room with her. Cath was so heartbroken that I couldn't but feel so sad for her. Also, Wren drifted away from the Simon Snow fandom and Cath is in it alone. Both girls used to write fan fiction but now only Cath does, and she has thousands upon thousands of readers. I really connected with the girls because I was also, and still am, a huge fangirl when it comes to Harry Potter. We also get to witness problems with Cath's mother who abandoned the family when they were in third grade, as well as issues her dad faces when the girls leave for college and their dad stays alone in the house. I loved the relationship between Cath and her dad, it wasn't a perfect one or a broken one, it was in between where each one of them needed to lean on the other at times. Back at university, Wren chooses the partying type of life while Cath holes herself in her room, writing fan fiction. Cath might sound like a loner, but in fact she is just socially awkward. It took her two weeks to venture out to the university haul and even brought a couple of boxes of protein bars to allow her to survive in her room. Of course her roommate and her roommate's friend, Liv (squeal) took every chance they got to tease her about this. There was a ton of the humor I read in Eleanor & Park in the conversations between those three. As for Liv *sigh* that boy was worth any girl's love. He was a friend when Cath needed one but didn't want to admit it, and a guy who told Cath everything she needed to hear, whether it was good or bad. I personally loved Liv to the extreme. Hard core fangirl-ing here. He is twenty one years old so I didn't feel bad for crushing on him, thanks Rainbow Rowell! To sum this long review up, every single character, whether primary, secondary, or tertiary, had a reason to be in the book. As well as all the issues, drama, and fandom. Some plot lines were left open ended because that was how it is. In real life not everything gets wrapped up in a neat pretty bow. I think that is what I most appreciate about Rowell's books, as well as the magic she sprinkles on every single character, chapter, sentence, and word in her books. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Coming up with the words to write this review has mostly been im

    Coming up with the words to write this review has mostly been impossible. Nothing I could ever tell you about my experience with this book could give justice to how much I utterly love and adore and want to live within its pages. I've read dozens of amazing contemporary books this year,  that I've loved to an insane extent, but<strong> Fangirl </strong>
    is the moon and stars and sun and ocean of books. I definitely fall into the camp of considering this a new adult book and it's everything that I want new adult books to be. A beautiful, heart warming, realistic, and relatable story that explores family, love, friendship and self-exploration in a truly unforgettable story.

    There have been a lot of characters that I've related to this year, but none have resonated with me as much as Cath. An introvert who hides behind her computer screen and refuses to let anyone into her carefully built walls after her mother walks out on her family, there were times where reading about Cath was almost like looking in a mirror, in both good and bad ways. Part of Cath's charm is that she is so obviously a flawed character. She's equal parts funny, sweet, talented and caring as well as stubborn, self-absorbed and naive. It often feels as if she cares more about the fictional universe she writes fanfic for then the universe she's living in, and really haven't most of us been there? She is just so likable that seeing her character grow and step outside of that comfort zone had me cheering for her the entire time. REALLY HOW CAN YOU NOT LOVE AND CHEER FOR A CHARACTER WHO HAS KANYE DANCE PARTY'S ON HER BAD DAYS?

    The writing is what I've come to expect from Rowell. You know, utter perfection. I loved the pacing and the way the story encompassed the entirety of her freshman year and all of the stories developments on a realistic timeline. Nothing felt rushed or like Cath changed her entire personality miraculously overnight. I love it when contemps get that right. The writing was smart, witty, poignant and 100% engaging. The story made me so incredibly nostalgic for my own freshman year of college, and made me remember a lot of things I thought I'd forgotten. It even gave me the urge to dig out all of my old journals that I have buried in storage somewhere. It was so realistic and engaging that I felt as if I was living the year right alongside Cath and the other characters.

    The one thing I really was not a huge fan of was all the excerpts of Cath's fan fiction. I understand it's purpose, especially the way it brings Cath and Levi together and such, but sometimes I felt like there was just a little too much. The short bits weren't so bad, but the super long parts that Cath reads to Levi drove me crazy. I didn't care about the fictional Simon Snow world (although yes, if this was a real series I would totally be all over it), I cared about Cath's. I did think the reading aloud to Levi thing was adorable though. My best friend actually read Harry Potter &amp; the Deathly Hallows aloud to her husband, so when I read about that it made me think of that and smile because they are the most adorable couple I know.

    While the focus of the story is Cath's self-exploration, her relationship with her family is a huge part of that. Naturally I related to her relationship with her sister and dad way more than I should have. Cath is completely thrown for a loop that her twin, Wren, doesn't want to be roommates. Wren and Cath, while sharing the Simon Snow love, are pretty much complete opposites in every way and the distance that grows between them when they start college, even though they are going to the same school, obviously hurts both of them and I really loved seeing that dynamic explored. I don't have a twin (although I've always wished I did because I totally always wanted to be the evil twin when I was a kid-thank you Sweet Valley High), but I do have a cousin whose only six months younger than me and is more like my sister than my cousin and we went through a similar phase when we went into high school and it was utterly devastating for me. Watching Cath go through that with Wren brought all of that back to the forefront and I loved seeing the sisters find that balance again, even if I didn't particularly like Wren's character.

    I also loved that Rowell actually created realistic parent/child relationships and explored them. Despite the fact that Cath is away at college and doing her own thing, her relationship with both parents, for better or worse, was definitely very present in the story. Also her mother is a horrible human being. As much rage as I felt at her for abandoning her family, I think I felt even more rage at her giving her kids weird names because she was too lazy to think of a second name when she found out she was having twins. I mean, Wren's not that bad but Cather? WHO DOES THAT TO THEIR CHILD? Crap moms, that's who.

    Of course the book has a totally glorious romance because Rowell is amazing at that. LEVI IS MY EVERYTHING. During my freshman year, I super bonded with my RA. I think he mostly took pity on me because my roommate was horrible and I was obviously lonely and socially awkward, but he was kind of my hero that year and I was half in love with him. He was just a truly good guy and helped bring me out of my shell more than I might have without him. Plus he let me sleep on the couch in his dorm room when my roommate stumbled in loud and drunk or insisted on sleeping with the TV on. Man, I miss that guy. Anyway, tangent aside,  Levi reminded me of him so freaking much it made me sad and nostalgic and so so feelsy. I loved his character so much and the development of his and Cath's relationship was so beautiful and perfect just thinking about it makes my heart sing. It was the perfect-slow burn and even when Levi did some thing that made me want to junk punch him, he still held my heart. Seriously Cath, if you don't someday marry him, I will. Because that is totally a possible thing.

    As much as I love Levi and relate to Cath, Reagan was probably my favorite character. Her smart-ass ways and brutal honesty just spoke to me and I loved the balance she brought to Cath and the way she helped bring her out and obviously genuinely cared, even when she didn't want to.

    As a sidebar, and not that anyone probably cares but I feel like mentioning it because I've seen it mentioned by lots of people, while reading the book I think I figured out why Rowell uses a fictional fandom rather than Harry Potter, which Simon Snow is obviously pulled from. She actually kind of gives us the answer when Cath and her professor discuss the difference between fan fiction and plagiarism and Cath argues that it's not plagiarism if she's not profiting of it. If Rowell had used Harry Potter, and still included the excerpts of the fan fiction Cath wrote then technically she'd be profiting off of HP fan fiction which would technically be plagiarism. Yes. I thought about it too much but at least its sensible.

    So yea. I guess I liked Fangirl. And think you should probably read it too. And if you actually read this monster of a review and all my crazy tangents, thanks for that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    <3

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Fangirl by R

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
    Publisher: St. Martin's Press
    Publication Date: September 10, 2013
    Rating: 5 stars
    Source: eARC from NetGalley/Finished copy sent by the publisher




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    Cath is a Simon Snow fan.




    Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan . . .




    But for Cath, being a fan is her life — and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.




    Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.




    Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.




    Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.




    For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?




    Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?




    And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?




    What I Liked:




    I don't... I don't even know where to begin with this book. I read this book, starting on a Tuesday night, and finishing on the Wednesday evening, and then I moved in as a freshman in college of Thursday. I mean, call it fate, or God, or a coincidence, or whatever you want, but it was literally the PERFECT book I could have randomly decided to read right before I left to be a college freshman myself. 




    This book is the LAST book I read before I moved in. It's incredible how that worked out. If Rowell wrote this book, if St. Martin's Press set the publication date for what it is, if I got that opportunity to read this book early... that was for me, you all. I mean, I just feel like all of that worked out for me, perfectly.




    You see, Cath and her sister Wren are moving into college. On the very first page, Cath is moving in. Cath and Wren are twins, and were inseparable, until they finally arrive at college. Wren insisted on NOT rooming with Cath. Cath is a bit antisocial, and she spends all of her time writing fanfiction. She doesn't make friends well, and doesn't leave her room often.




    Wren is the opposite. She is outgoing, social, a party girl, a risk taker, willing to talk to anyone, try anything, etc. Wren is totally ready to forget life at home, where their dad is slightly unstable, mentally. Wren does get in contact with their mother, who left them for like, ten years, or something. Cath worries all the time about their dad, but hates their mom.




    So, this book seems to be about several things. It's about Cath and Wren, and their changing relationship as twins and friends and sisters. It's about Cath and Levi, the cute boy who seems to be everywhere Cath is. It's about Cath coming out of her shell, and growing into herself. It's about Cath and her family, making choices with father and basically nonexistent mother.




    Cath and Wren are so different, and their relationship takes huge hits in college. Wren ignores Cath, Cath doesn't respond to Wren BECAUSE Wren is ignoring Cath sometimes, Cath worries about Wren, Wren thinks Cath is too clingy and invasive... they are different people, but they need each other more than they realize.




    Cath and Levi are the best couple. It's not about hot, steamy chemistry between the two of them. Levi is so adorable, and an all-around good guy. He's a few years older than Cath, but he is so great. Their relationship is hilarious and gorgeous. I seriously loved watching the two of them fall in love, and watching their relationship progress. Nothing was rushed, but everything was totally THEM. Totally Cath and Levi.




    Cath has to learn a lot in this book. All she wants to do is write fanfiction, and she seems to hate college, because she's so consumed by writing. She doesn't even enjoy her writing class at times. But, she begins to see that there is more to college than fanfiction. There is more to writing than fanfiction.




    Cath's relationship with her father is so amazing. I mean, she always did what any responsible, caring daughter would do, when her father was in trouble, or needed anything. The same goes with Cath helping Wren (though Wren did not want Cath's help, often). I could totally understand why Cath couldn't get over her hatred of her mother. I mean, I probably wouldn't like the woman either, if she left when parenting got too hard, and then tried to come back and establish a relationship with the girls.




    I seriously don't know what else to say about this book. It's one of the books that are so amazing, and so powerful, and so beautiful, that you don't know how to describe it, or write about it, or comment on it. There isn't much of a climax in this book, but I liked that, because it seemed like this book was about Cath, her life story, and that doesn't necessarily need a climax.




    I love this book. I love it. And I love the timing of it, with my life. I mean, it couldn't have been more perfect.




    What I Did Not Like:




    I seriously have nothing to say. It's long? But the length didn't bother me at all.




    Would I Recommend It:




    TOTALLY. Anyone can read and love this one (unless you're looking for nasty crazy college-student NA contemporary romance sex. Not happening in this one). I think people like me (incoming freshmen) should read this book right before going to college. It gave me a different look on college.




    Rating:




    5 stars - 5 perfect, unadulterated stars. I can't even begin to describe how much I loved this book. I hope you read it and love it as well! Now, I have to go read Rowell's other books.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Go for it! @-->-->--- this is your one and only chance to read ^^ don't wait three trillion years ---- just go for it! It is great so there aint nothing to lose just have fun okay? ")

    Awesome book -- go red it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is my first Rainbow Rowell book which totally surprises me

    This is my first Rainbow Rowell book which totally surprises me since so many people sing such high praises about her so I decided to jump on the wagon and see exactly what I was missing. I have been missing a heck of a lot, since this book really blew me away.
    The twins were headed off to the same college but they were going about it two different ways. Wren was psyched and ready for new adventures (without her sister) and Cath was not so sure about the whole ordeal. Cath likes routine, she likes contentment and she likes Simon Snow. Simon Snow is Cath, rewriting these stories gives her a way to express herself and escape. I laughed when Cath shoves granola bars in her mouth as she’s too shy to find the café and when she hides out in the bathroom reading the graffiti on the walls instead of confronting her professor, she was too much. Her roommate, over-the-top? Perhaps overwhelming at first but she provided Cath the ability to be who she is. And who is Cath, really? I think Cath places a lot on her shoulders, she likes her own little world but she knows there are things out there she’d like to do, it’s just those first few steps that are hard to take. College is the right place for her, the opportunities are there, the people and the ability to say yes or no if she can just open her door and take a step. Wren, she does too much walking and not enough no’s. She seems to like the freedom route too much. Nothing is blocking her path and what she has her sights on, I am not quite sure she knows herself. To see the sisters take such a drastic separation in college was heartbreaking. Their separation was so immature and rough. They both have some adjusting to do and they needed each other but time had already done its damage when they needed a shoulder to lean on. Each of the relationships in this book was incredible and it electrified me that I got to be a part of them. Cath’s and Levi’s relationship, her comment about the kiss, “I don’t just kiss people,” wow, the implications that sentence had in their relationship and how that sentence stuck with me the rest of the book. Cath’s and Reagan’s relationship, two totally different people yet they fit, “But you’re so helpless sometimes. It’s like watching a kitten with its head trapped in a Kleenex box.” I laugh now thinking about them two. Cath and Nick’s – what was with that? Oh, Nick, I was rooting for you. Cath and Wren, their bond pulled so far apart and their father, being alone for the first time, the family is truly divided.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    I loved this book!  The characters were great and the story held

    I loved this book!  The characters were great and the story held my interest throughout the book.  I would highly recommend reading this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6