Customer Reviews for

Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter Series Prequel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1087 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(651)

4 Star

(255)

3 Star

(103)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Hmmm, "Fantasy" Indeed. . .

I wasn't expecting a romance novel, despite the title, but that's what this was, an incredibly detailed and sexy romance novel. If you've ever dreamed of having a man who loved you just the way you are and only wanted to pleasure you day and night, read on.

In case ...
I wasn't expecting a romance novel, despite the title, but that's what this was, an incredibly detailed and sexy romance novel. If you've ever dreamed of having a man who loved you just the way you are and only wanted to pleasure you day and night, read on.

In case you haven't realized by now, this book is not for children. It is a bit lacking in plot, especially when compared to Kenyon's later books in the series, but we can forgive her this first try and just enjoy the warmth of the story that is the meeting of Julian and Grace.

Grace is a bright young, self-concious woman with a debilitating history with sex and relationships. In an attempt to make her move forward, a friend brings over a spell book that promises one month of bliss with the ultimate love slave. Needless to say, Grace is less than convinced. But the spell works and brings forth Julian, a demigod who has been trapped in the torture of the spell book for thousands of years.

This book is everything it promises to be and serves as a nice introduction to the entire Dark Hunter series.

posted by Xedra77 on March 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

It Got Better...

The first half of this book was what I can only describe as...lame. The entire potential for intrigue and mystery in the story was practically handed to you on a platter, and it frankly took the fun out of reading it. Fortunately, after the first half, the story started...
The first half of this book was what I can only describe as...lame. The entire potential for intrigue and mystery in the story was practically handed to you on a platter, and it frankly took the fun out of reading it. Fortunately, after the first half, the story started picking up and the characters began to come alive to me. This wasn't the best romance novel, but the redeeming second half was good enough to encourage me to read Kenyon's popular "Dark Hunter" series - hopefully those novels will start off stronger.


If you enjoyed the storyline, you might also like "The Pleasure Slave" by Gena Showalter. Even though it is second in a series, I found it entertaining and tantalizing enough as a stand-alone novel (and, incidentally, a bit better than "Fantasy Lover"). Also, the strong characters reminded me of the "Sons of Destiny" series by Jean Johnson - also very good.

posted by BluHawk on June 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1090 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 55
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hmmm, "Fantasy" Indeed. . .

    I wasn't expecting a romance novel, despite the title, but that's what this was, an incredibly detailed and sexy romance novel. If you've ever dreamed of having a man who loved you just the way you are and only wanted to pleasure you day and night, read on.

    In case you haven't realized by now, this book is not for children. It is a bit lacking in plot, especially when compared to Kenyon's later books in the series, but we can forgive her this first try and just enjoy the warmth of the story that is the meeting of Julian and Grace.

    Grace is a bright young, self-concious woman with a debilitating history with sex and relationships. In an attempt to make her move forward, a friend brings over a spell book that promises one month of bliss with the ultimate love slave. Needless to say, Grace is less than convinced. But the spell works and brings forth Julian, a demigod who has been trapped in the torture of the spell book for thousands of years.

    This book is everything it promises to be and serves as a nice introduction to the entire Dark Hunter series.

    30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Talk about a romance!

    This book, although not officially part of the Dark Hunters series is an awesome start to a world of romance, adventure and fantasy. Once you enter the world of Sherrilyn Kenyon's writings you'll never want to leave.
    I loved this read! It's creative and well written. Enjoy!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Read!

    This was my introduction to Sherrilyn Kenyon and the world of the Dark Hunters and I must say - I'm hooked! I read this book in about 5 and a half hours. I just couldn't put it down. I found the story to be unique and extremely romantic. I won't go into the storyline or plot for fear of ruining it for future readers. I will say that if you are looking for a good book to curl up with - this is the one. I highly recommend all the Dark Hunter books!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It Got Better...

    The first half of this book was what I can only describe as...lame. The entire potential for intrigue and mystery in the story was practically handed to you on a platter, and it frankly took the fun out of reading it. Fortunately, after the first half, the story started picking up and the characters began to come alive to me. This wasn't the best romance novel, but the redeeming second half was good enough to encourage me to read Kenyon's popular "Dark Hunter" series - hopefully those novels will start off stronger.


    If you enjoyed the storyline, you might also like "The Pleasure Slave" by Gena Showalter. Even though it is second in a series, I found it entertaining and tantalizing enough as a stand-alone novel (and, incidentally, a bit better than "Fantasy Lover"). Also, the strong characters reminded me of the "Sons of Destiny" series by Jean Johnson - also very good.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    On book 6...LOVIN IT!

    I absolutely LOVE this series. It's everything paranormal with sexiness and action to boot! The Dark Hunters are the rough around the edges type with hearts of gold that the average doesn't see....only meant for their loves they find in each story. I didn't think I would like Zarek when first introduced to him. UNTIL, I read "his" story Dance With The Devil. Now I'm a big fan of his quirky, tough guy attitude. All of the DH's have unique but extraordinary personalities and gifts. It's nice to read a love story from the man's point of view and still enjoy some action packed scenes! Way to go SK!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    'Holy Quacamole!' Haha,

    I was so excited to read this when I got it as a gift for Christmas, and now that I read it, I found myself flying by it so quickly. But I loved every short second of it. Only because I am an exceptionally fast reader. But just within the first couple chapters I understood the advise of one reviews printed in the book 'make sure to wear oven mitts when reading.' It's a must have, late night reading.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    An excellent read.

    The picture in the antique book could not have been more perfect. Drawn with uncanny precision, the man portrayed in the image was without flaw, godlike and incandescent. Grace Alexander knew the legend surrounding the exquisite engraving: Julian of Macedon, a Greek love-slave who would be completely controlled and devoted to whomever summoned him from the pages of the book. A ridiculous story, really, but as a single woman with her 30th birthday right around the corner, she wishes it might be true. So in a tipsy, girls night out with a slightly off-center friend, Grace calls to the beautiful warrior frozen on the page of parchment. To her astonishment, he comes to her. Even as desire wells inside him for the woman who's called him, Julian feels a terrible relief. He is free from his prison for another full moon. Kissed by the goddess Aphrodite, he has beauty, courage, and strength beyond mortal men. But those blessings led to this curse. All he had is gone, his money, his status, even his greatest accomplishments on the battlefield. He is a nothing but a play toy for any woman who wants him, without even the dignity of being able to choose whom he desires. He lies between the pages of the book as if in a tomb, frozen, mute but conscious of his surroundings and the constant hunger and thirst that tear him apart. He pursues Grace, longing to appease his hunger, quench his thirst and sate the desire that rages inside him. Only she does not want to have sex. She wants to talk. She wants to take him places and give his mind flight. And she speaks of freedom. As Grace learns about the blindingly beautiful man she called forth, she is appalled at his history. Enchanted desire or not, she cannot bring herself to use him as the curse mandates. Her regard for him grows. For Julian, no one has looked at him as if he were a man and not a thing. Desire burns within him to the point of madness, yet his heart quietly begins to love. But can this woman truly break the curse that binds him, or will his newfound love be just another part of his spellbound hell? I could not wait to read this book just because the story line was so intriguing. The incredible conflict inherent in the characters' situations sounded fascinating and I really wanted to explore it. Let me tell you, the book does not disappoint. For something new and very well written, this book is your next best buy!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sherrilyn Kenyon’s start to the Dark Hunter’s series

    Sherrilyn Kenyon’s start to the Dark Hunter’s series is everything I had hoped for and more!

    Thousands of years ago Julian of Macedon was cursed into a book by a God, only to be released on the night of a full moon by a woman who holds his book while saying his name three times. For a month until the next full moon, Julian is compelled to fulfill the woman’s every sexual need without finding pleasure for himself until one day he is released by a woman who different from all the rest…
    Grace Alexander may be a sex therapist but she is having a dry spell, if you can still call four years without sex a dry spell. But that is about to change if her best friend and gypsy woman, Selena, has anything to say about it! Stumbling upon an old book in the book store with a sexy naked Roman warrior on the pages Selena convinces Grace to perform the ritual to set him free on the night of Grace’s birthday. Thinking the whole thing is just another one of Selena’s eccentrics Grace goes along with it and when nothing happens she’s not surprised. But after Selena disappointedly returns home Grace has the shock of her life when a gorgeous golden and very naked man appears in her living room. However Grace doesn’t want to have meaningless sex, no matter how tempting Julian is, and she knows that they have no future together because they come from two completely different worlds. But Grace is determined to help Julian escape his curse; will they be able to find the loop hole in time though? And once they do, will Grace and Julian be able to fight their attraction long enough to accomplish the task?

    Wow, what can I say about Fantasy Lover besides that I absolutely LOVED it? Full of love and laughter I was glued to the pages the whole time! Julian is just a toe-curling hero, a former general and all-around bad-ass warrior he is strong, determined and down-right sexy. But being trapped as a sex slave for centuries upon centuries has made him emotionally cold and reserved. Your heart will break from all the suffering he has had to endure at the hands of the Gods. Grace though truly shines as his light of hope. Grace is insecure with herself, bookish and not very social, and despite being a sex therapist she is fearful of getting into another sexual relationship after being burned by a past boyfriend. Julian sees the sensuality buried deep within her though and slowly earns her trust enough to bring it out. Their journey in love was sweet and real. Sherrilyn Kenyon definitely knows how to tease and torture readers though leaving you sexual frustrated right along with the characters!

    Fantasy Lover was entertaining and well written keeping me intrigued with each page and absorbed with the characters, and with wacky friends and mischievous Gods there were plenty there to keep you occupied. The story moved at a great pace and I really couldn’t have asked for anything more.

    Fantasy Lover was a fantastic read blending Greek Mythology, fantasy and romance together for the perfect escape. I recommend this to all romance readers, an amazing start to a series that I expect great things from!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    4

    Sherrilyn Kenyon is a guilty secret of mine that does not seem like much of a secret anymore. I think that I can safely that the cat is out of the bag and in the canary cage. It is not however eating the cream.

    While I try to think if those saying even work with what I was trying to say why don't you read my review.

    I would be the first person to tell you that the Dark Hunter series all have a very set formula to them. They show all lot of the same things in slightly different ways. For an example there is always a female lead that has some kind of mental/physical problem that the male lead is trying to look for in his prospective partner. In this particular book we have Grace who is a sex therapist who has a phobia of being used for sex because of a past experience and Julian who was cursed into a scroll that is now a book where he has to please the person who says his name three times for a whole month. They meet, bad things happen, and throughout the book they not only overcome them but they fall madly in love. If that was the only thing that this series had going for it I don't think that it would have been much of a pleasure for me.

    What I absolutely can not abandon is the mythology behind the books. They have Greek gods, Roman gods, and later even Atlantean gods. Then there is the Dark Hunter and the Were Hunters. I love how intricate the books are and the way that they have so much going for them besides just being really funny and almost illegally cheesy.

    That is a warning for all of you who can't stand cheesy scenes where characters dialogue may just kill you because of the complete weirdness of it all. There is an actual scene in the book where Grace has an cartoon/manga moment in which she talks to herself aloud with no one in the room with her on how Julian had better watch out for her. She didn't think it but she full on says it while she is outside with the evil smirk included. So I have to say that chances are if you want to learn something philosophical or meaningful in every book that read read this is not the one for you. Neither are any of the books in this series. However, if you don't mind some really interesting mythology, some steamy scenes, and ignoring some really ridiculous dialogue I think that you will have a high chance of liking this book or any one of the books in the series.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    HOT!

    This book started the Dark-Hunter series for me. Once I started I couldn't stop. Kenyon made me fall in love with all the characters. Because its a series, it would benefit a reader to read them in order. They build upon each other and the imagination and creativity of Kenyon seems never ending.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2008

    Unbelieveable!!!

    I know this was the first book, but once I've read all of them from this series, I will begin again. So far, I've read this book at least three times and can never get enough.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Yummy

    I actually really liked this book it was not what I was expecting and I'm glad I picked it up. I felt that the beginning of the book was something me and my best friend would do for kicks so I really related with the main character. The only reason I gave this a 4 out of 5 stars was because I didn't really feel there was much of anything besides the love story and I know, I know its a romance but I wanted something a little more. This book is more the kind of book to be passed among friends and shared but not to be kept for ones self.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read

    I picked up this book on a whim. I flew through it and have since purchased all her books. She is a great author with wonderful stories and imagination. This is a must read for any romance or book enthusiast. Sherrilyn has wonderful writing style. Her stories flow from one book to the next. The characters keep returning with more back stories and new adventures. She remains consistent and does not lose focus on the stories or characters. It is great how she keeps bringing back characters in different ways. The stories are both romantic and full of action. Sherrilyn keeps the stories fresh and with new ideas and she had a great imagination. Check out her other books. She is a must read author. Don't forget about her B.A.D. series. Looking forward to the Nic Chronicles. We is a wonderful character and looking forward to reading more about him. A must read for any one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Forever a Dark-Hunter Groupie!!

    I loved the first book for the Dark-Hunter series. I really like the mystical world that Sherrilyn Kenyon created for her series. It truly is a twist on old boring history classes.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    The cheesiest.

    I was at B & N picking up J R Ward's Lover unbound when a lady stopped me and told me that if I loved Ward's novels I should read Kenyon's as well. She even directed me the first in the series. As soon as I started reading Fantasy Lover, I knew without a doubt that it was going to be painful to read. I have no idea what those reviewers where talking about. I wanted to throw this book after the second chapter. There's absolutely no comparison between Ward & Kenyon. The first sentence in Ward's books grips you instantly.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    Utterly Dissapointing

    I bought this book with high expectations based on the reviews I'd found on here and the gushing recommendation of fellow Karen Moning readers, I was so dissapointed that I ended up returning the book two days later. It was a poorly written book with bad, and at times corny, dialogue. The hundred and fifty some pages I forced myself to read were repetitive and the plot was thin and predictable. It had a few interesting elements, the book, the greek myth, and I was sad that such great ideas were done so poorly. After the bad writing and overload of 'holy quacamole!' I honestly can't figure what everyone seems to see in this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Great book! This is technically the #0/1 of the dark hunter seri

    Great book! This is technically the #0/1 of the dark hunter series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Very good

    Amazingly good...well done

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Pornographic posts

    Bn, can you please delete the pornographic posts on here? It is so disgusting to read book reviews and suddenly run across these porno posts. Cant these posters be banned or something?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great story

    One of my favorite books

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1090 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 55