Customer Reviews for

Fantasy in Death (In Death Series #30)

Average Rating 4
( 475 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(264)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

strong futuristic police procedural

Four partners founded the computer-gaming firm U-Play. One of them Bart Minnock is the glue that holds the group together. He comes home one day, locks his door, enters his inner sanction and begins to play the new cutting -edge word-wielding warrior game Fantastical,...
Four partners founded the computer-gaming firm U-Play. One of them Bart Minnock is the glue that holds the group together. He comes home one day, locks his door, enters his inner sanction and begins to play the new cutting -edge word-wielding warrior game Fantastical, the firm's newest which is cutting edge and not yet released to the public.. He is shocked when his hologram is hit and he feels the pain.

The next day NYPSD Lieutenant Eve Dallas is assigned the locked room murder of Bart Minnock, who was found lying on his blood soaked floor. Eve struggles with figuring out how the victim was killed before she can focus on who the culprit is. Until the police entered, the door was locked with no evidence of any tampering yet someone entered and left leaving in spite of a security droid who it says no one was there. However her investigation forces the killer to target the persistent cop and her wealthy spouse and "technical consultant" Roarke.

J.D. Robb consistently writes a strong futuristic police procedural with a deep romantic subplot enhancing the mysteries; now at an incredible thirty tales. Eve is a strong stubborn individual who refuses to quit though progress in terms of resolving opportunity is lacking. Recurring characters make appearances, which provide a feel of continuity to long term fans. Filled with action, Fantasy in Death is a terrific five decades in the future locked door whodunit.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Implausible

I'm a big fan of the In Death series, and of Nora Roberts/J. D. Robb's writing in general. And I have to respect anyone with guts enough to juggle THREE different genres at once: romance, police procedural, and science fiction. Roberts long ago retired the trophy for ro...
I'm a big fan of the In Death series, and of Nora Roberts/J. D. Robb's writing in general. And I have to respect anyone with guts enough to juggle THREE different genres at once: romance, police procedural, and science fiction. Roberts long ago retired the trophy for romance writing, and as J. D. Robb her police procedure is as good as any I've seen. But when she steps into the sci-fi world, she stumbles. All too often, she refers to some "futuristic" component of her world that is actually way out of date, such as the ubiquitous use of computer discs. Most major computer manufacturers stopped making computers with floppy drives a decade ago. Most of the time we can overlook this, because the focus is on the characters, the mystery, the who and the why. But in Fantasy in Death, Robb puts the focus on the how, and this is where she drops the ball. I don't want to spoil the book. But the solution to this mystery is, basically, implausible. It's Star Trek science, where mysterious mumbling substitutes for honest science. Yes, the "fiction" in "science fiction" allows great leeway for a writer, but there comes a point where the fiction outweighs the science, and the reader's suspension of disbelief crashes to the ground. Physics simply does not work the way Robb wants it to in this novel. If it did, her future world would be a LOT weirder than it is. When I was reading this book, I started to suspect early on where Robb was taking this story; I said, "No, she knows better than that. She's not going there." But she does. I kept thinking she was fooling us with red herrings and misdirection, but no, she winds up presenting us with an ending that would have gotten a first year physics student sent to the back of the class.
I'm certainly willing to stretch a point for a writer who has given me so many hours of entertainment. But when I read 270-odd pages with a growing sense of disbelief and disappointment, I have to conclude that this one confused even the author.

posted by Sarah_Stegall on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantasy In Death Review (J.D. Robb)

    Synopsis:
    Refreshed from her previous caseload, the ever-ready Lt. Eve Dallas isn't quite so ready for the scene she finds at gaming guru Bart Minnock's supped up apartment.

    Apparently the late Bart Minnock, co-founder and face of up and coming gaming company U-Play, was on the verge of finishing up and marketing a game that would catapult his company to tops of the gaming industry and would have been considered "to die for," and he did, when someone decided to take a chop at him. Now, the strong and sexy Eve Dallas must use all of her wits and resources to track a killer that, by all rights, doesn't exist.

    With a victim everyone seemed to love, a very short short list, no witnesses or physical evidence and another member of U-Play's founding team in the ICU, Eve is racing the clock to catch a killer who just may be better at the game than she; but can she do it without losing her head?

    Review:
    This was a great read, as are all of the In Death books. If you have read all the books in the series and have become familiar with the twists and turns and thought process of Lieutenant Eve Dallas, the book may become a little predictable towards the middle and continue on to the end.

    I was not very impressed with the way the book ended and have come to expect more of a shock value from J.D. Robb's writing. While the book is still as good as any another installment of the In Death legacy, with this succeeding Promises In Death (which was phenomenal), I was expecting a bit more of a challenge.

    The vivid imagery and ideological technology the plot surrounds gives the book a very nice edge that geeks everywhere will appreciate; myself included. While the ideas of the future presented in each In Death installment are always interesting and thought-provoking-especially beginning with Divided In Death where more technological focus was brought in-this book centers on it!

    Being a geek doesn't mean you have to love flying cars. While I'm not a huge fan of what many peoples ideas or thoughts of the future are, I have always enjoyed that J.D. Robb does not focus on that element, but makes it blissfully apparent what the environment will be like-to her mind or simply for this series-in 2059-2060. You don't have to be afraid of being inundated with "sci-fi" when you read these books. She (J.D. Robb aka Nora Roberts) pours it on with the skill of a pastry chef! Just enough to keep your sweet tooth from aching from the onslaught of sugar.

    Speaking of sugar, I have always respected the love scenes in the In Death books between Roarke and Eve. Scenes filled with love and passion and, at times, fun and lust. But not filth. The love scenes neither diminish the books themselves nor the plots therein. They have a way of sucking you in and making you feel the emotions between them.

    Conclusion:
    Even if you're not satisfied 100% with the way the book ends, you'll love it. J.D. Robb delivers again. Whatever the book may be lacking in certain areas, it makes up for in others. And it gives us hope for the next! Check it out for yourself. A DEFINITE recommend!! Enjoy!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ROBB CONTINUES THE SAGA

    i enjoyed this book and it was an easy read. I am not sure there are many more plot lines for Robb to get Dallas and Rourke into. In my opinion her story lines are running thin. Eve Dallas is either going to have a baby or find Rourke out of money.
    There are just so many murder plots. This book follows a kind of "cookie cutter plot"

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    love J.D. Robb!

    I thought this book did a great job of making the characters seem alive once more. This is the first book in awhile of hers that I read cover to cover without putting down. The plot line is interesting and the characters are smart and funny. I love Eve and Roarke and think that any person reading this and looking for a little romance will love them too. If you regularly read the in Death series by J.D. Robb you may have not liked the last couple books, but this book will make you enjoy them once again. I would highly recommend this book to not only regular readers but for any person looking for a little mystery, a little romance, and a lot of fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    JD Robb does it again.

    The In Death series of books always leaves you wanting more and eagerly awaiting the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    another Robb excellence

    I have read many of the books from this author. I am never let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Could happen now--not just the future

    Nora Roberts is always a good read. This one drug on a little long with the same M O. Hard to imaginesome if you are not into gaming. Still--a good twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Another good story in a great series

    This is the 37th story in this series. As expected the character interactions are good. The mystery plotline, one of the classic locked room scenarios, unfortunately was a little predictable. But that could just be because I was looking for the twist. Still a good book and I'm looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Forever Eve

    Pick this book up only if you want to be entertained. Those of us who have been following Eve Dallas from the beginning always eagerly await the next episode. It is such fun to talk with someone else who reads the "in Death" series and sigh over how great it would be to be married to someone like Roarke. The folks at B&N would like 100 words or more on how I liked this book. How do you keep saying the same thing, in a different way, every time you read one of these books?? J.D. Robb/Nora Roberts always delivers a great story, frequently adding an interesting facet to a regular character's personality to keep us coming back for more. You expect to feel like meeting up with old friends but then she slips in a little surprise. Bring it on!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Eve + Roarke = another great read!

    Another great Eve Dallas book! This one is a variation on the classic locked room murder mystery. The twist is that the murder victim was playing a virtual reality game at the time of his death, alone in a locked room. Now it's up to Eve and her team to determine how the crime was committed and the identity of the murderer.

    This is another good book for those familiar with Eve and her team. She gets assistance from her sexy husband Roarke, as well as her partner Peabody. Feeney, McNab, Dr. Mira, Mavis, and the whole gang make appearances, and there's even a cameo by Trina to strike fear into Eve's heart by doing her hair and make-up for a party! *gasp*

    Really enjoyed this book, and am a huge fan of this series! Even though I know that Eve will ultimately solve the crime, the author is still coming up with creative mysteries and original solutions. She also skillfully weaves in the themes of friendship, love, and marriage throughout the book, and I love how much Eve has grown as both a woman and a cop. Highly recommend this whole series! And btw - Roarke is majorly hot! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    JD Robb never fails

    Good to see Eve hasn't lost her style, but it was a tricky read for those of us non-techies. Nice story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    Another good read.

    This was not the best book in her in death series but it is still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    30 and no signs of age!

    I'm a bookseller and when I handsell a JD Robb book to someone who has never read one I feel a pang of envy for the journey they are starting with 30 Books ahead of them. I've been a fan since Naked in Death and eagerly await each new entry, not as much for the who done it but to visit with characters I enjoy spending my time with and who grow with each story. That is what continues to keep this series unique, fresh and totally compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Slow Starter

    I enjoy this series and always look forward to the next one. But, this one seemed to drag in the beginning. The plot did finally begin to "thicken" and I was really into it before the end. I am now anxiously awaiting the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Eve Dallas and computers....well you know that's not gonna work out well!

    J.D. Robb has taken this book to a new and highly entertaining level. As Dallas wrestles with crimes related to the gaming community, she feels out of her comfort zone. But in walks her hunk Rourke to assist. There is a different feel to this book than the others (mostly because the theme of gaming crime is such an interesting concept). I believe this is one of the better novels in the Dallas series and felt like I had picked up the first one again. Refreshing - thank you J.D. Robb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Loyal Fan - Very Good Book

    I have read all of the Death series books and as always I truly enjoyed the book. I love to see what is going to happen next with Eve, Roarke & the gang. This one had a lot of zingers between Eve & Peabody who I always think of as comical. I had a little trouble getting into the whole technology plot but kept up all the same. Since my friends & I share books they are always excited to get a new death series book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    So enjoyed but also a little missing...

    The plot was interesting, the story was well written and had intrigue, sexiness and mystery. I so enjoy the relationship and growth of both Roarke and Eve however I felt that the techno stuff outweighed the use and development of the secondary characters. I missed the overlap of personal life with cop life that has become so intergral in the past couple of years of stories. Although I really enjoyed the story there was something missing. Overall a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Characters in "In Death" Series continue to evolve

    With Fantasy in Death, J.D. Robb continues her long running series featuring Eve Dallas and Roarke. The mystery involving video games and murder among friends is interesting. What I continue to enjoy about these books in the evolution of Eve Dallas as she continues to grow in understanding about love, marriage and friendship. The relationship between Eve and Roarke make this one of my favorite continuing series of books. I can't wait to see what comes next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6