Customer Reviews for

Far Above Rubies

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

If you have read Anne Frank you must read Far Above Rubies

I recently read The Diary of Anne Frank with my 14 year old daughter. Anne's story leaves one with many questions about the horrors of WWII and the Holocaust. There is no better book that complements Anne Frank's story and takes one inside the terrible world of this gen...
I recently read The Diary of Anne Frank with my 14 year old daughter. Anne's story leaves one with many questions about the horrors of WWII and the Holocaust. There is no better book that complements Anne Frank's story and takes one inside the terrible world of this genocide. From a teen-agers perspective Far Above Rubies is the story that brings an appreciation as to just how bad life was for the Jews. Telling your child war is bad simply does not compare to sharing the stories and experiences people went through. Far Above Rubies is much more than a story it is a vivid education. This is a must read!

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

PLEASE correct your editorial copy to read correctly. The exter

PLEASE correct your editorial copy to read correctly. The extermination camps were NOT "Polish extermination camps." They were NAZI or GERMAN camps. Not, not, not Polish. The German Nazis rolled into Poland and committed horrific atrocities. The Poles did ...
PLEASE correct your editorial copy to read correctly. The extermination camps were NOT "Polish extermination camps." They were NAZI or GERMAN camps. Not, not, not Polish. The German Nazis rolled into Poland and committed horrific atrocities. The Poles did not invite them.

posted by 5887226 on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    If you have read Anne Frank you must read Far Above Rubies

    I recently read The Diary of Anne Frank with my 14 year old daughter. Anne's story leaves one with many questions about the horrors of WWII and the Holocaust. There is no better book that complements Anne Frank's story and takes one inside the terrible world of this genocide. From a teen-agers perspective Far Above Rubies is the story that brings an appreciation as to just how bad life was for the Jews. Telling your child war is bad simply does not compare to sharing the stories and experiences people went through. Far Above Rubies is much more than a story it is a vivid education. This is a must read!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Finding a rare book!,

    Far Above Rubies: A Novel is a thin book, but starting in pre-war Holland it tells a powerful story. Imagine you married late in your life to a widower who has six daughters. The heroine in this novel,lovingly called "Tante Soof", overcomes the natural antagonism that her new stepdaughters have for her and she and the daughters form a bond that is almost stronger than with a natural mother. When the joy of an engagement lights up the family they never dream that the next moment everything will change forever for this loving Dutch family.

    In a matter of fact way, Cynthia Polansky details the horror of what it might have been like to live as a Jewish woman in the concentration camps. She spares no horrible scene and brings the reader into the action as if we were looking over her shoulder. Ms. Polansky doesn't dwell on the horrible, but she moves us through the heroine's experiences as she bravely faces each new challenge.

    I've read other books on the Holocaust, but this one made me realize what it might be like for a middle class woman to be tossed into that mess. What would it be like to leave everything you love for the selfless reason this woman does? It is based on a true story and after reading this book I wanted to be able to hug Tante Soof. After you read it, I think you will have the same feeling.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I purchased this book from you (Cynthia) at Carroll Community College and I am so glad I did. I don't know where it is at the moment because I am Jewish and it is being passed around my family right now!!! What a beautiful, inspiring story. I read it in I think 2-3 hours. I couldn't put it down. How amazing was this woman. I thank you for writing something that I could read and really feel. This is something my children will read when they are older...

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    Wow! Totally captivating book!

    My husband brought this book home from a book expo and said you've gotta read this. Little did I know how it would effect me. This story based on the holocaust is chilling, but made me appreciate the true things in life. Currently reading this book to both our children so we can let them know what happend during the holocaust. This book is inspirational and after reading about Tante Soof, it makes you belive you can do anything.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    PLEASE correct your editorial copy to read correctly. The exter

    PLEASE correct your editorial copy to read correctly. The extermination camps were NOT "Polish extermination camps." They were NAZI or GERMAN camps. Not, not, not Polish. The German Nazis rolled into Poland and committed horrific atrocities. The Poles did not invite them.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommened.

    I loved this book. It renewed my faith in what a woman can and would do even when the kids are not biological yours. There are so many challenges they face, but during WWII so did so many people. To be reminded of what evil there was and how we can overcome even the worst of it is a tribute to those who won't give in. As a mother I could feel her agony but marveled at some of the clever ways she managed to outsmart her enemies. I let housework and meals go until I had finished her story. Great writing!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    First 2/3's of book are great.

    I loved the storyline of this book but found the last 1/3 of the story rushed and like the author was just trying to tie up loose ends. There were large jumps through the rest of the main characters life that I would've liked to had more detail on or just had eliminated. The author does a great job of describing the horrors of the concentration camps and the day to day struggles of surviving.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    A woman of true valor

    An incredible woman! I loved this book and will read it over and over. My trials seem trivial after reading this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Touching and heart bteaking

    One woman's unyielding love strength courage and painful struggle to survive along with he five step daughters.
    I could not wait untill i could find time to read this story. The author drew me in as if i was right there observing her life in person. If you enjoy reading and learning about the dark times under Hitlers terror you must read thiswe must never forget the evil that covered Europe under Nazi Germany timr in power.
    We must never forgey lest t happens again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Awesome

    Best book ever!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    I'm a holocaust story junkie, and this is one of the best.

    Beautiful yet painful novel. If you enjoy holocaust novels, or historical fiction in general I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    A must read

    A great detailed true story i would definitly recomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Good Read

    Very Good Book and highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Pretty good

    The story started out really good but the end seemed rushed. All in all it was still a good book and would tell others to read it. It's a great story but the end just didn't do much. More the way it was written then the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Inspirational Story of Survival and Embracing Life

    The best story of a holocaust survivor who not only survived, but defeated the enemies. Living a purposeful life and touching the lives of many Sophie won the greatest victory of all. You will end this story with so many emotions . The strongest emotion was one of hope and life and a feeling of being short changed not knowing Sophie in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Great read

    I truly enjoyed this book. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I am an avid reader of all things Holocaust because I continue

    I am an avid reader of all things Holocaust because I continue to struggle to understand how something so unbelievably tragic happened. This is the first book I have read that shows you how it is possible. It has shown me how I can be a better person.
    The story of Sofie and her step daughters is a beautiful one, despite the horror of the times. I will even go so far as to say it should be read by all mothers and daughters. FAR ABOVE RUBIES does not disapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Wonderful.

    Wonderful full scale telling from multiple views.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    This book is worth reading. Amazing.

    This book is worth reading. Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    May i join?

    Im Ocean. Imma aquamarine colored ice dragon. My eyes are gold and so re my wings. I cant find a place to stay...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2