BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Far Far Away

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This was probably not a book I'd normally read, but with all the

This was probably not a book I'd normally read, but with all the remakes of fairy tales these days in TV and movies, I thought, "Why not try it?" Plus, there was a ghost. It was unlike anything I've ever read, and I'm glad I took a chance on this book.

The ...
This was probably not a book I'd normally read, but with all the remakes of fairy tales these days in TV and movies, I thought, "Why not try it?" Plus, there was a ghost. It was unlike anything I've ever read, and I'm glad I took a chance on this book.

The plot was well-paced and took me in unexpected directions. As with fairy tales, especially Grimm, there were some very dark moments, but it was also a wonderful tale of adventure, fantasy, mystery, a little romance and comedy.

The characters were odd, quirky, imperfect, and hilarious. I laughed out loud more than once and although ambivalent at first, I quickly added Ginger Boultinghouse to my list of favorite characters. She was straightforward, sometimes inappropriate, mischievous, and although misguided at times, attempts to do the right thing. The relationship between Jeremy and Jacob was heartwarming. Jacob came at a time when Jeremy very much needed someone in his life and although a ghost, Jacob acted as both a friend and paternal figure.

This was an entertaining read and I would highly recommend it to 10+ age middle grade and adults who love fairy tales.

This review was based on a digital ARC from the publisher through NetGalley

posted by tpolen on June 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Originally posted on my blog: Tangled Up In Books I received an

Originally posted on my blog: Tangled Up In Books

I received an eBook copy of this book from NetGalley and Knopf Books for Young Readers in exchange for an honest review. I've been struggling all day with what to say here. Much as I struggled to get to the end of this ...
Originally posted on my blog: Tangled Up In Books

I received an eBook copy of this book from NetGalley and Knopf Books for Young Readers in exchange for an honest review. I've been struggling all day with what to say here. Much as I struggled to get to the end of this book. To be completely honest I probably shouldn't have started it. I don't even remember putting in the request and was thrown when I received an approval email. It really isn't my type of book but I figured it was there why not give it a go?

I think my biggest problem was the narration. The book is narrated by none other than Jacob Grimm. Yes one half of the infamous Brothers Grimm. Well, his ghost to be more specific. Sometimes I felt like he was just talking to hear himself speak, like it had absolutely nothing to do with the story. And the frequent bursts of German, yeah that got old fast. I found myself often having to reread things to try to make sense of them.

I didn't care much for a good portion of the other characters who made appearances in the book either. Jeremy Johnson Johnson was...alright, I'm still sort of on the fence about him. He had his moments when he made me smile possibly even laugh but they were too few and far between. On the other hand, for the most part I liked Ginger Boultinghouse. She was mischievous and funny.

It was extremely slow paced. Around 60%-ish it sort of took a turn for the creepy and I was hoping it would pick up, but it just didn't get any better for me. I gave it a shot but it just wasn't the right fit for me. And on that note I really don't feel it's very Middle Grade either. But maybe that's just me.

Thanks to Knopf Books for Young Readers for approving me to read and review this book even though it wasn't right for me. :)

posted by Sheri_B1975 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Coming to this book with the thought that it was a fractured fai

    Coming to this book with the thought that it was a fractured fairy tale,I am happily surprised by the depth and breath of this book. This is not your typical fairy tale, and with the historical and emotional facts presented you will never look at fairy tales the same way again. This is a great read for the older student, who has become disillusioned with the Disney version of fairy tales. There is a surprise within the pages, that draws the readers to emotional changes. The story has a dramatic ending that would have done well for A Brothers Grim fairy tale... a great read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Beautiful. Dark. Captivating. Suspenseful. Enchanting. These ar

    Beautiful. Dark. Captivating. Suspenseful. Enchanting.

    These are just a few words to describe what Tom McNeal has created. 

    I absolutely love hearing and reading fairy tales, so I had to give Far Far Away a chance. It did not disappoint--at all. I loved it from the first sentence, to the last. It completely captures you and you cannot put it down. It will keep you up into the wee hours of the morning until you finish it.

    The suspense and mystery is wonderful and addicting. 
    The darkness and horror is chilling.
    The writing is beautiful. 

    You feel the need to continue reading because you want to get to the end and figure everything out. At the same though, you don't want the book to end. Then it does end, and you're so saddened that it's over, but your also happy and content with the ending you're given. It takes a good writer to be able to do that. 

    Far Far Away is now one of my favorite fairy tales; possibly one of my favorite books. It was a true pleasure to have the chance get lost in it.

    This was originally posted on my Goodreads account. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "A strange and fateful tale of a boy a girl and a ghost&quo

    "A strange and fateful tale of a boy a girl and a ghost" That pretty much sums it up, but it is oh so much more!

    Jeremy just wants to be normal, have friends, live a boring, everyday life. It was bad enough that he could hear a ghost, specifically, the ghost of one of the brothers Grimm. Yes, the fairy tale Grimm. Add to all of that the fact that his father was a recluse, they owned a bookstore with only 2 books, he was the perfect target. Ginger was one of the "cool girls", you know the type, popular, pretty, top of the list. What could she possibly have in common with Jeremy? And how could both of the connect to poor shy Frank Bailey? A complex, funny, dark story fittingly filled with fairy tales!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    EXCEPTIONAL! This is a tale set in the town of Never Better and

    EXCEPTIONAL!
    This is a tale set in the town of Never Better and the catch is that it is entirely real. Despite the narrator being one of the famous Grimm Brothers, this tale is not one from his books. It is one in which he takes part, as a ghost. Jeremy Johnson Johnson, the human boy he is attached to is one of the few people who can hear the ghost speak. And when terrible, terrible things happen to the Jeremy and his friends, it is the ghost who may be the only hope they have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    uMcNeal was able to keep me entertained throughout the entire st

    uMcNeal was able to keep me entertained throughout the entire story of Jeremy Johnson Johnson.  This modern fairytale is mysterious, funny, adventurous, and even a bit romantic. I found myself rooting for each character, and I even bit my nails in fear of the characters' lives. I do not read many fantasy, fairytale books, but I am very happy I pulled this one off the shelf. I loved the way Jacob told the story as a ghost, and I think he did a great job of giving us insights to every character. Jeremy's shy character mixed well with the bold and daring Ginger Boultinghouse, and I love the romantic twist McNeal created between them. The ending was more than perfect; a bittersweet ending to a bittersweet fairytale. This book kept me on the edge of my seat, and it is definitely a new favorite that I plan on reading over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Awesome

    Fantasic read. Wonderful twist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Lilywolf

    (Velvet did you see my necklace post and respond?) Lilywolf watches the three Starclan warriors with grief filling her ice blue eyes. The tabby feels like Wolfheart doesn't even care about the pain she has caused her. Her mother hadn't even said she was happy to see her again. And now Velvetstar is to leave. Trying to be strong and encouraging for the white shecat, Lilywolf calls after her, "Catch a ton of prey up there and keep Snapdragon and Poppydawn in line for me! And don't forget to enjoy the sun and flowers! Don't you worry about us. We love and will miss you. But we'll you later Velvetstar." Though the tabby is trying to sound encouraging, her voice cracks with an occasional sob and tears streak the side of face. The tabby memorizes her best friend's form, determined to never forget her. But that would be impossible anyways. As her best friend disappears into the pool, Lilywolf hangs her head and lets out a mournful cry. She looks at Goldenstripe and desperately wishes they could comfort each other. But she realizes he pribably wants nothing to do with her now. And she doesn't blame him. She'd feel the same. ~ Liiywolf &hearts P.S. Drowning in the feels over here! It's just so sad! Oh Velvet! How Lilywolf will miss you! I can't believe she died! At least I can still talk to you! By the way I posted again at our book. And Goldy, remember Goldenstripe doesn't know the full story yet! Only that Lilywolf knew this would happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Velvetstar to Lily and Goldy

    It's the song! Okay well, I posted in the seventh result, and I had a song attactched to it but it kept deleting it for some reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    The Legend of the Fallen Arrow pt. 1 Jet's P.O.V

    I woke up in a cold sweat everyone in my cabin had all ready left so I jumped off my bunk threw on my hoodie and torn jean making sure the right arm was ripped. I then walked out into the light and headed to the forge to learn to make some weapons. After the attack from the titans a few years ago Chiron had been making all campers learn how to craft weapons. By the time I got there everyone execpt for one person ,A girl my age named Zoe Smith a daughter of Zues. The only other two people I knew were Zack Winters and Xavier. So I walked over to Zoe and said "Hey want to pair up?" "Sure. But there probably arent any others to choose from." She said which as i sat down chuckled to and looked to the front of a forge were a half-blood was standing. "Hi" he started off "my name is Leo an you are all probably wondering 'ugghhhh why do i hve to be here?' Well I honestly dont want you here but i have to teach so everyone get the mold and metal you are going to use." Everyone got to work so me annd Zoe grabbed the mold for a curved sword called a 'Katana' and got the celestial bronze ready "Now class you hve to....... (Sorry it took so long for part one i got grounded so character apps at fus res one next part at next result Peace out bsodh)
    TucKiD c==={}============-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Great b

    Great book! Five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Gray

    Stood on a rock sharpening his claws

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    a very good read!

    I enjoyed it enough that when I was finished I got out my old Grimm's Complete Fairy Tales... It kept me interested and captivated, wondering who the evil person was, what was to happen next, and found very hard to get on with my work until the last page was finished. I would recommend this without qualm to any older kids and adults (like me) who enjoy reading a good tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1