Customer Reviews for

Far Horizons

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it!

I love this book! I usually don't leave reviews, but this book is amazing. The author had managed to get a handful of emotions out of me, tears and laughter. It has clean language, and a well-thought out plot. I recommend this book to those who like adventure yet want a...
I love this book! I usually don't leave reviews, but this book is amazing. The author had managed to get a handful of emotions out of me, tears and laughter. It has clean language, and a well-thought out plot. I recommend this book to those who like adventure yet want a love story tied in.

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

Kept me interested. Sad Barnes and Noble does not have the next book in the series.

posted by LoveNC on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    very good

    Clean language. Enjoyed it alot.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Good read

    Loved the characters and the ups and downs of the plot. Can't complain about the typos too much, free ebook. Wish the dialect had been more suited towards Scottish but again, free ebook, main complaint is towards B&N.....they don't have the 2nd book!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Maria Book provided by contest win at Romance Book H

    Reviewed by Maria
    Book provided by contest win at Romance Book Haven blog
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    This is a gentle historical romance, set back in the early nineteenth century when Scottish settlers were traveling out to Canada in a sort of exodus. Using actual letters written by her ancestors and interweaving fact and a little bit of fiction, Kate Hewitt gives us, in the form of a novel, the story of two related families, the Campbells and the MacDougalls as they make their way from the Isle of Mull in Scotland to the new world, or the new Scotland, in Nova Scotia in Canada.

    This is no saccharine tale. The hardships faced by the settlers were very real indeed. Leaving their roots in the Scottish wilderness and its reassuring familiarity, they moved towards the new world with it’s unknown perils and extreme weather conditions. No doubt, a better life awaited them in many cases, but they had to travel through seas of hardship and peril to get to their promised land. There was also the agony of separation from loved ones. A six week journey overseas, then dependence on occasional sailings to send letters home – letters which would take as long to reach as the voyage did. Sometimes it took up to a year for a letter to reach and be answered. It sounds so very strange in this world of Skype and Facebook. Living as I do in India, I can speak every day to my mother in Dublin if I wish and also to my lovely Indian niece who has recently relocated to Cincinnati, USA for studies.

    As mentioned earlier, this is a gentle love story, from what seems like such a different world to that of today. It’s not a world of panting, gasping love scenes. It’s a world where promises meant something, where your word was your bond. Yes, there is tension and jealousy, but above all, a sense of honor. On the eve of his departure for the new world, young Allan MacDougall asks his sweetheart Harriet Campbell to wait for him and be his bride when he has succeeded in becoming a man of property. She readily agrees, knowing the value of his promise, yet he honorably releases her from the obligation to wait for him on the grounds that he is asking too much. At the same time Allan’s sister Margaret falls in love with Henry Moore, a Boston sea captain whose work takes him back to the USA and the Caribbean. I have to admit that wondering if these couples would succeed in making their dream a reality was the hook which kept me coming back to this book again and again. It’s basically a story of simple, hard working Presbyterian folk, in search of their promised land, a new life, the fulfillment of their dreams.

    A sentimental story, lovingly told. Highly recommended for readers of historical fiction and family sagas and anyone with an interest in Scottish and north American history.

    Favorite Quote:  The sea was calm tonight. Harriet Campbell stared across its flat grey surface and wondered how far The Economy of Aberdeen had traveled in one day. There wasn’t much wind. Perhaps it was still close to shore, nestled among the green curves of the inner Hebrides, waiting for the wind to pick up and take her to the New World, the New Scotland.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Good story, errors galore!

    I really enjoyed the story but, where the hell was the editor?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Well researched light historical fiction

    Easy to read story portrays life in frontier America through the eyes of Irish immigrates as they adjust to changed social status. Enough detail to make the reader feel the emotions of the characters without heavy plodding.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Nice story; Easy read.

    Was pleasantly surprised by this book, and now trying to find the second in the series in the e-book format.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Kate Hewitt

    Before Alan sails for New Scotia with his family, he asks his lady friend to wait for him, he said he will be back for her as soon as possible.
    Earlier he had asked her father for her hand, but he refused until Alan had enough money to support her.
    Alan's father is bull headed and does not give him a chance to have a piece of land of his own land.
    When his girl friend writes to him that she will marry someone else, Alan decides to move a way from home to find his own way.
    When she finds out that her fiancé had been hiding Alan's letter from her, she cancelled the wedding. She sails to New Scotia and when Alan is not home she tries to find a new life for herself. Eventually they meet out West, they decide to return to his family and they get married.
    It is interesting to see how each other's famiiy operate at that time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Good

    Enjoyable read. Some typos, wrong name used. Story line was good, characters were very interesting, and a couple of surprises thrown in for good measure. I would read this author's work again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Good read

    If you like historical fiction romance this is an excellent book. Written well with interesting characters and an unforgetable plot. I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2015

    I enjoyed reading this book. Clean language. Recommend this boo

    I enjoyed reading this book. Clean language. Recommend this book good story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Goldenpaw

    She nodded and stepped forward gingerly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This is a book for dreamers, a book that makes you want to wish for the past and present to all work out right!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Gripping historical fiction

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and will be reading the next two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Enjoyable

    Very Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    good

    This is kind of book I enjoy,so will ypou!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Very good book...I could hardly put it down.

    Very good book...I could hardly put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Love ir

    Very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Heartwarming

    Well written. Entertaining. Felt like I was working through the issues with them, and relieved when life turned our bearable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    I lovedthisstory .I did not want it to end. must read great book

    I lovedthisstory .I did not want it to end. must read great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Even though it is fiction, it is always nice to learn about soci

    Even though it is fiction, it is always nice to learn about society, customs, and way of life in the years when K-Hewitt's stories take place. Well written and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2