Customer Reviews for

Far North

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Cant waight to read this book

    I wont to read badly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Awesome

    adventure book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Chilling adventure

    This was a great adventure. I'd rate it up there with Hatchet for sure. The big difference is these guys had some help, a native from the area. This was a fast read and kept me turning the pages with interest not only how they might make it out alive but what new things the boys would learn. This book is not only about survival but about embracing ones heritage and learning from those that came before us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    Far North: Will Hobbes (carter inabinett)

    This book was defiantly by far the best wilderness survival book i have ever read. it was fantastic! I would probably give this book a nine out of ten because i felt that the ending was kind of random and happened very fast. It was a quick and very easy read. There was a lot if filler sometimes in the book so it got somewhat boring and had to push through it. The action was incredible. i felt like i was in the moment. Each and every moment was described in great detail, but at times too much detail for too long. Other than those few downsides to this book it was fantastic. The characters were very interesting and unique. My favorite character had to have been Johnny Raven because he was very quiet he knew only some English he was very exotic and knew a lot about the wilderness and how to survive. He was a major contribution to the survival and protection to the group. I would most defiantly recommend this book to a friend. I'm going to read will Hobbes' leaving protection next because i loved this book so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    Would never reread it...

    I had to read this in school, maybe without my teacher's squeaky voice reading it, it might have been better... I doubt it. The story dragged on, and on, and on. The characters, they were fairly realistic, but two (what were they? 14?) teenage boys, alone, hungry, cold, and injured at some points, they're not gonna snap? Well, apparently they don't, I'm not saying you shouldn't ever read the book, some parts were good, but, overall, it could have been way better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    Breath taking adventure ..

    ¿Far North¿, written by Will Hobbs, is a story about a boy named Gabe Rogers who is from Texas and decides to visit his father in the Northwest Territories of Canada. Gabe finds life up North very different from Texas but things seem to settle down once he starts school. After a few weeks of a strict routine at school, Gabe's dad hires him a bush plane tour of Northwest Territories. However, Gabe is not the only one riding on the plane. Both Gabe's roommate, Raymond Providence, and an elderly man named Johnny Raven, will be getting a ride to a rural city in the mountains called Nahanni Butte. Because the weather was so nice during the initial plane ride, the pilot decides to take a detour and show everyone the Virginia Falls, a waterfall twice the size of Niagara Falls. Tragedy occurs shortly after their arrival when the plane's engine fails while the plane is 'parked' in the water above the Falls. The three passengers managed to escape however the pilot got trapped inside the plane and lost his life when the plane was thrown over the Falls. With no supplies or ability to contact help, Gabe, Raymond and Johnny have to survive until a search plane comes or until they get to Nahanni Butte themselves. After several weeks of waiting for a search plane, which never arrives, and relying on Johnny's wilderness skills to survive, another tragedy occurs: a fatal heart-attack takes Johnny's life. Now alone and without the help of Johnny, Gabe and Raymond have no choice but to make the long journey to Nahanni Butte themselves. There are three main characters in 'Far North' and each one has their own characteristics and distinctions. Gabe is a high school boy who made the trip from his home in Texas to live with his Dad for a few years. He is very eager to learn about the Northern culture, he is strongly built, and when it comes to taking risks, he is bold and audacious. He also knows how to make other people feel better in bad situations by always staying optimistic. 'It was as bad as we guessed it would be, pulling that toboggan but it could be done. Slow and steady, I kept telling myself, just keep leaning into that pull-rope.' Raymond, on the other hand, is a somewhat skittish boy. He rarely spoke or asked for help unless he absolutely needed too however, he was very resourceful. Raymond was also a guy who always appreciated anything someone did for him. Raymond also had other talents, such as playing hockey and electric guitar. Johnny Raven was an elderly, native man who may have looked gaunt but was actually quite durable. Although he wasn't in the story very long, he played a key role in helping Gabe and Raymond survive alone in the wilderness. Johnny taught them the skills he used to survive a winter alone in the bush. In doing this, Johnny make the two boys realize the importance of the beliefs of their elders. 'When we returned to the cabin just after dark, Johnny wasn't there. 'He's always back before dark', Raymond muttered. We set out on his trail, lit brilliantly by a half-moon reflecting off the snow. We found him no more than a mile from the cabin, pitched forward in an unnatural position in the snow. He was frozen stiff. At first we could only stare, trying to comprehend what had happened. We knew in an instant what this meant for us, and at the same time could hardly begin to imagine the enormity of our loss.' This passage was significant in 'Far North' because it signaled the climax of the story. After the tragic plane crash, both Gabe and Raymond's lives were turned up-side-down. But for Johnny, it was like a dream-come-true. He could live off the land, performing all daily life activities as they were traditionally done and he now had the chance to teach Gabe and Raymond those life skills just like his parents had taught him. Since the boys had someone who knew so much about survival, they took him completely for granted by relying on him for food, shelt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    Very Good book

    It kept me thinking and it was an awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    Not so good

    Just leaves you hanging and very slow does not get the point

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Two boys must work together to survive!

    Do you think winters in America are bad? Try going through a winter in the brutal Canadian Northwest Territories! That¿s what fifteen-year old Gabe Rogers had to do in the book Far North. After attending a boarding school in the Northwest Territories, Gabe, along with his roommate from school and a local of the area, Raymond Providence, are flying back south on a small charter plane. Also accompanying the two boys is Ray¿s Inuit grandfather, Johnny. Ray and Johnny are going back to their village in Mid-Canada, not too far from the Territories. Gabe is going all the way back to his home in Texas. Unfortunately, a plane crash alters those plans. While going off course, they crash into the Territories¿ mountains. Way off course, and without radar and radio contact, in the brutal sub arctic winter that has engulfed the Territories, Gabe, Ray, and Johnny must come together to survive these horrendous conditions. With limited supplies, they must live off of the land. Johnny is able to, but with his limited English and old age, it forces Gabe and Ray to learn to survive on their own. Trapped in a frozen world of moose, bears, and wolves, a world unlike they¿ve ever before seen, two boys from vastly different cultures must come to depend on each other for their very survival. You won¿t be able to put down this fast-paced, heart-stopping thriller by Will Hobbs! Other thriller-adventure books by Hobbs I recommend are Jason¿s Gold and Downriver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    Far North

    I will start off by saying Far North was a good book, but not a great one. What I didn't like about the book was that the plot was basic, and was like any other average book. What I did like was that,although the book would be boring at times, it kept me reading to find out what would hapen in the end. I would recommend this book to people who like books with a good ending or people who like adventurous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    Far North

    I will start off by saying that Far North was a good book, but not a great one.The problem was that the plot was too basic and like every other average book. What I did like was, although the book could be boring at times, it was worth reading on to see what happens in the end. I would recommend this book to people who like books with good endings and people who like adventurous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    Amazing Book

    This is a great book about survival in the frigid Canadian wilderness. It stong characters and lots of action and adventure. Guys and girls both will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    WOW!!!

    WOW this book is so wonderful, action packed, and a thrill. It's a struggle to survive thruogh the harsh wilderness. I think this was one of my mostu favorite books. I read it in school for one of our reading groups along with two other people. We all loved it. So bye it today. I know I will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2001

    a very good book a page turner

    A story based in far Canada. 15year old Gabe goes to Canada to see his father little does Gabe know he will have to fight for survival in a land he knows little about. This book is recomended for readers 10-up you wont be able to put it down !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2001

    Far North, you can't wait to turn the page...

    Far North was a great book! A group of 4 people go sight-seeing in the very large Virginia Falls. They land the plane, but the engines go out. Clint, the pilot, jumps back on to get some bullets for survival. He gets back on only to have the plane snap off the tree it had been tied to and goes down with the falls. Now, it's up to two boys, Gabe and Raymond, and an old native whos name is Johnny Raven, to survive the winter in the Northwest Territory of Canada. I liked this book especially because the three survivors have to improvise on their life styles. They can no longer shop at the local supermarket to get their food, but have to hunt in the wilderness. The only thing in this book that I didn't like, was that at times, it was a little repetative. I would find myself reading the same things over and over. Another thing I noticed was that this book was a lot like the book 'Hatchet.' So, if you have already read that, you can skip 'Far North'. Besides that, I would recommend this book to those of you who love the outdoors, and love 'roughing it.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    Once I started reading it I was hooked.

    I would recommend this book to people who like reading about the wilderness.The book is about a 16 year old boy who gets stranded in the wilderness with others and they have to fend for them selves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2001

    A thrill-pack adventure book

    This is a great book!! I enjoyed every part and wanted to keep readin. I never wanted to put it down!! It is a book about the Canadian outback and a young Texan, gabe. He goes through many adventures and hard tasks to overcome. Gabe and his roommate go through everything together. I LOVED READIN THIS BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2001

    The Best Book of Will Hobes

    This book is probley on of his best books. Gabe go to collage in the NWT. He mets his roomate Raymond who is always to himself. One day Gabe finds out that Raymond is going home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2001

    Far North... a epic adventure in the wilderness

    Far North a great book, the plot and the charters make it come alive. It starts as just a sight seeing trip but ends up to be two boys and an old man trying to survive in the northwestern terrtories of canada. Bears, freezing weather, wolverines, and starvation make ths fight for servival a hard one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2001

    Far north

    Yes, I recamond this book to anyone because anybody could injoy this book. This is a story that could actualy happen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4