Customer Reviews for

Far North

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    The Most Thrilling Adventure Ever

    The book "Far North" by Will Hobbs is one of the most thrilling adventure books out there. It's about an American boy named Gabe who decides to move to the Northwest Territories in Canada to be closer to his father. He's been living with his grandparents for the past few years in Texas and since his dad's line of work requires him to be in extremely rural areas for long periods of time, Gabe doesn't see his father as much as he's like to. When he moves into a boarding school and decides to take a sight-seeing tour with two other passengers his life drastically changes. During the tour the plane taxis into a fast moving river and when they try to lift off the plane doesn't start, when they become within one-hundred feet of a HUGE waterfall they decide to evacuate the plane, everyone survives except the pilot. After being stranded in the wild for a few weeks they decide to travel down river on a raft in hopes of finding civilization. The next few months are about Gabe, and the other two passengers coming together to survive the brutal winter the Northwest Territories are known for. During this adventure everyone learns more about themselves and they become closer to nature. I believe the major message this book is trying to get through is that everyone should respect nature, themselves, and others. I enjoyed this book so much because of the thrilling adventure this average teenage boy goes on in a wilderness so foreign to him and he has to learn from his mistakes to survive. My only dislike of this book is that the author throws in some unrealistic scenarios that make the book seem unrealistic. I think if someone is looking for something to read and they enjoy adventures they should read this book, because it is one of the most engaging adventure books in existence and it keeps the reader interested throughout the book. A few other related books by this author include; "Beardance", "Bearstone", and "The Big Wander". Related books by another author are; "Brian's Winter" and "Hatchet" by Gary Paulsen. My overall rating of this book is 9 out of 10, because it's a great book that really captures the reader and gets them interested in the story, but there are a few events and situations in the book that seem to be there just to add pages to it and make the book seem fantasy like and unrealistic.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Very good book

    The book is a very good book about two boys surviving in Canada. It is sad in one part though.
    I often have a hard time finding a good book, but this book kept me reading it. It has the perfect amount of suspenceful and relaxing parts.

    This book was a very good book, and I highly recomend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Loved this story! Not only a survival story, but learning about

    Loved this story! Not only a survival story, but learning about the way of the Natives as well. Very good read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Good

    Enjoyed reading, very exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Kat

    Cool! I wish I lived waterside!.....Juneau is beautiful, and Fairbanks sucks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Kit kat

    Sure why not?.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Good survival adventure

    Two young boys caught in the Canadian wilderness in wintertime with only an old Indian with little English to help them. Frigid temperatures, starvation, and a grumpy grizzly are only a few of the trials they endure to survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    A good read

    Far North is a good easy read; not a literary masterpiece. It is a nice story about two young men and one's grandfather who get caught in a life threatening test of their survival skills. The reader gains some insight into the characters and their cultures as the day to day fight for survival unfolds. Far North is not a page turner but it does move fast enough to keep your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Good Winter Read

    I enjoyed this book immensely. It sits in my Nook alongside The Snow Child. Both very satisfying winter reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Anonymous

    This was an adventurous story, but at times it did drag on. All in all I would recommend, especially to young boys in their teenage years. The characters are well defined and the description of the scenery is amazing. The cold temperatures, that dip well below freezing might leave you a little breathless, I can't imagine what that type of cold would fill like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Grate

    It is grate i had to read it for school and i am happy i did

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Awesome

    This is the best book that i have ever read. Huge survival story that i love.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Musr read

    I had to read this book fir school in the beginning of th book it was so boring an i didmt like it but when it got to the middle it caught my attention this book i would deffinently read agan:D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Far north is awesome

    We had to do an assignment on this book foe english allids in mrskampsms class thrilling adventure

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Great!!

    Absolutely perfect book. Favorite book ever. Also recommend Leaving Protection also by Will Hobbs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    this was an exciting adventure book

    The main theme of Far North is survival. The main characters, Gabe and Raymond, were roommates at high school. After their plane crashes in a river, they team up with the only other survivor, Johnny. They ended up in the cold with small amounts of food, three bullets, sleeping bags, and a couple tools. This shows how hard it was to survive in Canada with what they had. They had to work together so they could share each other¿s knowledge. For example, Johnny was a native Canadian and helped Gabe and Raymond find places to sleep and where they could get food. They could not have survived without helping each other hunt, set traps to catch animals, and gather wood. Gabe, Raymond, and Johnny needed to have faith to keep going. They discovered that if they didn¿t want to travel anymore because they were tired, then they would starve or freeze to death. This shows they always had to have faith and knew they always had to keep moving. They put their trust in each other that one of them wouldn¿t run away or take everything. For example, they had to trust that a person wouldn¿t take all of the food and resources that they were using. This shows they had to put all of their trust in each other and themselves to be able to survive. I would recommend this book because you don¿t know what is going to happen next and it keeps you guessing. I think I want to read more of Will Hobbs¿ books because this was a good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    NOT GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book draged. It is a small book but yakes forever to read. It goes on and on. This is just depressing i would give zero stars

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Cant waight to read this book

    I wont to read badly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4