BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Far Reaches

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Lightiningkit

    Lightiningkit spotted a vole and she raced past them both and lunged at it...and trapped it in her paws...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    KindleAsh

    He nodded in agreement, purring softly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    Leaves No Cliche Untouched

    Filled with character sterotypes, bad dialogue, ridiculous plot turns, and complete lack of any understanding of the geographical and historical context in which the story is set.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    A great work of literature and war

    As a lover of fine literature, especially set during the World War II era, I have been very taken with Mr. Hickam's 'Josh Thurlow' series. The opening scene of the battle of Tarawa really brings the blood and grit of what that battle must have been like. Then, following Josh and Sister Mary Kathleen to the Forridges (the Far Reaches) is a pleasure. Hickam is going for something more than the standard WWII genre fiction. This is literature told in a most compelling way. Highly recommended. I promise you it will be a page-turner, filled with wisdom you won't soon forget. I know I won't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Great book

    All around great storytelling at it's best. Definitely worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    One of the best books ever

    This is one of the best books to come out of World War II. It is one of the best books to come out of anywhere recently. I am a WW II buff and I have never ever read any fiction about that war as good as this one. I felt like I was in the battle of Tarawa. But Hickam is more than a pedestrian writer of cheap novels about war. This is a novel that engages a reader, grabs you by the throat if you will, so that you really CARE about these people and when things happen to them you feel it viscerally. I can best explain it by suggesting you go to your local book store, pick up the book, and read the end of chapter 51. I felt a chill go down my spine when I finished that chapter because all that Hickam had written had been aimed at that moment. Just remarkably good writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    Best Homer Hickam Novel to Date!

    Couldn't wait to get my copy--then couldn't put it down! Great read, great story, another great book from Homer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Just finished The Far Reaches. It's a great read. Loved all the characters, especially Sister Mary Kathleen. Josh Thurlow is a character who has grown on me. In this novel, he is so real I think Hickam is either channeling him or he's based on a real person. As in all the Thurlow books, Hickam not only writes a page-turner but also teaches a little history. The opening chapters of the battle of Tarawa are absolutely spell-binding. I think I learned what it was really like in that battle and I'm a huge WWII buff. Hickam captures the sand, grit, sweat, and stink of battle like few authors. W.E.B. Griffin seems always a little above the fray. Hickam has Thurlow right in the middle of it. After Tarawa comes the islands of the Far Reaches. I will never forget when I read of Sister's greatest sin. I thought I had it all figured out but Hickam surprised me at the end. Just good writing and a reading pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    A Page Turner!

    If you like a 'stay up all night' book with adventure, romance and memorable characters, this one is for you! Hickam's research and wonderful writing ability to set you smack dab in the middle of any of his stories makes The Far Reaches' opening with Coast Guard Captain Josh Thurlow in that terrible battle on Tarawa in 1943 INTENSE to say the least. Then, his always surprising plot twists keeps the readers turning pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2007

    Helluva read!

    I got this book the day it came out the book cover art just jumped off the shelf at me...very 'Saving Private Ryan' feel. And, the author Homer Hickam really knew how to reel me in and keep me hooked! The lead character Josh Thurlow is a tough as nails guy, and the battle action in the book was gritty and super-realistic. I couldn't put the book down. I bet this will be one of THE big summer reads this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1