BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Far Side of the World

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Now we're talking!

    What can I say, I love Jimmy's music, but the past few albums haven't been what I need in a cd. I had almost given up hope and then I heard Far Side. OH MAN! It was great! I can't stop listening to it. Every song is great. Its one of those cd's you can put in and not have to worry about wanting to skip songs. The concert was awesome too by the way. I can't recomend Far Side enough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Yet!

    Jimmy Buffett just gets better and better. This is one of his most creative and ingenious works in years, from one of the longest lasting artists out there. His appeal is never ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Instanty Classic Buffett Album

    I'm 30 years old and became a Buffett fan in the late 80's listening to Songs You Know By Heart in college. Then I bought Jimmy's box set Bars, Boats, Beaches and Ballads and was really hooked. Fruitcakes solidified for me that Buffett was one of a kind artist. With extremely limited airplay, no MTV videos, and hardly any mass market advertising here is someone who has thrived on the fringes of the music industry for over three decades. Today's young anti-establishment musicians could learn a lot from Jimmy. With his subsequent albums I was hoping for the lightening in a bottle I experienced with Fruitcakes. I was a little disappointed that the albums, as wholes, did not stand up to Fruitcakes. Don't get me wrong, a mediocre Buffett album is much better than most top-ten albums released today. I still play Banana Wind and Barometer Soup and Beach Houses on the Moon and Don't Stop the Carnival, but I'll skip to certain songs that really speak to me. I still see Jimmy every Summer when he visits the Philadelphia area and I have my tickets for June 27th of this year. (By the way, Rush, Dave Matthews, The Who, Alanis Morrissette, Blink 182 & Greenday, and the Vans Warped Tour are all playing the same arena as Jimmy, but none of those bands are sold out. Jimmy sold out the first day.) Then along comes Far Side of the World and, to me, sets a new standard! This is the first Buffett album since Fruitcakes in which every song is completely solid. It has found a permanent home in the cd changer in my truck. If you want to hear a truly great artist speak to you just put this disk in your player and get lost in the music. I plan on wasting away many sunny afternoons listening to ''Blue Guitar'', ''Some Day I Will'', ''Far Side of the World'', ''Savannah, Fare You Well'', and ''Tonight I Just Need My Guitar.''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buffett is the last man standing!

    Yet another magical medley of Margaritaville melodies and beautiful Buffett ballads! Even the newest Parrot Head will love this journey to the far side of the world. Jimmy has proven yet again that he a master songwriter and musician.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't stop listening!

    Been waiting a while for this one. Now I have it and can't stop listening. Contains some sure to be classic Buffett tunes. ''Tonight I Just Need My Guitar'', ''Altered Boy'', ''Savannah Fare You Well'' and ''What If The Hokey-Pokey Is All It Really Is About?'' are my favorites! Thanks once again Jimmy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tales From Port Aransas

    Wow! I can't remember the last Buffett album/cd that blew me away the first time like Far Side. There are some incredible new tunes to cherish and undoubtedly many new memories to be had. Parrotheads...we've got new sing-a-long material. Jimmy keeps updating the soundtrack of my life. Bring on Summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    JB Spins Us Another Fine One!

    Love the guitar work on this CD. His ability to take us away to another place in mind keeps his flock of Parrottheads wanting more. And he delivers quite well! Ballads and fun tunes are reminescent of Barometer Soup (just one of my all time favorites).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    buffet at his best

    the return of real buffet for all the parrothead fans.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1