Customer Reviews for

The Far Side of the World

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    One of the best volumes in this series!

    Really liked this installment of the series. Lots of adventure and plot twists-hard to put down. This is the book (sort of)that the movie of the same name was based on, but there were few similarities other than the most general plot line. Having seen the movie will not provide many,if any, spoilers for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    All Time Favotite Series!

    There is so much in this series - make sure you start at the beginning with Master & Commander.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    well read; rousing, rollicking, tale

    This adventure, the ninth in the series, is a rollicking tale of sail and sea, by the late Patrick O'Brian; read by Mr. Piggott-Smith; Ronald Merrick of Jewel in the Crown, and features a fine reading. Mr. Piggott-Smith's rousing rendition with various voices show his abilities as an actor. The story isn't bad either. Also recommended Master and Commander and The Commodore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    A well read ripping adventure of sea, ships, and men.

    This abridged audio version of The Far Side Of The World, from the rousing Aubrey-Maturin series of books, by the late Patrick O'Brian, features a ripping adventure of ships and sea. Mr. Tim Piggott-Smith (best known for portraying that right b-----d Ronald Merrick, in the Jewel In The Crown, and well played was that role too, by Mr. Piggott-Smith, gives a wonderful reading, employing his many talents as an actor, with the various voices (including an American? one) to bring the adventure to life. The story surrounds the adventures of Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin on the Surprise, one of her majesty's ships. Beyond that, you'll have to listen, sorry. I also recommend The Commodore and Master and Commander (not necessarily the 'Crowe' version). I might caution the listener/reader to pick up a copy of 'A Sea Of Words' in the latest addition, as the nautical terms might throw one for a 'loop', as they are almost a language in themselves. It doesn't diminish this fine seafaring adventure. For all of us 'landlubbers' who fancy themselves (in our minds) seamen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2006

    Sea story for those who already hold its genre dear

    Jack Aubrey, captain of HMS Surprise, sets off to intercept an American vessel that's been assigned to harass British shipping and whaling in the Pacific. From the viewpoint of an Englishman in Nelson's time, he's literally been sent to the far side of the world. There are 20 novels about Captain Aubrey and his close friend, ship's surgeon Stephen Maturin. Despite my long-standing affection for this genre (C.S. Forester and Alexander Kent are old friends), I've frankly avoided the Aubrey-Maturin series because I didn't want to find myself chasing down all of its volumes. I picked this book up remaindered, after seeing the recent film. My reaction to O'Brian's original tale won't be colored here (I hope) by my enjoyment of the movie, because the two stories simply are not one and the same. This novel wouldn't have made an audience-pleasing screenplay without drastic changes, and I can only applaud the film's writers for the transformation they worked. But, with that said... THE FAR SIDE OF THE WORLD is a sea story for those who already hold its genre dear. More time than I as a newcomer to the series needed was spent 'catching up' on the characters' past lives, but I could see why O'Brian thought it necessary to offer the information. The book's pace is leisurely, and the author seems far more interested in characterization and historical detail than in rousing action sequences. This works beautifully as far as it goes - I read immersed in the time and place, and I came to know Jack Aubrey quite well in the relatively brief space of this one book. Yet when I came to the ending, and witnessed what could have been a visceral conflict from a bystander's viewpoint - and had to put up with being told what had just happened, instead of being allowed to see and feel it with one of the participants - I closed the book feeling let down. No, I'm not hooked on this series as a result of having read THE FAR SIDE OF THE WORLD. But neither am I so disappointed that I won't be willing to sample it again, if a similar opportunity presents itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    This is one of the greatest books I have ever read

    I love this book. I think that is the reason why it taking me a very long time to read it. I am suprise that my favorite scene from the movie appears in the third chapter. I expected it to be much later than that. Here is something else that surprises me. There are women board the ship in the book, but not in the movie. That is so weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    RUSSELL CROWE as Jack

    I haven't read the book.. I can't find it anywhere but here,,, but I have to wait awhile.. But I hope mates my man can fufill the book as you guys have read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    movie tie-in

    some of you may be coming here hearing about the new movie version of o'brien's books that stars russell crowe and is directed by peter weir. this book only provides the broad background for the plot of the movie. if you really want to learn about jack aubrey, read the first in the series, master and commander, and the second, post-capitan. those tell you everything you need to know about these two fascinating characters. this one doesn't. once you make it here, you'll love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2000

    New suprises for Aubrey - Maturin fans

    Obviously, if you are looking at this book, you have made it through the first nine books of the Aubrey - Maturin series by Patrick O'Brian. If you are like me, you are hooked. This book, 'The Far Side of the World' has some new twists. It takes you to new areas of the ocean and you will have the opportunity to learn about the whale trade as it was in those days. The book does leave you hanging just a bit at the end, I suggest having book eleven ready to read immediatelly after you are done with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1