Customer Reviews for

Far from Gringo Land

Average Rating 5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    War torn

    I just got an inspiration

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Alec

    Ok gtg bbl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Muse

    Name: Muse • Looks: dark briwn hair pixie cut hair or layered straight that comes to the top of her chest (depending on what shes feeling), green eyes like a plant, 5"6, and pale • Age: somewhere between 14-24. I dont really remember • Species: Soulspirits are half dead and half alive. So a natural born ghost for most people, but I died and dont exactly know my past so yeah..... • Powers: if its explainable by science, I can do it by magic, so yeah.... In a way, Im a witch • Usually wears: a black sweatshirt with a hoodie, black skinny jeans, and dark gray vans • Pets: a vegetarian phoenix named Azul, but hes not usually around. • Personality: depends on who Im with, but usually very kind and bubbly and weird. Extremely artistic. • Other: im a vegetarian. Dont give me meat. Ever. Ive never tasted meat. Not once. But ask away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Raksha and Co.

    Name-Raksha Age-It depends Gender-Male Species-Rakshasa(Yes my name is very close so what.) Personality-Depends on who I'm with. Looks-Real Form-Human body but has a tiger head, tail, and is covered in tiger fur and whatever I was wearing in human form. Human Form-Blondish-white hair, Amber eyes. Facts:Old home was in the Rakshasa Realm. I was kicked out because of things I shall not mention. Friends:The annoying Chimera that never stop bickering with itself.
    <p> Name: Rave, Shift, & Lore. Age:Who knows Species:Chimera Personality:Yet to be discovered. Gender:All males. Looks:Rave:The Lion part of the Chimera, He always starts the fights among themselves. Shift:Is the Goat part of the Chimera, He is more of the peace maker. Lore:Is the dragon part of the Chimera, he really doesn't care for either of his companions attached to him. All in all looks-Three heads(Goat,Lion,Dragon) Dragon wings and tail, Front half is Lion and back half is Goat. Its Dragon head is White, therefore it expels blistering hail. Facts:Thet hate eachother. Friends:Raksha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Rainbow Dash's and Fluttershy's bio

    NAME Rainbow "Danger" Dash!<br>
    NICKNAMES Rainbow, Dash, Dashie, RD<br>
    AGE 17 years
    GENDER Really? Is it really not that obvious?<br>
    DESC cyan blue skin, long messy rainbow hair w/ long part coming off the bottom posing as a tail, pony ears instead of regular ones, cyan blue wings, magenta eyes<br>
    CLOTHS blue button down shirt open over a white t-shirt with tri colored lightning bolt coming out of a cloud on it, black leggings that stop and inch above her knees, a magenta and white skirt that stops an inch and a half above her knees, a tri colored bracelet on ear wrist, blue sneaker boots<br>
    PERS loyal, brave, fierce, fearless, prankster, funny, brags alot, awesome<br>
    LIKES pranks, flying, MLP: FiM, sports<br>
    DISLIKES eggheads, smartypants, school, being injured<br>
    STATUS single<br>
    OTHER not much...<br>
    <p>
    NAME Um... Fluttershy...<br>
    NICKNAME not sure...<br>
    AGE 18 years<br>
    GENDER I'm- *mouth is blocked by Rainbow Dash.* They know, Fluttershy!<br>
    DESC pale yellow skin, long light pink wavy hair with long part at the bottom posing as a tail, pony ears, pale yellow wings, turquoise eyes<br>
    CLOTHS white tank top, green skirt with three butterflies on it, green earthy boots<br>
    PERS very shy around people, very kind, can be fierce when needed, is a little assertive, soft-spoken<br>
    LIKES animals, nature, MLP: FiM<br>
    DISLIKES meanies, adult dragons<br>
    STATUS single<br>
    OTHER Well, I'm really good with animals...<br>
    <p>
    That's all for now, stalkers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Jason

    Age:23------height:5'11-----name: your iq is 0-----species:dracon,a species that is a cross between a vampire and a shapeshifter-------powers:telaport,super speed and strength,shapeshift,and super jump.-------weapons:all of them :3--------background:thats personal------satus:single but looking------appearence:a black leather jacket with fingerless gloves denim jeans and a pair of blue and black nikes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Gabby's bio

    Name: *facepalm.* It's Gallifrey Skyfall Rossetine Weems. But you can call me Gabby! <br>
    Gender: Well, I'm a girl, obviously. <br>
    Age: 1,000. I have never aged since I was 17. <br>
    Appearance: I am tall, lean, and lanky with long, very dark brownish-reddish hair and red eyes. My bangs cover my forehead because I have a flashdrive socket in my forehead used to monitor my kin. <br>
    History: As a teenager, Gallifrey fell off the roof of a house fixing the shingles for her mom. She was suffering from a brain injury and the only option was to give some of her life to something healthier. They created a lonely, peaceful planet called Gallifrey to protect her. Settlers soon came into Gallifrey, the Timelords. She monitors the planet and tried to help them when the Timelord vs. Dalek war. Her planet was soon destroyed and she has been trying to fix it ever since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Link

    Age: 16/ height: 5'4"/ weight: 90 pounds/ gender: female appearance: a girl with shoulder length dirty blond hair, sea blue eyes, pointed ears and a bright smile. She wears a green tunic, white pants, a pair of brown boots, a brown belt, a belt pouch and a green pointed cap./ personnality: generally a kind and brave person. She thinks of others before herself. Even though she will kill evil beasts, she mourns every death./ weapons: a simple sword, double edged with a worn leather grip, a shield, with blue, red and yellow designs on it, both hanging on her back, and several other weapons in her belt pouch./ likes: friends, food, peace, food adventure, food/ hates: mindless killing, people calling her a tomboy or even going as far as calling her a man, bullies and cowards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    MAY'S BIO

    Name// Maya Chee.<p> Gender// Okay, how many guys do you know named May? Really. <p> Age//16. Race//Human. <p> Looks// Has an oriental complexion (for those of you who don't understand, that means she's asian -_-). Short black hair. Grey eyes. About 5 foot.<p> Wears// A cerulean wizard's cape with a white tank top underneath. Black capris. <p> Personality// Shy, Naive, loves solitude. But sweet and caring. Hates to see someone ignored or bullied.<p> Past: Is an apprentice wizard to a great terramancer from her home planet. Was sent here as a sort of "envoy" to survey the place.<p> Powers: Basic Magic, fuled by Mana, which she draws from her surroundings whilst meditating. Is so-so at Earth magic, but is otherwise still learning her elemental magic.<p> Weapons// Her wizard's staff, a wooden pole with a hunk of diamond at the top. A shot dagger. <p> Relationship//single. <p> Crush// WAY too shy to tell anyone. <p> Theme song// "Simple and Clean" ((Credits song of many Kingdom Hearts games)).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Leema's Bio

    Name: Leema Silversyn&#9788<br>
    Gender: &female. Right. Not obvious at all.&#9788<br>
    Appearance: 5'3 girl with gray cat ears, a tail, and whiskers. Has paws for hands, but she still has fingers. Long, straight reddish brown hair. Blue silver flecked eyes.&#9788<br>
    Clothes: wears a pink tank top with a casual white sweatshirt. A miniskirt and knee high lace up gray boots. She wears a silver chain necklace with a tiny silver and aquamarine cat charm.&#9788<br>
    Friends: Link, Kaze&#9788<br>
    BF: Kaze&#9788<br>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Pierce

    Name:Pierce or Shade

    Age:13

    Personality:shy

    Clothes:a white sweatbeater. A leather jacket. Reboks. Skinny jeans.

    Species:were kajjit

    Weapons:twin hatchets. Twin swords. Blow dart gun. Belt of throwing daggers

    HE IS FROM SEWOA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Searie

    Name:searie
    Type of thing:animate smartphone
    Personality:a sarcastic know it all
    Pet peeves:when people put her is sleep mode without her consent
    Appearance:a purple pgone case that can be cganged her eyes and mouth r located on her home screen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Draco

    Name: draco. Use to be zero. Crush: i not telling. Appearence: red hair, thin, pale skin. Spieces: unknown. Powers: unknown. Weapons: two swords

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Anastasia Journi

    Name: Anastasia Excalibur Journi. <br>
    Appearance: She is short, and very, very pale. She has dark brown-black hair with blue highlights, and wears a white jumpsuit. Her face is tatooed with a blue mystic looking symbol on her forehead, and lines around her eyes and mouth. <br>
    Personality Traits: Kind, but untrusting. Seems sad. Will do anything for a better life for her people. <br>
    Background: Anastasia is a part of a mysterious race known only as "the wanderers" or "the outlanders" which is a bit ironic given that her people were already there when humanity colonized the planet. A few mean people call them "The Untrusted." Her people's origen is unclear, but they are considered to be second class citizens by most of the rest of Sewoa, and not much can be done to change that. But she still holds her head high. As for herself, she was raised in a small villiage of Wanderers and came to Balinsworth at thirteen. She is fifteen now. <br>
    Other: She is hardly skilled at all with most weapons, except the quarterstaff that she carries with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by hoopsielv for TeensReadToo.com

    Rick jumps at the opportunity to spend his seventeenth summer in a Mexican barrio. He'll be able to improve his Spanish, live with family friends, and help them build a real house on their property. He's confident that he will learn a lot about life in a completely different culture.

    He learns quickly that the Romeros are a struggling family who put their guest as their priority even if it means they go without. He doesn't even mind being called a "gringo" by the locals.

    The construction project quickly turns out to be the hardest thing Rick has ever done in more ways than one. Physically, he's never been so tired and sore in his life. The family has invested all their time and money to create a home and it seems like they are running out of both. Will they be able to finish it before the rainy season?

    Rick spends what little free time he has with Ellen, an American who is vacationing at her father's elaborate home. It seems worlds away from the barrio. They meet secretly for a while, and once Rick introduces her to his new "family", the cultural and social differences seem like an elephant in the room. Can they get past these to truly get to know each other?

    This was a wonderful book. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1