Customer Reviews for

Pretend You Love Me

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

'Far From Xanudu' Rules

Far from Xanudu is a one sided love story that is narrated by a girl named Mike, who lives in a small Kansas town. She is struggling to understand her sexuality (she knows she's lesbian, but refuses to admit it to anyone with the exception of her gay cheerleader friend,...
Far from Xanudu is a one sided love story that is narrated by a girl named Mike, who lives in a small Kansas town. She is struggling to understand her sexuality (she knows she's lesbian, but refuses to admit it to anyone with the exception of her gay cheerleader friend, Jamie), when a new girl comes to her school. Her name is Xanudu, and Mike falls head over heels in love. The problem is, the feeling isn't mutual. She slowly becomes more and more obsessed with Xanudu, who is going out with the local southern good boy, Bailey, until finally, she feels she can not live without her. All of this and the fact that it's the two year anniversary of her father's suicide, makes Peters' book an amazing read and overall, a very sad love story with a bittersweet ending. Far From Xanudu is one Of Peters's best works, and I would recomend it to anyone, of any age, who has ever wanted soemone that was just out of their reach.

posted by Anonymous on December 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I was really disappointed by this book. It's a total rip off of

I was really disappointed by this book. It's a total rip off of What's Eating Gilbert Grape? Other than the fact that the main character Mike is having an identity crisis, there's nothing special or remotely interesting about the book. Certain parts are long, drawn out ...
I was really disappointed by this book. It's a total rip off of What's Eating Gilbert Grape? Other than the fact that the main character Mike is having an identity crisis, there's nothing special or remotely interesting about the book. Certain parts are long, drawn out and plain boring. I felt the same way about Peters' other book Keeping You A Secret. This is the last Julie Anne Peters book I will ever read!

posted by LovelyDreamer08 on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    'Far From Xanudu' Rules

    Far from Xanudu is a one sided love story that is narrated by a girl named Mike, who lives in a small Kansas town. She is struggling to understand her sexuality (she knows she's lesbian, but refuses to admit it to anyone with the exception of her gay cheerleader friend, Jamie), when a new girl comes to her school. Her name is Xanudu, and Mike falls head over heels in love. The problem is, the feeling isn't mutual. She slowly becomes more and more obsessed with Xanudu, who is going out with the local southern good boy, Bailey, until finally, she feels she can not live without her. All of this and the fact that it's the two year anniversary of her father's suicide, makes Peters' book an amazing read and overall, a very sad love story with a bittersweet ending. Far From Xanudu is one Of Peters's best works, and I would recomend it to anyone, of any age, who has ever wanted soemone that was just out of their reach.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Hi

    Does mike get her love at the end? Sorry just curious. I am not allowed to read the book cause Mom said i cannot read it. But i just have to know or else my head will explode.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    I was really disappointed by this book. It's a total rip off of

    I was really disappointed by this book. It's a total rip off of What's Eating Gilbert Grape? Other than the fact that the main character Mike is having an identity crisis, there's nothing special or remotely interesting about the book. Certain parts are long, drawn out and plain boring. I felt the same way about Peters' other book Keeping You A Secret. This is the last Julie Anne Peters book I will ever read!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Beautiful

    You always root for Mike to get what she wants throughout the book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Awesome

    Im so happy that thy have books that can help teens and children understand themselves.... it makes.me feel safer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2015

    Miss understood

    I give advice to gay, lesbian, and bi people... any questions can be asked on "keeping you a secret" res 1 m-kay? Call me




    miss understood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    It was pretty good and it actually touch base with real life sit

    It was pretty good and it actually touch base with real life situations and problems. Although, I kind of wish it would had ended differently because the way it ended you would think there is a sequel. Other then that, the book is terrific and you could connect with it and feel the raw emotions the main character, Mike, is feeling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Ramirez.chels11@gmail.com

    First name:Chelsea
    Last name:Ruiz

    Plz add me!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    duffclan5@aol.com

    Add me

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    starchick98@gmail.com

    Add me plz

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Been there

    I've been there before but i like guy not girl because i'm girl. And lets say he thinking about changing his homeroom and never want to talk to me ever again.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    This is the exact same book

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the exact same book as pretend u love me!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Amazing!

    I could read this over ane over agin!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Exciting!!!

    This book was my first Julie Ann Peters book, and I absolutely loved it. I read it three years ago, and it truly helped me figure out who I was by relating to the characters in the book. A great coming of age book, detailed, and compassionate. Xanadu is a handful, yet Mike plunges right in, in hopes of finding true love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Wow

    Love ot







    Love this book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    <3

    This book is the ruissue of Far From Xanadu.... So i highly recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    .....

    Is this not "Far from Xanadu" with a new name?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    love!

    I cant even describe how great it is to have young lesbian novels out. I enjoy reading books and to have books that appeal to my lifestyle is amazing. i wish there was more like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    amazing book

    this is one of my favorie books ever. i couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I had my doubts

    At first i wasnt sure if i wanted to read this book. From the title i was pretty sure how it was going to end. But i decided to anyways. I instantly got addicted it was such a good book. Not the best by Julie Anne Peters but still good. I recommend this to all. Its a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4