Customer Reviews for

A Faraway Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    I love this book

    I am a 10 year old girl and i love this book. I hate reading but i have never put this book down this is the best book ever

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Excellent book

    This was the first book I borrowed from the library to read on my Nookcolor. Since the book was written for children 9-14, it was easy to read. The story is about Jewish children rescued by Swedish families from Hitler's Germany. It's the first of a four book series to be translated into English.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    The best book ever

    I read this book and it totally blew my socks off! It was also sad and happy at some moments

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    s

    Amazing book!!! (short summary) This book is about two young girls plucked out of their hometown to move in with realitives in Sweden. Stephie (the oldest) is starting to sink into her new lifestyle with Aunt, while her little sister Nelly gets along perfeclty. :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Pretty good book

    I am an advanced reader so this book eas a little easy but it was really good and i recommend for kids 9 and up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    OUTSTANDING

    This is one of the best books I have ever read!!!! I could not put it down. It is so interesting and feels so real. It feels like you are in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Great book! Transcends age

    As a grown up, I enjoyed this book. Stephie is no goody-two shoes. She knows the right thing, but sometimes can't stop herself from making bad decisions. I'm passing this on to my 12 year old. I'm sure she'll love it, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!!

    This book deserves a round of applause, because it was so amazing!!! I didn't want to read it a first but my teacher made me for book clubs, and I totaly fell in love! I'm now reccomending this book to all of my friends to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Cloud

    Lands the jet

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Awsome book

    This book is awsome some of u probably have a nook and dont know what book to get and this ones good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Pretty Good

    I liked this book okay it was kind of sad though beacause one sister got a good life and the other gets a sad one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    enertaining

    well the story was very entertaining. I felt that a bit was lost in translation in a way thoough. I don't like that we are forced to call the main character Stephie, it just seemed out of place, though some shortened names are easy to take in like Tory or Beth, I didn't find Stephie easy to take in. Also the book seemes to be caught between 1st and second person.
    with that said this was a really good book. The War is kept across the water and Stephenie is faced with challenges that all girls can relate to no matter what their religion. As person who has been treated bad because of my beleifes I can understand why she gets mad at the other girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1