Customer Reviews for

A Farewell to Arms

Average Rating 4
( 349 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Must

Hemingway's "A Farewell To Arms" is an absolute necessity in order to understand the time in which it takes place. The dichotomy between love and war is an idea explored in depth in the novel. The novel paints a picture of war as pointless, confused, and without victor....
Hemingway's "A Farewell To Arms" is an absolute necessity in order to understand the time in which it takes place. The dichotomy between love and war is an idea explored in depth in the novel. The novel paints a picture of war as pointless, confused, and without victor. Though it lacks an uplifting ending to say the least, this piece of literature is one that deserves a permanent spot on your bookshelf.

posted by Etienne on March 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not Very Interesting

When reading a book, I go into it with an open mind; I did this for A Farwell to Arms also. Most people who don't like this book complain about Hemingway's writing style--I had no problem with it, as his journalistic writing style was easy for me to read. My problem w...
When reading a book, I go into it with an open mind; I did this for A Farwell to Arms also. Most people who don't like this book complain about Hemingway's writing style--I had no problem with it, as his journalistic writing style was easy for me to read. My problem with the book was that the story wasn't very interesting. I did not want to keep reading it after I reached the end of a chapter or a book. The story has many holes in it and leaves too many questions unanswered and stones unturned. The ending is as annoying as saying that it was all a dream. Anyway, I still will read Hemingway; but I will not revisit this book.

posted by bluejay11 on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Very Interesting

    When reading a book, I go into it with an open mind; I did this for A Farwell to Arms also. Most people who don't like this book complain about Hemingway's writing style--I had no problem with it, as his journalistic writing style was easy for me to read. My problem with the book was that the story wasn't very interesting. I did not want to keep reading it after I reached the end of a chapter or a book. The story has many holes in it and leaves too many questions unanswered and stones unturned. The ending is as annoying as saying that it was all a dream. Anyway, I still will read Hemingway; but I will not revisit this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    In one ear and out the other.

    I found this book to be somewhat static. There didn't seem to be any part of the book that grabbed my attention especially, and I felt dissapointed at the end not because of the ending but because the story could've have been written in a much more interesting way. This book to me had no suspense or excitement.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2000

    A Great Book -- To Use As a Doorstop

    In A Farewell to Arms, Hemingway seems to reveal his macho side for a short period of time compared to his other novels. Then, once Catherine comes in, he becomes too romantic. I don't mind romance novels, but the conversations that Fredric and Catherine have bring the bile from the back of my neck. It is almost a disgusting experience to read the book and I am ashamed to admit that I have read it. This one book turned me off to all Hemingway books I've read afterward. I give it 2 thumbs down.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    Just a Story of Fake Love

    A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway, was, according to my honors english teacher, supposed to be one of the "greatest books you'll read in high school". Honestly, I found this to be one of the worst. It just kept going on about how Catherine doesn't really love him and how this is all for sex. I understand that this was an important overall value to the book, but I didn't like reading every other page of a book that was suppposed to be about war, it having them having sex in a park, or having sex in a hospital bed. This book was very vulgar, with poor grammar (supposedly a technique known as polysyndeton, but I think Hemingway just liked acting like an illiterate), and was very disappointing to the reader looking for a book about WWI

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    if i were a monkey, i would throw this

    While A Farewell to Arms had many symbolic aspects, it contained far too many boring conversations and practically irrelevant details for me to truly enjoy reading it. Tenente would often begin thinking about the rain(which, in this novel, represents rebirth) which plays a large part in the story. However, just after his thinking escapade, he would begin telling details on the war, and how it was going for nearly every country, and this really bored me.I hardly think I really needed to know every time the Austrians fired their weapons. As for the conversations, they were hardly ever interesting. The dull, boring characters would bring up cities that you don't really care about, and then they would go off and intoxicate themselves. Alcohol was a symbol for dealing with pain of many kinds, but i dont admire any character who is a heavy drinker. And speaking of characters, Catherine was indubitably a bizarre woman. She would spit out random comments like "I feel like a whore" or "I want to BE you, darling". She creeped me out, to be honest. All characters except Rinaldi lacked spontaneity(most of the time) and iconic flair. The ending disappointed me because of the abruptness, however it was intriguing. If rain meant rebirth of this book, I would appreciate a drought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    Uninspiring Read

    Usually I can characterize the books I read with adjectives like... exciting, compelling, interesting, enlightening, etc. However, I cannot use any of these adjectives to describe A Farewell To Arms. Several months ago I decided to pick up a few literature 'classics' to try to broaden my reading experiences. So far I have been very disappointed. The only exception is listed below. But I have not given up quite yet.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    Ernest! Dude ! WHAT WERE YOU THINKING!?

    I will say it one more time ernest! What were you thinking!? This was an awful novel...I know I shouldn't trash a classic I should know better than that. I do admire the rich language that was used in this classic but I felt any such kind of remorse for the main character at the end. If you meant this classic to be a romantic tragedy your mission was not completed. Not even close. I don't mean to offend anyone in anyway but I feel this is needed to be said. This disappointed me Ernest. You may thinking I'm pretty blind and stupid because of my young age. This is it for now.... I will be reading your other novels Ernest. I'll be watching you! =) hehe

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    A Farewell to Arms, Not My Cup Of Tea.

    "A Farewell to Arms" was not the most interesting and likeable book that I have read. Part of the reason for my thoughts upon this novel is the way Hemingway writes. He does not express his thoughts in detail. While I was reading, it was as if parts of the picture were missing. Such as the parts about the love between Fredrick and Catherine were severely unclear. Hemingway made the story line basic-boy meets girl- Catherine and Fredrick's relationship was based solely on war, making it completely uninteresting. The ending did not fit the book. Even though the ending could potentially be a real situation, all it did was make the novel even more depressing than it was. Hemingway needs some fluff and flavor in his writing style so it is better detailed therefore making it better understood. "A Farewell to Arms" clearly was not my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    A Farewell to Arms

    A farewell to Arms was a story that bored me. Hemingway's style of writing was not very descriptive, I'm not the kind of reader that enjoys page long scenery descriptions but I felt this story could have used more detail. I found the book to be dry. I didn't feel what Hemingway wanted the reader to. I couldn't picture where the character was. Hemingway's lack of description left me a bit confused in parts of this book. Although the story carries a strong message. I believe Hemingway could have made more of an impact if he would have put the reader in the shoes of his character, Frederic Henry. Henry was cold and at the end very desperate. Frederic Henry felt a strong hatred towards the romanticized vision of war. I believe it is wrong to romanticize war but i didn't feel the hatred he felt towards it. the dryness with which this book was written stopped me from committing myself to the story. the lack of description compliments the lack of interest for this story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    A Farewell To Arms by a mister Ernest Hemingway

    I wouldn't consider Ernest Hemingways A Farewell to Arms to be one of the most interesting of novels out there. As far as WWI goes there wasn't all too much going on, the plot seemed a bit weak. For the most part it's a gloomy tale of dull settings, death, depression, and a sad approach at a love story. The author should have put forth some extra effort with this one to be quite honest. The only thing that could be considered a compliment to Ernest Hemingway would be his writing style. The text is straight to the point, there's no map and key needed to break code and unlock the essential view being made. From chapter to chapter Henry goes to various sites as an ambulance driver, meets Catherine and they begin an awkward love affair. After being injured and then cured, Henrey runs away from the war with his "love". In the end Fredrick Henry loses Catherine and the child they were waiting upon. There is clearly not much hope or positive energy about this book. Perhaps one may believe it's only this way to portray the true pain of war, but in an effort to captivate the young mind, it was in my opinion, a clear shot at failure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    A Farewell to Arms: Good, but not my pot of tea.

    My opinion on the text, "A Farewell to Arms" is neither "I liked it," nor is it, "I did not like it". There are many things that I did like about this book, but there are many that I did not like. For example, something I liked was how subtle with description Hemingway wrote. Many authors will bore you with long, unimportant, overly descriptive sentences. Hemingway got to the point without you falling asleep or being completely lost. Another thing i liked was how the book was very realistic. The situation of Fredrick and Catherine's love and the issues and events that go along with that are all something that could have (and probably did at some point) happen. Something I did not like was the ending. Although he ending was very realistic, I do not like reading about morbid things such as that. I think that they could have gotten the message through in a more happier tone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    "A Farewell to Arms" is a novel concerning struggles of love and war.

    "A Farewell to Arms" is a novel concerning struggles of love and war. It follows the life of Frederic Henry, an ambulence driver for the Italian army in WW1. He meets and eventually falls in love with an English nurse, Catherine Barkley. They have a strange relationship with many obstacles and hard times that change the course of their lives. This novel gives an interesting point of view on letting love and war mix. It gives a harsh reality of the chances you have to take to keep love and war in balance. It was an interesting novel overall. However, I thought the ending could've been a little more descriptive in the sense of what Frederic was thinking when he walked away from everything he had and loved. It makes you think about what you would do when put in these situations. It's an easy, must read if you're interested in complicated love stories with a sad, harsh endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Hemingway is not for everyone

    Frankly I hated this book. I only finished it because I had to do a project. I have since tried to read The Sun Also Rises and hated that too. Hemingway may be a perfect example of good substance but a style that is just not compatible with every reader. My goodness it was painful to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2