Customer Reviews for

Farewell to Manzanar

Average Rating 3.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I would read this book because it talks a little girl getting mistreated,its sad but it's still a god book by a long shot.

Book title and author Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, James D. Houston
Title of review: Farwell to Manzanar
Number of stars (1 to 5): 5












Farwell to Manzanar is a really good book. It's about this girl who doesn't know what Pearl Harbor is. She wa...
Book title and author Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, James D. Houston
Title of review: Farwell to Manzanar
Number of stars (1 to 5): 5












Farwell to Manzanar is a really good book. It's about this girl who doesn't know what Pearl Harbor is. She was only seven years in 1942 when her family uprooted her from the family to go to Manzanar internment camp. When she went to the camp there were one-thousand other Japanese people there. But there was a lot of cool stuff there including cheerleaders, boy scouts, and even more. So I wonder how bad it feels like to grow up behind barbed wire fence. The little girl did like to listen to the band sing 'don't fence me in.' The little girl is so beautiful, she is so smart and I think she is the smartest little girl I know. After she decided that she liked the camp she made friends and had a pretty decent life. One thing I don't like is the camp was in the United States.

posted by dustin_d_wv on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Okay book

In the book Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuk Houston and James D. Houston, Jeanne is a young, seven year old, girl who was sent with her family to live at Manzanar interment camp in 1942 with 10 thousand other Japanese Americans. This is a true story of a spirite...
In the book Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuk Houston and James D. Houston, Jeanne is a young, seven year old, girl who was sent with her family to live at Manzanar interment camp in 1942 with 10 thousand other Japanese Americans. This is a true story of a spirited Japanese American family's attempt to survive the indignities of forced detention. The authors do a good job of engaging the reader by having a significant amount of details in the text. For example, on page 76, it says, 'Another nineteen-year-old died five days later.' These details help you understand the story a little bit more. To me, the details are really good and the best thing the authors can do to make the book more interesting. However, I didn't quite understand the beginning of the book until i read the rest of the book. I think that whoever enjoys true stories would really enjoy this book.

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I would read this book because it talks a little girl getting mistreated,its sad but it's still a god book by a long shot.

    Book title and author Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, James D. Houston
    Title of review: Farwell to Manzanar
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5












    Farwell to Manzanar is a really good book. It's about this girl who doesn't know what Pearl Harbor is. She was only seven years in 1942 when her family uprooted her from the family to go to Manzanar internment camp. When she went to the camp there were one-thousand other Japanese people there. But there was a lot of cool stuff there including cheerleaders, boy scouts, and even more. So I wonder how bad it feels like to grow up behind barbed wire fence. The little girl did like to listen to the band sing 'don't fence me in.' The little girl is so beautiful, she is so smart and I think she is the smartest little girl I know. After she decided that she liked the camp she made friends and had a pretty decent life. One thing I don't like is the camp was in the United States.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Book Review Outline Book title and author: Farewell to Manzanar

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston & James D. Houston
    Title of review: Farewell to Manzanar Review
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 3.5

    Introduction
    Jeanne looks back on her life in Manzanar concentration camp. She finally voices the thoughts she has kept to herself all this time. I thought the book was interesting because it describes life in a concentration camp through the eyes of a seven year old.
    Description and summary of main points
    Jeannie Wakatsuki was exiled into a concentration camp as a little girl. She did not understand what was happening, as she was only seven years old. She tells what life was like inside the gates of Manzanar and what life was like when they were forced into the outside world. She also recalls a visit to Manzanar as an adult.
    Evaluation
    In the beginning of the book, the plot is jumble and confusing. The characters are portrayed very well and are completely life- like. The settings are described accurately and detailed. As Jeanne grows older, she comes to realize the meaning of Manzanar. This book voices Jeanne’s thoughts and opinions of Manzanar and life very well.
    Conclusion
    This book shows life at Manzanar through the eyes of young Jeannie. She tells her thoughts as a child, teenager, and an adult. Overall, it is a very good book and I enjoyed it.
    Your final review
    Though the plot is jumbled at first, you start to understand the book better once you read farther into it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Okay book

    In the book Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuk Houston and James D. Houston, Jeanne is a young, seven year old, girl who was sent with her family to live at Manzanar interment camp in 1942 with 10 thousand other Japanese Americans. This is a true story of a spirited Japanese American family's attempt to survive the indignities of forced detention. The authors do a good job of engaging the reader by having a significant amount of details in the text. For example, on page 76, it says, 'Another nineteen-year-old died five days later.' These details help you understand the story a little bit more. To me, the details are really good and the best thing the authors can do to make the book more interesting. However, I didn't quite understand the beginning of the book until i read the rest of the book. I think that whoever enjoys true stories would really enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Internment of Japanese-Americans on West Coast during World War II

    The book gives a good account of life in one of the internment areas in US of Japanese-Americans. Also what a mistake it was to do this to citizens of the US.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Cute

    This book was really thorough and had spirit, although there were very heartbreaking moments

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    The book Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston and Ja

    The book Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston and James D. Houston is an engaging, thought-provoking memoir about what was is like to grow up behind a barbed wire fence during the time of World War II. Seven year old Japanese-American Jeanne Wakatsuki was living in San Pedro Harbor, California when Pearl Harbor was bombed in 1941. Not long after this tragic event, the Wakatsuki family and 10 thousand other Japanese families got sent to Japanese internment camps. Fortunately, the whole Wakatsuki family got sent to Manzanar Internment Camp. Jeanne and her family had to learn to survive in the terrible living conditions. Although Jeanne didn’t understand much about what was going on in the world at her time in Manzanar, the time she spent there completely changed herself and her life. Decades after Jeanne left Manzanar, she finally found her voice and decided to speak up about the four long years she spent at the Japanese internment camp. 




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Interesting

    Derp :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Ekh. This book was kind of boring. Countless times I fell asleep

    Ekh. This book was kind of boring. Countless times I fell asleep while reading it; it's a slow story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    I had to read this book for school and it was one of the better

    I had to read this book for school and it was one of the better books we read. The story line was solid and well organized. It was also a great way to teach students what it was like for the Asian-Americans after Pearl Harbor, without making them to be the bad guys. We really get a chance to see what went on inside the camps and we can really understand the thoughts and feelings of those in the camps through this book. Gret read, I highly suggest it! Especially for those students who are taking a U.S. History class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    A classic!

    After the tragedy of the bombing of Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941, there was a lot of tension in the United States towards Japanese-Americans. The Manzanar internment camp in California was one of the first to open, and the Wakutsuki family was sent there from Long Beach. They were forced to leave and take only the things they could carry. Jeanne was only seven at the time yet she faced such new and unfamiliar challenges. Being interned had emotional and physical consequences on her family, especially her Issei father. This memoir recalls the family's experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Learninglfull

    Farewell to Manzanar is an exhilarating book to read! This book is non-fiction and very vivid. In my opinion this book will be suitable for anyone. Farwell to Manzanar is about a young Japanese girl with her family and her childhood through Pearl Harbor. It contains her family's frustrations and raging moments that will keep you on the edge of your seat. This nail biting story also includes her school life-boys, friendships, sports, etc. This motivating book is similar to what happened to over 110,000 Japanese family's during the mid 1940's at various camps throughout the United States.


    The main character in this tale is about a 7 year old Japanese girl Jeanne Wakatsuki, growing up in the early and mid 1940's in a concentration camp in California, and her getting her life back together again after they leave the camp. Other important characters in this story are papa, mama, and Radine. You will read that papa is very strict and proud about his family's Japanese descent. Mama is very kind and considerate while Radine, Jeanne's first real friend in her life, is brave for what she does throughout the story for Jeanne against the racial people in their community. Jeanne is aroused to get out in the real world again since the any years at Manzanar. Manzanar was where thousands of Japanese and other oriental family's such as Indian, Korean, etc. were forced to move into for years of their life.

    People can learn a valuable lesson from this book. Farewell to Manzanar is something that not even words can express! To find out what it's really like to learn the lives of a Japanese family going through a U.S tragedy and their experiences through the years, you'll just have to find out by yourself and read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    It was an alright book but it definitely wasn't my favorite.

    Farewell to Manzanar by James D. Houston and Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston is a nonfiction novel that is written in first person. This novel was published in 1973 by Houghton Mifflin. It took place in 1941 in the internment camps that the Japanese people had to live in. A young girl of the age of seven years old and named Jeanne Wakatsuki was the main character. She had to live in multiple places such as Terminal Island, Ocean Park in California, Boyle Heights in Los Angeles, Owens Valley, Manzanar, and Long Beach throughout the book. The book was pretty good, but was very hard to understand.

    Jeanne Wakatsuki had a very tough life. She went through a lot before she got to actually enjoy her life. She got made fun of by the Caucasians and was slightly scared of her own race. The author had a way of making you feel like you were right there through all the family struggles. She makes you feel very upset at the end of the day because you are treated so well and they were treated so badly. Her own dad said, "I'm going to sell you to the china-man," meaning that he was going to give them away. Her father was always drunk and her mother was always being beaten by her father.

    This book really inspired me to give the people that had to live in the interment camps sympathy. Jeanne had no clue she was being treated so badly till she grew a little older. When the mother said, "Woody, we can't live like this, animals live like this," it was very upsetting to know that they lived that badly. I had to look up many of the words that used. They were so medically defined that it was kind of hard to understand what they were talking about. Also, it was very detailed about the clothing and camps. I really liked the book except for those few complaints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sayonara, Manzanar

    This story is about an American born Japanese girl named Jeanne and her family. Due simply to their Japanese ancestry, they were imprisoned in an internment camp in the Owens Valley during WWII, even though Jeanne and her siblings were American citizens by birth. My favorite character in the novella is Jeanne's sister-in-law, Chizu. She is married to Jeanne's older brother, Woody. He is the second eldest son of the family, who was drafted into the 442nd before Manzanar closed. At the time of his deployment, Chizu is a young soldier's wife with two small children to care for, and the only family she is surrounded by is that of her husband. I cannot fathom how difficult life must have been for her to bear.

    I have been to the war memorials and museum in Hiroshima, Japan. At the museum I watched a video that detailed the horrors of the war and the affects of the radiation the atomic bomb had afterwards. The monument to Sakura and the thousand paper cranes holds testament to the devastating affects that lasted for many decades after the war ended. Jeanne's story, however, is the flip side of the coin. It spins the interwoven tales of the 110,000 Japanese in America that were affected by the same war. The confusion Japanese-Americans felt just after the attack on Pearl Harbor, the lack of privacy in the camps such as Manzanar, the prejudice faced after the camps were closed, and many other aspects of Japanese-American life is touched on in Manzanar. I have felt ostracized by my appearance before as well, and have experienced the same feelings Jeanne described of wanting to fit in, but feeling unalterably different. Her story is one that can be related to on many levels-not just by the people who shared those same moments in history.

    I like the concept behind Farewell to Manzanar, and applaud its valiant purpose. However, it is a little watered down for anyone intently interested in the subject and people involved. Its concise nature is best for students in middle school or basic high school English classes. If it wasn't geared toward such a broad audience, I would suggest adding more details to Jeanne's tale.

    I would recommend this novella most to the young relatives of the people who were actually in the internment camps. I think it would lend them a better understanding of their relative's past, their history, and a glimmering pinprick of insight into the vastness of what "Manzanar" encompasses. I hope books like this one will help humanity as a whole not repeat our greatest, and most devastating, mistakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Farewell to many things

    This story is my favorite nonfiction novel to date. It is so real and natural it is like you're watching everything happen. They portray the characters in such a wat that you know who they are from the inside out. This is a great work and I think everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Enlightens readers to the insides of Japanese internment camps.

    It's a good thing that I happen to write a review on this for another site, therefore if you don't mind...I shall copy/paste my review from there: If you believe thoroughly that Japanese internment was crucially wrong and yet you do not know much about it, then I definitely especially recommend this to you as it brings you on a personal level with a young girl experiencing the hardships of internment and also exposes the Japanese Americans' daily life in the camps. It is a truly brilliant story, and it is also very well written as you--especially if you are a teenager--can honestly understand the feelings of a youth and how it does not affect them then, but afterwards into their future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Deprivation of personal freedom

    Farewell to Manzanar is about the living conditions in the internment of Japanese Americans during World War Two. Based on personal recollections, Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston relates her story as a 7 year old forced to live in a camp along her family. Farewell to Manzanar is a true story. It is also a web of stories of her, her father, her family, and the multitude of paths that led away from the experience of internment. <BR/> Manzanar was a community in California during World War Two. Its purpose was to house thousands of Japanese American internees. The Wakatsuki family is one of the first to arrive at this unpleasant and humiliating place. Manzanar becomes Jeanne¿s way of life in which she struggles to adapt. For her father it was essentially the end of his life. Not only does Jeanne struggle to fit in with her peers but it is a battle with her father to remain loyal to her Japanese traditions. <BR/> Farewell to Manzanar is a story of fear, pride, humiliation, and confusion. It is the journey of a young girl to find herself and attempt to fit in. I found the book to be very interesting and informational. I had never learned about these topics. I have been taught about World War Two and the attack on Pearl Harbor but never in depth about these camps. I hope schools will emphasize more on this topic. This book is very vivid and it allows readers to capture the pain in the experiences of this community.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

    FAREWELL TO MANZANAR is the chilling autobiography of a Japanese-American girl who survived the interment camps during World War II. <BR/><BR/>When I began reading this book I had no idea what the "internment" camps were. This is a subject that not many know about and is not a very well-known time in history. "Internment" camps were camps that the American government put together after Japan bombed Pearl Harbor to house all of the Japanese-Americans who lived on the west coast. The people were forced to go and didn't have a choice, even if they were born in America and only had Japanese ancestry. The camps were in the middle of the desert, so that the people wouldn't be able to leave. <BR/><BR/>At first I didn't like the book very much. But as I kept reading I began to like it. I can't say that I loved it, because I didn't; it's not a "loving" type of story. I enjoyed learning about something that I knew nothing about. <BR/><BR/>I think all Americans should read this book so that they know that this happened. It is not something that is often talked about, but it should be, so that every American citizen knows about this part that the government played in World War II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Changing places

    There is something about this book that allows you to change places with the main character. Unless you were a Japanese American during the time of World War II, this would not have happened to you, but you feel as if you too, are going through this situation through the author's eyes. The reader can totally see the effects of racism, the unjust treatment of the Japanese Americans, and the ambivalence they felt for their adopted country. The day to day descriptions of life in the Manzanar internment camp are very interesting. It is a quick, engaging, and important book which examines a shameful time in our nation's history that we all need to examine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    pretty good

    In the book Farwell to Manzanar the authors do a pretty good job of engaging the reader because they give a lot of detail and they talk about interesting things. Alought at some points during the book it geys a little boring, but usuall after a boring part there is an iteresting part. So in the end the authors do do a pretty good job of engaging the reader. Also, in the book I liked how, while the family was at the camp, it told a lot about what they did in detail and told about their feelings. At points in the book though I got confused. It was confusing when they told about the camp abd how it was set up because I could not quite picture it in my head. The people that I think might enjoy this book would be people whowant to know in detail what happened in World War II to the Japanese and the hard times that they went through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Farewell to Manzanar

    I liked the part when it talks about the camp in the story. Also I liked when she was talking about Papa that was a drunk person. Lastly I liked about all their brothers or sisters that Jeanne has. I disliked the part about the Japanese being the only neighbor hood in they area. Also I didn't like the part when Papa was drinking lots of rice wine. Lastly I disliked about the carnival queen because I don't think there should be a queen for a carnival for what reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5