Customer Reviews for

Farewell to Manzanar

Average Rating 3.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I would read this book because it talks a little girl getting mistreated,its sad but it's still a god book by a long shot.

Book title and author Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, James D. Houston
Title of review: Farwell to Manzanar
Number of stars (1 to 5): 5












Farwell to Manzanar is a really good book. It's about this girl who doesn't know what Pearl Harbor is. She wa...
Book title and author Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, James D. Houston
Title of review: Farwell to Manzanar
Number of stars (1 to 5): 5












Farwell to Manzanar is a really good book. It's about this girl who doesn't know what Pearl Harbor is. She was only seven years in 1942 when her family uprooted her from the family to go to Manzanar internment camp. When she went to the camp there were one-thousand other Japanese people there. But there was a lot of cool stuff there including cheerleaders, boy scouts, and even more. So I wonder how bad it feels like to grow up behind barbed wire fence. The little girl did like to listen to the band sing 'don't fence me in.' The little girl is so beautiful, she is so smart and I think she is the smartest little girl I know. After she decided that she liked the camp she made friends and had a pretty decent life. One thing I don't like is the camp was in the United States.

posted by dustin_d_wv on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Book Review Outline Book title and author: Farewell to Manzanar

Book Review Outline
Book title and author: Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston & James D. Houston
Title of review: Farewell to Manzanar Review
Number of stars (1 to 5): 3.5

Introduction
Jeanne looks back on her life in Manzanar concentration ...
Book Review Outline
Book title and author: Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston & James D. Houston
Title of review: Farewell to Manzanar Review
Number of stars (1 to 5): 3.5

Introduction
Jeanne looks back on her life in Manzanar concentration camp. She finally voices the thoughts she has kept to herself all this time. I thought the book was interesting because it describes life in a concentration camp through the eyes of a seven year old.
Description and summary of main points
Jeannie Wakatsuki was exiled into a concentration camp as a little girl. She did not understand what was happening, as she was only seven years old. She tells what life was like inside the gates of Manzanar and what life was like when they were forced into the outside world. She also recalls a visit to Manzanar as an adult.
Evaluation
In the beginning of the book, the plot is jumble and confusing. The characters are portrayed very well and are completely life- like. The settings are described accurately and detailed. As Jeanne grows older, she comes to realize the meaning of Manzanar. This book voices Jeanne’s thoughts and opinions of Manzanar and life very well.
Conclusion
This book shows life at Manzanar through the eyes of young Jeannie. She tells her thoughts as a child, teenager, and an adult. Overall, it is a very good book and I enjoyed it.
Your final review
Though the plot is jumbled at first, you start to understand the book better once you read farther into it.

posted by rebeccak280 on May 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Cute

    This book was really thorough and had spirit, although there were very heartbreaking moments

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    I had to read this book for school and it was one of the better

    I had to read this book for school and it was one of the better books we read. The story line was solid and well organized. It was also a great way to teach students what it was like for the Asian-Americans after Pearl Harbor, without making them to be the bad guys. We really get a chance to see what went on inside the camps and we can really understand the thoughts and feelings of those in the camps through this book. Gret read, I highly suggest it! Especially for those students who are taking a U.S. History class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    A classic!

    After the tragedy of the bombing of Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941, there was a lot of tension in the United States towards Japanese-Americans. The Manzanar internment camp in California was one of the first to open, and the Wakutsuki family was sent there from Long Beach. They were forced to leave and take only the things they could carry. Jeanne was only seven at the time yet she faced such new and unfamiliar challenges. Being interned had emotional and physical consequences on her family, especially her Issei father. This memoir recalls the family's experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Enlightens readers to the insides of Japanese internment camps.

    It's a good thing that I happen to write a review on this for another site, therefore if you don't mind...I shall copy/paste my review from there: If you believe thoroughly that Japanese internment was crucially wrong and yet you do not know much about it, then I definitely especially recommend this to you as it brings you on a personal level with a young girl experiencing the hardships of internment and also exposes the Japanese Americans' daily life in the camps. It is a truly brilliant story, and it is also very well written as you--especially if you are a teenager--can honestly understand the feelings of a youth and how it does not affect them then, but afterwards into their future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

    FAREWELL TO MANZANAR is the chilling autobiography of a Japanese-American girl who survived the interment camps during World War II. <BR/><BR/>When I began reading this book I had no idea what the "internment" camps were. This is a subject that not many know about and is not a very well-known time in history. "Internment" camps were camps that the American government put together after Japan bombed Pearl Harbor to house all of the Japanese-Americans who lived on the west coast. The people were forced to go and didn't have a choice, even if they were born in America and only had Japanese ancestry. The camps were in the middle of the desert, so that the people wouldn't be able to leave. <BR/><BR/>At first I didn't like the book very much. But as I kept reading I began to like it. I can't say that I loved it, because I didn't; it's not a "loving" type of story. I enjoyed learning about something that I knew nothing about. <BR/><BR/>I think all Americans should read this book so that they know that this happened. It is not something that is often talked about, but it should be, so that every American citizen knows about this part that the government played in World War II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Farewell to Manzanar

    I liked the part when it talks about the camp in the story. Also I liked when she was talking about Papa that was a drunk person. Lastly I liked about all their brothers or sisters that Jeanne has. I disliked the part about the Japanese being the only neighbor hood in they area. Also I didn't like the part when Papa was drinking lots of rice wine. Lastly I disliked about the carnival queen because I don't think there should be a queen for a carnival for what reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    FAREWELL TO MANZANAR is the chilling autobiography of a Japanese-American girl who survived the interment camps during World War II. When I began reading this book I had no idea what the ¿internment¿ camps were. This is a subject that not many know about and is not a very well-known time in history. 'Internment' camps were camps that the American government put together after Japan bombed Pearl Harbor to house all of the Japanese-Americans who lived on the west coast. The people were forced to go and didn¿t have a choice, even if they were born in America and only had Japanese ancestry. The camps were in the middle of the desert, so that the people wouldn¿t be able to leave. At first I didn¿t like the book very much. But as I kept reading I began to like it. I can¿t say that I loved it, because I didn¿t it's not a 'loving' type of story. I enjoyed learning about something that I knew nothing about. I think all Americans should read this book so that they know that this happened. It is not something that is often talked about, but it should be, so that every American citizen knows about this part that the government played in World War II. **Reviewed by: Taylor Rector

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    grate book

    Farewell to Manazar is an interesting and exiting book. So if you like war related books you are going to enjoy reading this book. This book talks about how it was living during World War II. I really love war related books and that¿s the reason I enjoyed this book. When you read this book you can easily tell in is a true story because of how the writer writes the story. There are two sets of characters in this book because two different people are talking about their own story. They both describe how bad the camps were and how they didn¿t have any privacy because the restrooms were out in the open with no doors or walls. They had to be there because they were Japanese and the Americans were tiring to kill them. If you want to know more you are going to have to read the book Farewell to Manazar. I think you are going to love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    My Book Review

    The book I read was Farewell to Manzanar. This book is about how a Japanese family was relocated to a different home during World War II because the United States was afraid that Japanese people were spies. This family did many things so that they could get used to being there. This also talks about how the atomic bomb on Hiroshima. The Japanese were happy because they could go where they wanted to. Some of the family moved out f the country, some stayed, and one of the brothers joined the military. I would recommend this book because it talks about a family¿s struggle through World War II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    THE ONE

    THE BOOK The authors of Farewell to Manzanar are Jeanne Wakatusi Houston and James D. Houston. An important fact about this book is that if you like to read about other people¿s lives, and what happened through their time, then this is the one and only book for you. Also this book has a lot of metaphors that we use in our daily life, like for example we work to make a living in our life. The reason I picked this book was because I like the genre of autobiography. This book was about a young girl who was living through the time of World War 2. She went through so many events that were positive and negative in her life. Summary of this book is simply the story of a young a girl living in World War 2. The length of this book is 203 pages, but the chapters are not that long some are even to the two or three pages long. My opinion for this book is a good opinion and this is a book for almost everybody, especially the fans of the genre of autobiography books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    yeyo

    The title of the book i read is Farewell To Manzanar. The time period of my book was during Pearl Harbor. The main character is Jeanne. She is Japanese-American. Being Japanese and living in those time periods was not pleasant at all. The Japanese were sent to these camps. Some Japanese tried to deny the fact that they were from Japan. An example of this is Jeanne's father. He burned the Japanese flag and all the documents he had from there. Jeanne was used to living in a white community with white people, and was treated equally. When she went to camp, she was treated bad by the white people and also by the Japanese because she could not speak Japanese. When she went to school, she always tried to fit in by doing everything they did. Then she learns she needs to accept herself first to get accepted by other people. If you would like to hear a book about a person who goes through a big change because of war or disaster this is a good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    The change of life.

    In the book Farewell to Manzanar, the character was made fun of because she could not speak a certain language. This is disappointing because no one should make fun of others. Especially when they know that, you are in a tough situation and that they are in the same situation. In the book Farewell to Manzanar, it is emotional to me because when some one makes fun of others and then later on the person who made fun of would receive the same treatment they gave to that person. I think that some people should read this book it is a good book which that is my opinion and some of my other friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Farewell to Manzanar

    Farewell to Manzanar was an interesting book. It is a different kind of book about Pearl Harbor.It showed the attack on Pearl Harbor through a much different point of view. In this book you learn a lot about what happened during the time of Pearl Harbor while also reading a story about a young girl. It showed the struggles that many people had to go though during those times. The authors did a good job of making it interesting while still telling what really happened. I would recommend this book because it opens your mind to a different point of view and is written very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Why Read F2M?

    F2M was a very good book.When our English teacher told us we were going to read a book about a Japanese American's perspective during World War II, I was not that fanatic about it.When we first started reading, I thought this was one of the most boringest books I've read.When we were about halfway, I had an interest for this book and started to like it.The most dramatic parts would be when Papa would abuse his wife and family.It is also cool seeing how an oriental's life at school was back in the days compared to our time greatly differs.This book is really educational since it describes World War II, a Japanese' life during the war, and most importantly, the freedom they were given at an internment camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    IT WAS GREAT

    I think that this book was very interesting and its very sad to know that Americans did these things to those innocent people. The book gives you great details on what its like to be a minority. Being so young and having to go through this is horrible. I recommend it for ages 11 and up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    Shikata Ga Nai - It Cannot be Helped

    ¿Shikata Ga Nai¿ ¿ ¿It Cannot Be Helped¿ became the doctrine of life for the years during World War II for thousands of Japanese Americans detained in camps by the US government. Farewell to Manzanar is a true story of a family¿s experiences when uprooted from their home on the west coast of the United States and sent to live in a segregated isolated camp miles from their home. Distrust and apprehension of Japanese Americans was proliferate after the bombing of Pearl Harbor. The US government believed that isolating this particular racial group would deter any collaboration with the enemy. This story is told through the eyes of 7 year old Jeanne Wakatsuki. After her father (a first generation Japanese who migrated to the US) was forcibly taken from the home and arrested on possible conspiracy charges, Jeanne, her mother, her siblings, and grandmother were moved to Manzanar leaving most of their possessions behind. The camp was located some miles away in a dusty, sandy desert area. Sharing barracks-type housing with other families, the Wakatsuki family does what it can to adapt to this new life. Told from a child¿s perspective, the loss of freedom, crowded conditions, waiting in line for food ¿ which matter greatly to adults ¿ pales somewhat to the strife and conflict which occurs in Jeanne¿s family. Her father¿s drinking and contentiousness when released to the camp, her mother¿s new role as provider as dietician in the camp, and her older brother Woody¿s challenge to his father¿s authority by wanting to enlist in the US army ¿ all of these personal familial views by a child affect Jeanne most profoundly. Once the war is over, the camp is dismantled and Jeanne and her family are released, presumably to return to their former lives. Integration back into the ¿normal¿ community is very difficult for them as mistrust of Japanese Americans persisted in society after the war. In 1972, 30 years later, a grown-up Jeanne, her husband and 3 children return to Manzanar. While holding many memories for Jeanne, the ruins of Manzanar hold little appeal for her children. In some ways, this forced containment of a people based solely on racial make-up can lead the reader to draw a parallel with the treatment of the Jewish people in Nazi Germany. While there was no torture of ¿extermination¿ of the Japanese-Americans, the fundamental freedom of a people was denied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Great war book!

    This book is a thrilling, educational and intersting book. You can really feel what the main character,jenna, goes through. Her family adapts to the harsh environment they face. Great book, recommended to anyone,especially people who like war books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    An eye opener for me...

    When I studied World War II in history classes, there was alway a mention of the concentration camps in the US. What I have never had a chance to do is understand what really happned, especially from the viewpoint of a person that grew up in a camp. Wakatsuki does a wonderful job of painting a vivid picture of the story of her life in Manzanar while being careful not to come across to beligerant. Great Read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2002

    Farewell to Manzanar is a awsome book

    hey everyone i go to Lincoln high school in Siouxfalls south dakota. its' a great school with a great english department>>>> we had to choose a book to read for class and i choose this one because it sounded really good. It is a great book i recomend everyone reads it.... well later:) OH yea i'm in first period with mrs. jensen she's a good teacher but sometimes too nice.... :) Peace out Love Rahel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2001

    Farewell to Manzanar

    Main Character: Jeanne Wakatsuki Problem: Japan and America had a war Main event: Japan sent a bomb to the Pearl Harbor Main event: Woodrow (Jeanne's brother) was sent to the war to fight for America Main event: many people got sick and it couldn't be explaine Main event: America sent atomic bomb to Hiroshima (Japan) Main event: America won and Americans were dancing on the street because they were happy Solution: America won

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2