Customer Reviews for

Farewell to Manzanar

Average Rating 3.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I would read this book because it talks a little girl getting mistreated,its sad but it's still a god book by a long shot.

Book title and author Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, James D. Houston
Title of review: Farwell to Manzanar
Number of stars (1 to 5): 5












Farwell to Manzanar is a really good book. It's about this girl who doesn't know what Pearl Harbor is. She wa...
Book title and author Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, James D. Houston
Title of review: Farwell to Manzanar
Number of stars (1 to 5): 5












Farwell to Manzanar is a really good book. It's about this girl who doesn't know what Pearl Harbor is. She was only seven years in 1942 when her family uprooted her from the family to go to Manzanar internment camp. When she went to the camp there were one-thousand other Japanese people there. But there was a lot of cool stuff there including cheerleaders, boy scouts, and even more. So I wonder how bad it feels like to grow up behind barbed wire fence. The little girl did like to listen to the band sing 'don't fence me in.' The little girl is so beautiful, she is so smart and I think she is the smartest little girl I know. After she decided that she liked the camp she made friends and had a pretty decent life. One thing I don't like is the camp was in the United States.

posted by dustin_d_wv on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Okay book

In the book Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuk Houston and James D. Houston, Jeanne is a young, seven year old, girl who was sent with her family to live at Manzanar interment camp in 1942 with 10 thousand other Japanese Americans. This is a true story of a spirite...
In the book Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuk Houston and James D. Houston, Jeanne is a young, seven year old, girl who was sent with her family to live at Manzanar interment camp in 1942 with 10 thousand other Japanese Americans. This is a true story of a spirited Japanese American family's attempt to survive the indignities of forced detention. The authors do a good job of engaging the reader by having a significant amount of details in the text. For example, on page 76, it says, 'Another nineteen-year-old died five days later.' These details help you understand the story a little bit more. To me, the details are really good and the best thing the authors can do to make the book more interesting. However, I didn't quite understand the beginning of the book until i read the rest of the book. I think that whoever enjoys true stories would really enjoy this book.

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I would read this book because it talks a little girl getting mistreated,its sad but it's still a god book by a long shot.

    Book title and author Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, James D. Houston
    Title of review: Farwell to Manzanar
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5












    Farwell to Manzanar is a really good book. It's about this girl who doesn't know what Pearl Harbor is. She was only seven years in 1942 when her family uprooted her from the family to go to Manzanar internment camp. When she went to the camp there were one-thousand other Japanese people there. But there was a lot of cool stuff there including cheerleaders, boy scouts, and even more. So I wonder how bad it feels like to grow up behind barbed wire fence. The little girl did like to listen to the band sing 'don't fence me in.' The little girl is so beautiful, she is so smart and I think she is the smartest little girl I know. After she decided that she liked the camp she made friends and had a pretty decent life. One thing I don't like is the camp was in the United States.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Internment of Japanese-Americans on West Coast during World War II

    The book gives a good account of life in one of the internment areas in US of Japanese-Americans. Also what a mistake it was to do this to citizens of the US.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Interesting

    Derp :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Farewell to many things

    This story is my favorite nonfiction novel to date. It is so real and natural it is like you're watching everything happen. They portray the characters in such a wat that you know who they are from the inside out. This is a great work and I think everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Changing places

    There is something about this book that allows you to change places with the main character. Unless you were a Japanese American during the time of World War II, this would not have happened to you, but you feel as if you too, are going through this situation through the author's eyes. The reader can totally see the effects of racism, the unjust treatment of the Japanese Americans, and the ambivalence they felt for their adopted country. The day to day descriptions of life in the Manzanar internment camp are very interesting. It is a quick, engaging, and important book which examines a shameful time in our nation's history that we all need to examine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Best Book EVER!

    This book really showed me how ¿we¿ (Americans), treated the Japanese when we were bombed, we had the right to think that yes, maybe someone here helped them. But we had no right to put them in those concentration camp or internment camps, whichever you want to call them. They were treated like crap in there, and putting them there destroyed most of their lives. Families split apart. Reading this book made me feel so sad. Jeanne, almost couldn¿t be homecoming queen at her high school because she was Japanese and the teachers were trying to stuff the votes so she didn¿t win because they were afraid that the parents/donators would get mad at the school. I am so glad that this society has changed from being like that. We still need to work at it, but we come a LONG way from WWII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Farewell to Manzanar: A True Story of Japanese American Experience During and After the World War II Internment

    The book that I chose is Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston and James D. Houston. I really like this book. The main characters had hard moments in the book. She has suffered a lot. The police took her dad George to jail. When he was on jail, the family moved to California. When they were in California the father came out from jail. Then a war was going to happen. His brother went to war and came back alive. This story is similar to some people¿s stories who live right now in the United States. The parents have sons in the Iraq war right now. Some of the sons have died and others are lost. Jeanne has something in common with the people who are born in the United States and only speak English. Then later they decided to learn Spanish and in school they hear someone talking in Spanish then they are shocked. Like they didn¿t know. Jeanne is Japanese-American and speak English her parents are from Japan. Her teammates at school could not believe it. I recommend this book to others of my teammates because is a cool book and tells about her life. The book starts interesting and finishes interesting. Therefore, that is why I like this book and recommend to others of my teammates too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Farewell to Manzanar: A True Story of Japanese American Experience During and After the World War II Internment

    What is the name of the book and the author? What is this story about? Was it interesting? Is this story worth reading? These are questions, you are probably curious about. Well, you might just find out. For my summer reading assignment, I decided to read the book Ellen Foster, written by Kaye Gibbons. Ellen Foster is the main character. She is an eleven year old girl who lives in the south. She is an orphan. Both her parents died, when she was little. Her mom died from being sick, and taking to many pills. Her dad died from being depressed and being alcoholic. However, throughout Ellen's childhood she lived with different people. Most of the people she lived with were mean to her. As an example, her grandma. Since her grandma hated the husband her daughter married, she took her madness out on her granddaughter, Ellen Foster. However, Ellen Foster was always independent for herself once an adult mistreated her, like her alcoholic dad. Ellen was always struggling with life, and she faced deaths many times. All Ellen wants is a family that loves her and cares for her. In my personal opinion, this book was worth reading. I enjoyed reading every bit if it. This book had a lot of emotional feelings such as losing a mom. Not having a parent can make one feel lonely and sad. Just imagine, a little girl without any of her parents. What would you do if you were her? Would you cry non-stop? Would you runaway? Overall, this book was excellent. Ellen Foster proves any one can live life even with problems and situations like hers. Ellen is independent for her age. I do recommend this book to someone who enjoys reading. Also, for someone who is struggling with life and neeeds motivation. I also recommend this book to someone who likes fiction books, to someone who likes to see a childs point of view, and to a person who is always curious about anything. You just have to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    farewell to manzanar

    Farewell to Manzanar I really enjoyed reading this book because I actually could feel what she was feeling. It was hard for her to leave her home .She was so different from everybody else. It was bad enough that her dad was a really bad person .Good thing her mom was there every step of the way .Even though , her mom was too scared to confront her dad she was still a good mother .She shouldn¿t of have taken those beatings though I would¿ve fought back. I wouldn¿t really care about the consequences ¿just knowing that I tried doing something about it is good enough for me. I would recommend this book to any body .I feel like a lot of people would be able to relate to this book just like I did .I know that next year¿s students would enjoy reading this book .In my opinion this book should be mandatory to read because it lectures and teaches a person on different areas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Spectacular Book

    In my opinion Farewell To Manzanar was an amazing book. This work is a biblioagraphy of Jeanne Wakatsuki. The literature is only 203 pages long and the difficulty level is a 2 out of 4. This book in my opinion is intresting because it is not boring. By saying this I mean that this work of art can keep anyone intrested throughout it. I would reccomend this book to people who like things about war, like Pearl Harbor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    Manzanar

    Gripping, Unforgettable. I first read the book in the 5th grade. I am now 39 years of age and am going to read it again. The book is a must for Libraries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Stahl Jr. High Student

    I did not enjoy the book because it was confusing to read. It did teach me to respect what i have and it did teach me a good lesson. I was Assigned to read it by may English teacher. It was still pretty good though. It was hard to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    A surprisingly great book

    I only read this book because I had to for school. I never like this type of book. But this was an exception. It was truely a great book. Jeane Wakatsuki and her husband put alot of work into this book and it shows. I've never re-read any book in my life, but I think I may re-read this one. It was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    It did happen in the USA

    A true story about how we always think it will happen somewhere else. Hard to believe that our own citizens could go through this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    VERY MOVING STORY

    If you want to read about what the U.S. did to the Japanese-Americans during WWII then read this book. I recommend reading 'Snow falling on Cedars' right after you read this book and it will help give you an accurate picture of what life was like for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    Farewell to Manzanar

    This is great true story with lots of details, description, and a true story of the Japenese people and how they were missed treated. I give this story five thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2002

    An Awsome book

    I loved the book and thought it was very true to life. It really makes you think about what it was like in the times of the war. I would reccommend this back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2002

    Farewell to manzanar is a very good book -ashlie 16

    I had to read a book for school and i found 'Fraewell to Manzar' to be a very good book. I am not the one to sit and read a book but that one is awesome. I recomend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2002

    A Must Read Book

    Hello!! You see the internment camp through a young girl's eyes, giving me a different perspective on life in the camps. I think it also helps others understand Japanese way of thinking alittle more, and what Japanese had to endure, during and after the war. I couldn't put this book down because you can get into the story...or maybe it's because I am Japanese. I like to think it's alittle of both, but either way, I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    My School Has Read This Book At Lyons Creek Middle/Ms.JOHNSONS Class/are class rules!!! And We Loved It....

    Well this story was a very good example of how some of us treat other people as they do today. Some people not all would like to lock up talibons or chinese,spanish,americans,africans,ect. well you get the idea. This book is about a family that was becomeing more aragant everyday. First father was tooken by the F.B.I. for suposeingly giveing oil to the Japanese submarines.So the family along with 110,000 other Japanese Americans were taken to a camp called Manzanar.While there the Family's are treated really bad they put dog tags on them like ther were a item on a clothes shelf.They stop eating with each other and There were hole in the little shelter the americans provided them.When father got back things didn't get any better.He began maken his own alcohal and one night he tried hitting mama and his own son clock him in the face.After he hit him father started slowing down and the familys started eating together also they got anouther house it was better than the first one.Finally the kids were able to go to school and live semi good.At the end the Americans finally decided to nuke Japan and they won the War was over.But half the Japanese wanted to leave they all were afraid that the americans would HATE them.But at the end everything worked out.Inconclusion I REALLY liked this story....YOU SHOULD BUY AND READ IT ITS A REALLY GOOD BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2