Customer Reviews for

Farewell to Manzanar

Average Rating 3.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I would read this book because it talks a little girl getting mistreated,its sad but it's still a god book by a long shot.

Book title and author Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, James D. Houston
Title of review: Farwell to Manzanar
Number of stars (1 to 5): 5












Farwell to Manzanar is a really good book. It's about this girl who doesn't know what Pearl Harbor is. She wa...
Book title and author Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, James D. Houston
Title of review: Farwell to Manzanar
Number of stars (1 to 5): 5












Farwell to Manzanar is a really good book. It's about this girl who doesn't know what Pearl Harbor is. She was only seven years in 1942 when her family uprooted her from the family to go to Manzanar internment camp. When she went to the camp there were one-thousand other Japanese people there. But there was a lot of cool stuff there including cheerleaders, boy scouts, and even more. So I wonder how bad it feels like to grow up behind barbed wire fence. The little girl did like to listen to the band sing 'don't fence me in.' The little girl is so beautiful, she is so smart and I think she is the smartest little girl I know. After she decided that she liked the camp she made friends and had a pretty decent life. One thing I don't like is the camp was in the United States.

posted by dustin_d_wv on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Book Review Outline Book title and author: Farewell to Manzanar

Book Review Outline
Book title and author: Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston & James D. Houston
Title of review: Farewell to Manzanar Review
Number of stars (1 to 5): 3.5

Introduction
Jeanne looks back on her life in Manzanar concentration ...
Book Review Outline
Book title and author: Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston & James D. Houston
Title of review: Farewell to Manzanar Review
Number of stars (1 to 5): 3.5

Introduction
Jeanne looks back on her life in Manzanar concentration camp. She finally voices the thoughts she has kept to herself all this time. I thought the book was interesting because it describes life in a concentration camp through the eyes of a seven year old.
Description and summary of main points
Jeannie Wakatsuki was exiled into a concentration camp as a little girl. She did not understand what was happening, as she was only seven years old. She tells what life was like inside the gates of Manzanar and what life was like when they were forced into the outside world. She also recalls a visit to Manzanar as an adult.
Evaluation
In the beginning of the book, the plot is jumble and confusing. The characters are portrayed very well and are completely life- like. The settings are described accurately and detailed. As Jeanne grows older, she comes to realize the meaning of Manzanar. This book voices Jeanne’s thoughts and opinions of Manzanar and life very well.
Conclusion
This book shows life at Manzanar through the eyes of young Jeannie. She tells her thoughts as a child, teenager, and an adult. Overall, it is a very good book and I enjoyed it.
Your final review
Though the plot is jumbled at first, you start to understand the book better once you read farther into it.

posted by rebeccak280 on May 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Farewell to Manzanar

    I liked the part when it talks about the camp in the story. Also I liked when she was talking about Papa that was a drunk person. Lastly I liked about all their brothers or sisters that Jeanne has. I disliked the part about the Japanese being the only neighbor hood in they area. Also I didn't like the part when Papa was drinking lots of rice wine. Lastly I disliked about the carnival queen because I don't think there should be a queen for a carnival for what reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    FAREWELL TO MANZANAR is the chilling autobiography of a Japanese-American girl who survived the interment camps during World War II. When I began reading this book I had no idea what the ¿internment¿ camps were. This is a subject that not many know about and is not a very well-known time in history. 'Internment' camps were camps that the American government put together after Japan bombed Pearl Harbor to house all of the Japanese-Americans who lived on the west coast. The people were forced to go and didn¿t have a choice, even if they were born in America and only had Japanese ancestry. The camps were in the middle of the desert, so that the people wouldn¿t be able to leave. At first I didn¿t like the book very much. But as I kept reading I began to like it. I can¿t say that I loved it, because I didn¿t it's not a 'loving' type of story. I enjoyed learning about something that I knew nothing about. I think all Americans should read this book so that they know that this happened. It is not something that is often talked about, but it should be, so that every American citizen knows about this part that the government played in World War II. **Reviewed by: Taylor Rector

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    pretty bad

    this book was so boring! i had to read it for school and it was terrible! and i swear, I LOVEEEE TO READ. it was just really bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    ok

    it was disappointing but hey what can you do about it it really happened. it was boring tho and i don't recommend it unless you like war books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    grate book

    Farewell to Manazar is an interesting and exiting book. So if you like war related books you are going to enjoy reading this book. This book talks about how it was living during World War II. I really love war related books and that¿s the reason I enjoyed this book. When you read this book you can easily tell in is a true story because of how the writer writes the story. There are two sets of characters in this book because two different people are talking about their own story. They both describe how bad the camps were and how they didn¿t have any privacy because the restrooms were out in the open with no doors or walls. They had to be there because they were Japanese and the Americans were tiring to kill them. If you want to know more you are going to have to read the book Farewell to Manazar. I think you are going to love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Best Book EVER!

    This book really showed me how ¿we¿ (Americans), treated the Japanese when we were bombed, we had the right to think that yes, maybe someone here helped them. But we had no right to put them in those concentration camp or internment camps, whichever you want to call them. They were treated like crap in there, and putting them there destroyed most of their lives. Families split apart. Reading this book made me feel so sad. Jeanne, almost couldn¿t be homecoming queen at her high school because she was Japanese and the teachers were trying to stuff the votes so she didn¿t win because they were afraid that the parents/donators would get mad at the school. I am so glad that this society has changed from being like that. We still need to work at it, but we come a LONG way from WWII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Farewell to Manzanar: A True Story of Japanese American Experience During and After the World War II Internment

    The book that I chose is Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston and James D. Houston. I really like this book. The main characters had hard moments in the book. She has suffered a lot. The police took her dad George to jail. When he was on jail, the family moved to California. When they were in California the father came out from jail. Then a war was going to happen. His brother went to war and came back alive. This story is similar to some people¿s stories who live right now in the United States. The parents have sons in the Iraq war right now. Some of the sons have died and others are lost. Jeanne has something in common with the people who are born in the United States and only speak English. Then later they decided to learn Spanish and in school they hear someone talking in Spanish then they are shocked. Like they didn¿t know. Jeanne is Japanese-American and speak English her parents are from Japan. Her teammates at school could not believe it. I recommend this book to others of my teammates because is a cool book and tells about her life. The book starts interesting and finishes interesting. Therefore, that is why I like this book and recommend to others of my teammates too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    My Book Review

    The book I read was Farewell to Manzanar. This book is about how a Japanese family was relocated to a different home during World War II because the United States was afraid that Japanese people were spies. This family did many things so that they could get used to being there. This also talks about how the atomic bomb on Hiroshima. The Japanese were happy because they could go where they wanted to. Some of the family moved out f the country, some stayed, and one of the brothers joined the military. I would recommend this book because it talks about a family¿s struggle through World War II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Farewell to Manzanar: A True Story of Japanese American Experience During and After the World War II Internment

    What is the name of the book and the author? What is this story about? Was it interesting? Is this story worth reading? These are questions, you are probably curious about. Well, you might just find out. For my summer reading assignment, I decided to read the book Ellen Foster, written by Kaye Gibbons. Ellen Foster is the main character. She is an eleven year old girl who lives in the south. She is an orphan. Both her parents died, when she was little. Her mom died from being sick, and taking to many pills. Her dad died from being depressed and being alcoholic. However, throughout Ellen's childhood she lived with different people. Most of the people she lived with were mean to her. As an example, her grandma. Since her grandma hated the husband her daughter married, she took her madness out on her granddaughter, Ellen Foster. However, Ellen Foster was always independent for herself once an adult mistreated her, like her alcoholic dad. Ellen was always struggling with life, and she faced deaths many times. All Ellen wants is a family that loves her and cares for her. In my personal opinion, this book was worth reading. I enjoyed reading every bit if it. This book had a lot of emotional feelings such as losing a mom. Not having a parent can make one feel lonely and sad. Just imagine, a little girl without any of her parents. What would you do if you were her? Would you cry non-stop? Would you runaway? Overall, this book was excellent. Ellen Foster proves any one can live life even with problems and situations like hers. Ellen is independent for her age. I do recommend this book to someone who enjoys reading. Also, for someone who is struggling with life and neeeds motivation. I also recommend this book to someone who likes fiction books, to someone who likes to see a childs point of view, and to a person who is always curious about anything. You just have to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    farewell to manzanar

    Farewell to Manzanar I really enjoyed reading this book because I actually could feel what she was feeling. It was hard for her to leave her home .She was so different from everybody else. It was bad enough that her dad was a really bad person .Good thing her mom was there every step of the way .Even though , her mom was too scared to confront her dad she was still a good mother .She shouldn¿t of have taken those beatings though I would¿ve fought back. I wouldn¿t really care about the consequences ¿just knowing that I tried doing something about it is good enough for me. I would recommend this book to any body .I feel like a lot of people would be able to relate to this book just like I did .I know that next year¿s students would enjoy reading this book .In my opinion this book should be mandatory to read because it lectures and teaches a person on different areas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    Awesome Book!

    Book: Farewell to Manzanar Author: Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston Throughout the summer I got a chance to read a wonderful book titled Farewell to Manzanar. By just examining the cover of the book it might not seem that interesting, but once you start reading it will be hard to put it down. Farewell to Manzanar is a two hundred and three page book about a Japanese-American family living in camps, during World War Two. This biography really changed my thinking about the Japanese-Americans during the war, because I used to think that no matter where they live in the United States or in Japan they were still guilty of the loss of many lives. I know that I was wrong. Not all Japanese- Americans even favored a side during the war. They were regular people trapped in the middle of two countries fighting. They knew the consequences of what could happen if either side won they just wanted peace. The level of difficulty for this book is very low, which makes it go by even faster. I know that once you start reading this book it will be hard to stop. I sure did like this book, and I hope that you will read and enjoy it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    THE ONE

    THE BOOK The authors of Farewell to Manzanar are Jeanne Wakatusi Houston and James D. Houston. An important fact about this book is that if you like to read about other people¿s lives, and what happened through their time, then this is the one and only book for you. Also this book has a lot of metaphors that we use in our daily life, like for example we work to make a living in our life. The reason I picked this book was because I like the genre of autobiography. This book was about a young girl who was living through the time of World War 2. She went through so many events that were positive and negative in her life. Summary of this book is simply the story of a young a girl living in World War 2. The length of this book is 203 pages, but the chapters are not that long some are even to the two or three pages long. My opinion for this book is a good opinion and this is a book for almost everybody, especially the fans of the genre of autobiography books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    What do I think about this book........

    Coming from my opinion, I say that this book was very difficult for me. I say that because in this book it has a lot of various settings into where this family resigns. Also, I really didn¿t have any interest in this book compared to other books that I¿ve read in the past. The main point of this book is about a Japanese family who lives in Los Angeles and the father of that family experiences different points of views towards his life and his family. This book contains twenty-two chapters and the author of this book is Jeanne Watatsuki Houston. If she is one of our favorite authors I advise you to read this book and also if you like challenging books. If you are not interested in difficult books or if you think that twenty-two chapters is a lot for you, I think that this book is not required for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    yeyo

    The title of the book i read is Farewell To Manzanar. The time period of my book was during Pearl Harbor. The main character is Jeanne. She is Japanese-American. Being Japanese and living in those time periods was not pleasant at all. The Japanese were sent to these camps. Some Japanese tried to deny the fact that they were from Japan. An example of this is Jeanne's father. He burned the Japanese flag and all the documents he had from there. Jeanne was used to living in a white community with white people, and was treated equally. When she went to camp, she was treated bad by the white people and also by the Japanese because she could not speak Japanese. When she went to school, she always tried to fit in by doing everything they did. Then she learns she needs to accept herself first to get accepted by other people. If you would like to hear a book about a person who goes through a big change because of war or disaster this is a good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    The change of life.

    In the book Farewell to Manzanar, the character was made fun of because she could not speak a certain language. This is disappointing because no one should make fun of others. Especially when they know that, you are in a tough situation and that they are in the same situation. In the book Farewell to Manzanar, it is emotional to me because when some one makes fun of others and then later on the person who made fun of would receive the same treatment they gave to that person. I think that some people should read this book it is a good book which that is my opinion and some of my other friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Spectacular Book

    In my opinion Farewell To Manzanar was an amazing book. This work is a biblioagraphy of Jeanne Wakatsuki. The literature is only 203 pages long and the difficulty level is a 2 out of 4. This book in my opinion is intresting because it is not boring. By saying this I mean that this work of art can keep anyone intrested throughout it. I would reccomend this book to people who like things about war, like Pearl Harbor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2006

    Uninformative, unmoving, and unimpressive

    The book is extremely boring. So boring, in fact, that it inhibited my ability to take in information about the Japanese internment camps. The fact that the main character was extremely materialistic took away from the sympathy I felt for her, as did her bland writing. I did not wind up hating the American soldiers, and the main character seemed to behave just like a child on a long car ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    Manzanar

    Gripping, Unforgettable. I first read the book in the 5th grade. I am now 39 years of age and am going to read it again. The book is a must for Libraries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    Good story about the Japanese Internment Camps during WWII.

    This book is good, but it does jump around a bit. It is an easy read & not very long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    An Okay book

    I sort of liked this book. It kept my interest and was very easy to read, but it just wasn't... outstanding. It was sad to see how Jeanne was treated and how her race was prejudiced, and it's hard for people that aren't oriental or any other race to comprehend what they went through in the 1940s. Overall, it was well written and pretty good, but it just wasn't excellent. Still good, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5