Customer Reviews for

The Farfield Curse (Bran Hambric Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book

This book was really really really good. It was well written and very exciting. I can't wait to read the next one!!!!!!!!

posted by 9218076 on January 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mysterious Mage

Nation has constructed an interesting and imaginative world in Bran Hambric. It's Potter-esque lore of magic and mysticism is likely to enthrall the most reluctant of middle-grade and young adult aged readers.

Where it falls a bit short, however, is segueing into the...
Nation has constructed an interesting and imaginative world in Bran Hambric. It's Potter-esque lore of magic and mysticism is likely to enthrall the most reluctant of middle-grade and young adult aged readers.

Where it falls a bit short, however, is segueing into the audience of adult readers which I whole-heartedly recognize is not it's purpose or goal. While the vivid imagery and creative characterizations make great strides in that direction the slower story-telling made it difficult to grab hold and really stay invested in the outcome. This is exemplified most in the heavy focus on the character of Sewey. A healthy amount of time was spent showcasing his curmudgeonly and grumpy nature - a point that was made several chapters in and would have sufficed. Moreover, what made this aspect more difficult to deal with was the fact that his constant presence didn't do much to further the main plot. Ultimately I struggled with the fact that this focus was time that could have been spent developing far more critical characters.

In my humble opinion, a great place to focus some of that attention would have been in further developing Emry. Now, I caveat this by saying that the lack of true depth of focus on Emry may have been designed to keep the mystery of her involvement in the Farfield Curse alive..but, still there could have been more focus on her in a historical perspective so that the ultimate reveal at the end of the story was more powerful. The same holds true of characters involved in the Farfield aspect of the plot - more on Elspeth, Joris and other critical characters to the story of the Curse and it's role in Bran's life may have provided the reader more investment in the story earlier on.

Speaking of the curse it took us over 2/3 of the book to really get deeper into that part of the story. This was a shame since it was the best and most thought provoking part of the novel. It is here that Nation found his stride as he revealed secrets long held back and allowed the reader to see how character's lives were truly intertwined. There were unexpected connections and surprising revelations that finally gave the reader that 'can't put it down' page turner aspect they longed for. It is in the chapters where Bran is in Farfield that the most compelling and enjoyable parts of the story are provided. Furthermore, Nation did an excellent job of making the mystery mysterious, I did not find myself predicting what was going to happen. The foreshadowing was subtle and kept the doors open for events to happen any number of ways. I appreciated that I wasn't lead through the story with my hand held the entire time.

Nation's Bran Hambric series has enormous potential and despite what I personally found to be hurdles I can see the appeal of this book for it's target audience. I would certainly recommend this first book to middle graders and younger skewing young adults. Further, given the writing and plotting of the last 1/3 of this book I too am interested to see if the next book in Bran's story picks up where Nation found his stride in Farfield Curse.

posted by Galleysmith on September 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Awesome book

    This book was really really really good. It was well written and very exciting. I can't wait to read the next one!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Loved it!

    This book was so fun to read. I never wanted to put it down when I read it. This book is a good read and I would recommend for 5-9 grades.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Extremely good book

    The Farfield Curse is very magical and well written. I highly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    Information

    I have not read this book, but it sounds good. Help!! ( you can watch Kaleb Nation on You Tube.)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Read

    Read the first one and i am DYING to read the second one 5 stars all the way! Bran hambric is action packed and filled with magic and adventure

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Awsome!

    Great book! Just sad shambles had to die :(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Bran Hambric is AWESOME!!!

    I love Bran Hambric soooo Much I wonder if Kaleb is going to make a 3rd one...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of my all time favorites.

    I loved this book so much. It reminded me of harry potter in a way. Although it was completly different from any other book I have read. I loved the characters of the book, they always kept me laughing. The dialouge between characters was genious. I can't wait for the next book of the series to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    Bran Hambric: the Farfield Curse

    Bran Hambric written by Kaleb Nation is by far the best book I've ever read. The twists and turns and the funny imagination of the writer is just truely amazing and it fills our imagination with a new perspective. I highly reccomend this book if you're interested in fantasy and magic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mysterious Mage

    Nation has constructed an interesting and imaginative world in Bran Hambric. It's Potter-esque lore of magic and mysticism is likely to enthrall the most reluctant of middle-grade and young adult aged readers.

    Where it falls a bit short, however, is segueing into the audience of adult readers which I whole-heartedly recognize is not it's purpose or goal. While the vivid imagery and creative characterizations make great strides in that direction the slower story-telling made it difficult to grab hold and really stay invested in the outcome. This is exemplified most in the heavy focus on the character of Sewey. A healthy amount of time was spent showcasing his curmudgeonly and grumpy nature - a point that was made several chapters in and would have sufficed. Moreover, what made this aspect more difficult to deal with was the fact that his constant presence didn't do much to further the main plot. Ultimately I struggled with the fact that this focus was time that could have been spent developing far more critical characters.

    In my humble opinion, a great place to focus some of that attention would have been in further developing Emry. Now, I caveat this by saying that the lack of true depth of focus on Emry may have been designed to keep the mystery of her involvement in the Farfield Curse alive..but, still there could have been more focus on her in a historical perspective so that the ultimate reveal at the end of the story was more powerful. The same holds true of characters involved in the Farfield aspect of the plot - more on Elspeth, Joris and other critical characters to the story of the Curse and it's role in Bran's life may have provided the reader more investment in the story earlier on.

    Speaking of the curse it took us over 2/3 of the book to really get deeper into that part of the story. This was a shame since it was the best and most thought provoking part of the novel. It is here that Nation found his stride as he revealed secrets long held back and allowed the reader to see how character's lives were truly intertwined. There were unexpected connections and surprising revelations that finally gave the reader that 'can't put it down' page turner aspect they longed for. It is in the chapters where Bran is in Farfield that the most compelling and enjoyable parts of the story are provided. Furthermore, Nation did an excellent job of making the mystery mysterious, I did not find myself predicting what was going to happen. The foreshadowing was subtle and kept the doors open for events to happen any number of ways. I appreciated that I wasn't lead through the story with my hand held the entire time.

    Nation's Bran Hambric series has enormous potential and despite what I personally found to be hurdles I can see the appeal of this book for it's target audience. I would certainly recommend this first book to middle graders and younger skewing young adults. Further, given the writing and plotting of the last 1/3 of this book I too am interested to see if the next book in Bran's story picks up where Nation found his stride in Farfield Curse.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    I love it.

    I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Great

    This was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Amazing

    Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Looking for a good read? I recommend Bran Hambric: TheFarfield


    Looking for a good read? I recommend Bran Hambric: TheFarfield Curse by Kaleb Nation. He thinks it's great choice for fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and Fablehaven.
    Here's the lowdown: Bran’s mother was a criminal. Her crime was magic and magic,it seems, runs in the family. When Bran's mother gets involved with a sorcerer trying to make an evil curse, she hides her young son in a bank vault to protect him. She knows dark wizards will come after Bran because he has the power to finish the curse. Bran spends the next 8 years living with a banker's family in a town where magic is illegal. His step family mistreats him. But one day, thereis a break-in and Bran is given a clue about his mother. The clue leads him to discover his own magic powers. Bran has a destinyto fulfill--it could be for good or it could be for evil. Read the book to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    hmm...

    this book was....THE BEST BOOK EVER. ONE OF THE BEST I HAVE EVER READ. ITS FUNNY, SMART, AND FAST PACED. THE BEGINNING ISNT ALL THAT GREAT, BUT THE SUSPENSE AND ACTION LEAVES YOU BREATHLESS. THE CHARACTERS ARE GREAT, I REALLY THINK THAT ANYONE WHO IS CONSIDERING THIS BOOK SHOULD GET IT. IF YOU LIKE MYSTERY AND CRIME BOOKS, GET THIS. IF YOU LIKE ACTION, GET THIS, AND IF YOU LIKE ROMANCE...DONT GET THIS. BUT EITHER WAY, JUST GET IT CAUSE ITS WELL WORTH THE MONEY! THANK YOU KALEB!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Humorous and Full of Magic - A Great Read

    What Kaleb Nation has done with Bran Hambric is what all aspiring authors should aim for. The Farfield Curse is interesting, enthralling, and extremely well-written. Nation infuses his characters with so much life and heart that they leap off the pages.

    Bran instantly draws readers in with the mystery behind his story - who is he and why doesn't he remember anything from his childhood? He's intelligent and sarcastic and is surrounded by an insane family. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about the Wilomas' and their strange behavior, eccentricities, and very stilted values. Sewey, Bran's father figure (if you can even call him that) does some of the most crazy things, but it makes the story that much more entertaining because I wouldn't put anything past him. The relationship between Bran and Rosie, the 'maid,' is so touching and caring. I loved reading their interactions.

    The city of Dunce is a magic-free zone, but signs of magic are all over the place. A favorite bit of the story for me was Dunce's need to be magic free, including hanging a sign outside the gates that states:
    no gnomes
    no mages
    etcetera
    A good number of jokes spring from this and I just loved how it was consistently tied into other aspects of the tale.

    Even though Dunce is magic-free, Nation brings boatloads of magic to the story. The book is split into four parts and had the beginning not been so funny and filled with crazy Wilomas doings, I may have been bored because the magic doesn't really begin until part two opens up. But once part two begins, magic takes hold of the story, in the best possible way.

    Kaleb Nation has melded this fantastical world with the very typical, everyday life in ways that work in perfect harmony. Bran Hambric took hold of my heart and never let go. So much so, that I'm more than eager to pick up the next book to see where the gnomes, mages, and etceteras lead to next.

    Opening line: The night was cold and dead, and so felt Clarence's heart. ~ pg. xiii

    Favorite lines: "You don't know.or maybe you do know how it feels to lose something that's so important to you, even when you've never had it, you miss it like your life is dependent on it." ~ pg. 286

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BRINGING BACK THE MAGES!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thanks, to my dear friend Caleb during my plane trip to and from Florida, I got to read this novel. When I first read it, I was immediatley brought in by it's well written and captivating story line. It has all the proper makings to become the best seller it deserves to be. Another helpful thing about this novel is that you can take the joureny of how it's made on YouTube by watching Kaleb Nation (the author) vlogs (video logs) Even though, it has been 3, almost 4 months, I still remember the very beginning and the very end. I also remember him learning about it. The main charcter is very relatable too. The only disappointing part about the novel was the fact that had a very slow middle area, but the reason why (as I figured out thanks to my epic problem solving mind) because of him learning about who he truly is (a mage) and that is something that can take a long time, and can be a an adeventure itself. Thank you, Kaleb Nation for bringing back the wizards from the vampire phenomenon. And thank you Caleb, my friend, for letting me read your book while I was on vacation!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic unique book

    This was a really great book. I can honestly say I have never read anything like it before. It was so interesting and I always wanted to know what would happen next. A grade A fantasy book. Although some of the writing is repetitious it was still a very well-written book. I can't wait for the next book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining

    Includes probably the most ridiculous and over the top family I have ever come across, but an entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written!

    Filled with action and mystery, this book was beautifully written. Bran Hambric is a boy who lives in a city where magic and gnomes are outlawed, living with the Willomases. Silly and wacky are the adjectives I would use to describe them, but their humor provides comic relief for a lot of dark serious moments throughout the book. There are a lot of moments that remind me of Harry Potter, but this book is much too different to be compared to it. They're both great books and this one just so happens to have gnomes in it. Any book that has gnomes in it is cool in my opinion. =D I highly recommend this book to all; young and old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6