Customer Reviews for

Farm Team

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    a great book for all ages

    This book tells of a young boy named Billy who has to take care of his dad's farm after he goes to jail. Billy also loves to play baseball but had to quit his highchool team to care for the farm. So Billy and his mom build a baseball field on the farm and after practicing for about three weeks with their team challenge the towns youth baseball team at the farm. I liked this book because its easy for me to relate to because my father is constantly in and out of jail and I feel like I am like the man of the house when he is not there just like Billy did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Farm versus Town Battle

    Farm Team is a book that revolves around a redneck boy named Billy in the spring and summer of 1971. Billy is the son of Mavis and Abner Baggs. He was born and raised on the farm. Billy wants to play baseball for the town team but his dad has him too occupied on the farm. Then, a car salesman named Randy Meyers sells Mavis a piece of junk car that stops running. Old Abner was mad. To get back at Meyers, Abner destroyed all of his cars and his business with his farm machinery. All that did was get Abner put in jail, leaving Billy in charge of the whole entire farm. You would think that would make it even harder for Billy to play ball. However, Mavis and Billy found spare time to make a baseball field in their pasture and organize a farm team. The greatest battle to occur in Flint for many years was the Farm Team versus the Town Team. To find out who wins, I guess you¿ll just have to read the book yourself. I really enjoyed reading Farm Team, written by Will Weaver. The book was about baseball, and it also had a very unique main character. One thing I didn¿t like was how the story ended. It should have talked more about what happened after the game. However, the book always had something interesting going on in it. I would recommend this book to more guys than girls. If you are any person who likes baseball, boy or girl, this is a good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Billy's Field

    During the summer of 1971 Billy Baggs went through a crazy time. Billy¿s father (Abner) got mad at the car dealership fro ripping off Mavis (Billy¿s mom), so he went into action. He took his Caterpillar and crushed almost every car in the lot. The cops came and took him to jail where he had to serve sixteen months. Abner¿s bail was set at $6,000, so he told Billy to go to the bank and have them order $6,000 dollars in dimes. While Billy was doing things for his father he had to run the family farm and wanted to play on the Town Team baseball team. He wasn¿t able to so Mavis and Billy made a baseball field in the cow pasture. They put out flyers so that people would know to come watch and play in the games. Only enough people showed up for one team so they called themselves The Farm Team. They wanted to set up a game with the Town Team, so Coach Anderson (town team¿s baseball coach) set up a game. You¿ll have to read the book to find out what happens next. I thought that this book never really had any slow or boring points. Throughout the book there was always something going on. Farm Team is the first in a three book series about Billy Baggs, and his baseball adventure¿s. It doesn¿t really matter what order you read them in there¿s just some details that you don¿t know but they aren¿t any real important details. Farm Team and the movie Field of Dreams are alike because in both of them the main character builds a field on a farm, and people come and watch the games. I think that anyone who read this book would like it. The Billy Baggs novels are very good books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    Baseball and Farming: how to manage both

    Billy Baggs lives on a farm twenty miles from the town of Flint. He is a fourteen year old boy who enjoys playing baseball but rarely can play because he always has farm work to do. When his father gets put in jail all the farm work is left for Billy by himself. Coach Anderson, the town baseball coach, wants Billy to play baseball on the town team, but he can¿t because he has to much work to do. So how can Billy take care of the farm and still play baseball? I don¿t know, you¿ll have to read and find out. I liked this book because there was so much action in it. There was always something happening throughout the whole book. I also liked that it was so realistic because farm kids usually don¿t get the chance to play baseball because they are always busy on the farm. This book is part of the Billy Baggs series. There are three books in the series and this is number two. It helps if you read them in order because it gives you a lot of background information in the earlier books. I think this is more of a book for boys because it is about baseball, farming, and most of the characters are guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    A Farm Boys Life and His Love for Baseball

    Billy is a fourteen year old boy who lives in Flint, Minnesota. Billy has to run the farm by himself since his dad went to jail. Billy does a good job with the farm, but it is hard work for a fourteen year old boy to do by himself. Billy also has to give up baseball, a sport he loved and was very good at. Then one day his mom came home from work and she asked Billy if he wanted to throw a baseball with her. Billy said yes, and while they were throwing, they decided to make a baseball team with the farmers and neighbors in their area. I really enjoyed this book, and didn¿t really think anything was bad or confusing about it. The narrator pretty much stays the same the whole time so it is not confusing. I also loved how I could relate to the book, because Billy loves baseball and the farm and so do I. The book starts out pretty exciting and then it slows down a little and then picks back up until the end. You are also left wondering a lot of the time what is going to happen next. I am pretty sure this book is part of a series, but it can be read without reading the rest of the series because I never read the other books and I understood it fine. This book doesn¿t remind me of any movies or T.V. shows I¿ve seen before. I think guys who like baseball and farming will really enjoy this book. I also think if you enjoyed books by Dan Gutman or Gary Paulsen you will like this book by Will Weaver. I really enjoyed this book but I guess it is because I really enjoyed the topics, farm and baseball. I think this is a great book and people should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Farming or Baseball?

    Billy Baggs is in trouble this because he has no time for the thing he loves the most, baseball. He has to work on the farm all the time due to the fact his fathers in jail. Billy¿s father, Abner, was mad at Randy Myers, a car dealer, for selling his wife a junk car. So Abner crushed every car Randy was trying to sell, and he went to jail for it. Billy is now on his own with running the farm with a little help from Mavis, his mother, once in a while. Billy is pretty forlorn about not being able to play baseball. He plays a little catch with his dog, Skinner. One night, Mavis decides to go play some catch. She thinks they should build a ball field for a team. Mavis starts making flyers for people to come to the farm on Friday. Billy starts making a field with bases, a fence, and a pitchers mound. Friday came and a Mexican family who spoke little English joined them. They had two boys who were really good, Raul and Jesus. The Erickson sister showed up as well as Big Danny Boyer. They soon realized they had no one to play but Billy said they could have the Farm Team versus the Town Team. Billy will face his arch rival King Kenwood. Who will win? I liked this book because it was about baseball. Baseball is one of my favorite sports. So if you like Baseball this is for you. I also liked that it was a good book that was hard to put down. This book has almost no flaws. It was very good. This book is apart of the Billy Baggs series and you should read them in order. This is the second one in the series. This series is very good and all baseball lovers should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2001

    Great Sports and Friendship Book!

    This book is about a boy named Billy Baags and how he makes friends with this boy Aaron Goldberg. It is also about how the farm team plays the big city league team. This is a challenge between the two teams to see who is better at baseball, a big good city team and a farm team with not so good players. I really enjoyed the book Farm Team, by Will Weaver. This is a very good book to read if you love sports and friendship books. Jessica G.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    Farm Team

    From the beginning, I wasn't interested in this book, but the interesting cover drew me into it. By the end of the first chapter, I knew this was a book that I would enjoy. From Billy's humorous father, to his lovable dog, Skinner, this book had a great number of events, which were all exciting. This book isn't just for baseball lovers, any one can read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    Farm Team

    I wasn't sure about this book at first, but the interesting book cover drew me to it. As I read the first chapter, I could see that I would like this book. It is about baseball, but if you don't like baseball, you could still like the book. There were so many different events, that tied in with baseball. Billy's family humored me throughout the book. His father was quite a character, and my favorite member of the family was Skinner the dog. All in all I say this book was one of the best that I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1