Customer Reviews for

Farmer Boy (Little House Series: Classic Stories #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    Almanzo Wilder is a farmer, who wants to be just as hard a worke

    Almanzo Wilder is a farmer, who wants to be just as hard a worker as his father is. He helps his family by working with their crops of hay, selling the potatoes, hoeing carrots, planting corn & pumpkins, and picking berries. He learns how to do everything else on the farm too, like dealing with the sheep & pigs, to training the young oxen & horses, to gathering the sap from the trees.

    Almanzo also does things that other children do, like going to school, or sledding on a winter day, and sometimes he gets in trouble, whether he's in it by himself or with his older brother & sisters. There's usually something exciting going on, like the County Fair, or a holiday like Independence Day. When Mother & Father leave for a few days, what do you think the children do in their absence?

    He's a hungry growing boy and it seems that the Wilder's table is always overflowing with good home-cooked food, so there's plenty, even for Almanzo's very large appetite.

    "Farmer Boy" is the third book in the "Little House" series, but since Almanzo's story isn't connected to the other stories in the series, you can read this book at any time, even if you haven't read any of the other books.

    A few years ago, my family read this book aloud, and I've read it again myself since then. I enjoy reading the "Little House" books, and this one is a definite favorite. I think anyone, boys or girls, would like reading this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Excellent read

    I bought this book to read with my 5 year old son who loves learning about what life was like in the past (especially during 'pioneer' times). We visited the Farmer's Museum in Cooperstown, NY this past summer and he relates much of what he saw there to Almanzo's life. He has very little difficulty reading this book, but prefers to hear me read it to him. Some parts have been very excting, and others are a little more harsh than I had originally wanted to discuss with him (the death of a past school teacher being beaten to death by an unruly group of students---don't worry this info does not spoil any part of the book ¿), but he is very mature for his five years and has been able to deal with it. We are loving this book so far....I would highly recommend this book to any child interested in learning about life in the late 1800's or agriculture/ growing up on a farm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A summer of great reading memories with my boys!

    I have 3 boys ages 8, 9 1/2 and 11 1/2 and last summer we read some of Farmer Boy. We would start our reading time with 3 boys but my youngest was not yet old enough to sit still and listen through a whole chapter and so not everyone heard all of the chapters. Without full participation, my commitment faltered and we ended up not finishing the book. This summer the boys asked if Farmer Boy could be our Summer Bedtime Book again, so I gave it another try. After they are in their PJs, they all bring their pillows, fuzzy blankets and bean bags into the living room and we usually make it through a couple of chapters in an evening. We often stop to talk about vocabulary words to make sure that everyone is learning new words as well as understanding the words in the context that they are used (like "gay" means "happy" in this book.) My boys love their Wii, TV and Nintendo DSs, however this book can keep their attention beautifully! What I love the most are the memories that I am making with my boys. So the other day I came up with the idea of buying them each their own copy of Farmer Boy (the copy that I have been reading out of is my yellowed, tattered paperback copy that was printed in 1971.) With each copy, I will write them each a note to help them remember our fun Farmer Boy reading time during the summer of 2010. I will place the 3 copies with their notes in my hope chest and give the books to them when they each become fathers. Though far from Super Mom, sometimes when I do nurturing or fun things with my boys I tell them, "Promise me that you will do this with your children some day." I do hope that they remember and continue with this great tradition of reading to their kids! Now go read to your kids, grandchildren or even your spouse, it really is a fun way to bond!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Farmer Boy

    Laura Ingalls Wilder's "Farmer Boy" is a wonderful story. A break in the Little House series, it tells the story of the boyhood of Mrs. Wilder's husband, Almanzo. It makes excellent reading for adults as well as children, and keeps alive the tradition, knowledge and lore of hands-on farming. Who today would think of saving potatoes from frost by pouring water on the plants before the sun can hit them? Who today grasps the notion that draft animals need to be trained with love and (unending) patience?

    But more than this, it's also the story of a boy being raised to understand his world and his place in it. Being raised in a time when children are meant to be seen and not heard, Almanzo nevertheless has ample opportunity to observe his elders, to ask questions, and even express his own opinion. The way his father teaches him the value of money is both striking and deep. It's especially significant today, when children do not work, and have little or no grasp on what money and the things it buys are worth.

    Furthermore, it is a snapshot of life in America at a time before living memory. Mrs. Wilder herself espoused the belief that in order to understand where one is going, he/she needs to understand where he/she came from. Anyone who wants to understand where America came from has to read "Farmer Boy." It is not about key events, significant dates or wars. Rather, it is about people; how they lived, how they worked, what they did for fun and what their values were. These are things are real history, and need to be both preserved and savored.

    Mrs. Wilder's books preserve them. Reading the books allows us to savor them, as well as learn from them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The title, Farmer Boy, says exactly what the book is about---life and times of a child growing up on a farm in the 1800's.

    I should have read this book as a child, but somehow I missed it. Farmer Boy is a must for all children and parents to read. The first time I read this was when I used to read to my young children before they went to sleep each night. Farmer Boy was a favorite with all of them and they learned many good lessons from it. Of my five children, two of them now have children old enough to read on their own. It doesn't surprise me that they are reading (along with the help of their parents) Farmer Boy and the other books in the wonderful series written by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Still Appealing

    I bought this series for my grandaughter because I enjoyed it so much as a child. My daughter also enjoyed it and now her daughter does too.
    This is semi-biographical and historical, written in beautiful prose for all ages. In our busy materialistic society, it is good to be reminded
    of how these pioneers in early America had so little and lived honestly
    and could be appreciative and happy. The Wilder books are universally appealing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Another Laura Ingalls Wilder favorite

    Good book. Nice to read the history of Manly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Excellent story !!

    This story of Almanzo Wilder's boyhood was well written by Laura Ingalls Wilder.Not only did readers learn that the Wilders lived differentally than the Ingalls family there are many wonderful stories of Almanzo's boyhood days in this book for all to share,frorm raising a milk-fed pumpkin to his first colt named Star. I would recomend this book to everyone....young and old alike. I began reading these books at age 8 and I am 53 now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Change of Pace

    Farmer Boy was a change of pace from the other Little House book series. The Wilder family did not want for anything. In contrast, the Ingalls family were poor and lived in tiny houses and seems to always wonder where their food was coming from one meal to the next. Apart from that, I actually enjoy the books of Laura's childhood better than Almanzo's. Even though the Ingalls were dirt poor there is a certain charm.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Outstanding

    This book gave me an idea of what Almanzo's life was before he moved out west. I loved it! Laura Ingalls is a very talented writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    An interesting novel

    This book was an interesting and facinating novel. This novel has all the excitment and all the very distinguished words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2003

    Laura Ingalls Wilder hits a 'homerun' again!

    One of many 'homeruns' hit by Laura Ingalls Wilder! Great Story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    Teacher's Choice

    The students in my 4th grade classroom love this book. It teaches values, work ethics,and is interesting for kids to read. Little House book have been a favorite of mine since I was in 4th grade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    Wonderful farmer boy review

    Farmer Boy is about the childhood of Almonzo Wilder. I really like this book. It's a great book. I recommend you or your children read this book and find out more about Almonzo Wilder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    Farmer Boy

    i think this is the best Laura Inglles Wilder EVER wrote. it's become my favorite book i've read for years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2