Customer Reviews for

The Farmer Next Door (Brides of Amish Country Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A special romance

    Amish romances are plentiful these days so it takes a special one to catch my eye. Patricia Davids's new book, The Farmer Next Door, is a gem that sparkled from the moment I picked it up. The author's humor, compassion, deep insights, and relevant plot make the Amish widow and widower theme fresh and exciting. The hero and heroine are imperfect human beings navigating between two worlds with unspoken longing for companionship and respect for their community. Unexpected plot twists jumped off the pages I was turning as quickly as I could read them. I found myself laughing at the antics of widow Faith Martin's alpacas and drawn into the struggles of widower neighbor Adrian Lapp. The emotional twists and turns of their romance left me sighing, smiling, and tearful. Their fears and spiritual struggles are described in a way guaranteed to ring true to readers who can learn much from their story of old lives set aside and new beginnings found. From the alpacas raised by the Amish heroine to the interactions with the Zooks, The Farmer Next Door is a delightful keeper.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Loved this book

    I love books with a different twist and there were several in this one. Good job!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Loved it!

    Great story. I enjoyed reading it!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    I loved the story, the way it was written and would recommend all to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    A very pleasant, touching story

    This was a wonderful story to read. The characters were realistic and their story was quite touching. I found myself getting teary in several scenes. I enjoyed the story and am eager to read more from the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    The best one yet!

    This whole series is great...very well written and heart warming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Wonderful and a quick read

    I love how Ms. Davids told the complete story and did not cheat the reader with an ending that left you wondering how the characters got there. Love, faith and perseverence is something I could read about again. And again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    5 Star All The Way! I love a good story about love,


    5 Star All The Way!





    I love a good story about love, forgiveness, learning to trust again, and reconnecting with God. This book is about all of them.

    This book is a fast read and one that I picked up as often as I could. I loved all the characters in this book including an animal named Myrtle! The main characters Adrian Lapp and Widow Faith Martin will steal your hearts. When you place two hurting people together something is bound to happen. Both have vowed never to marry again.

    This was just a delightful read for me. I found myself laughing out loud when it came to Myrtle.
    I know you will too! The ending of this story had me crying. It just touched my heart so much as I'm sure it will yours.

    I have read five of this author's books so far. I am about to start on number six.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Why wont this post

    Wwwwhhhyyyyy?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    Recommend for light Romance Readers

    This was my first Amish "romance" and I really liked it because it gets to the heart of what a relationship is all about - selfless love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Nice read!

    I really enjoyed this book. It shows that the Amish are real people with real problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Greatt!

    Loved this Amish story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great Book

    This is an excellent book! I have read several of Patricia Davids books and this is my favorite so far. I couldn't wait to see how it would end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Loved it!

    I couldn't put it down I had to read it through. I loved the characters, plot, everything. A MUST READ BOOK !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Read

    Adrian has lost a lot in his life and is struggling with his simple faith. Now enter Faith Martin, who's got hard memories of her own, a rundown farm she needs to get up to code soon if she wants to win custody of her orphaned nephew and fit into this new Amish community - and a VERY unusual herd of farm animals. Adrian soon finds himself drawn to help her and soon they are both wondering if their lives could once again mend into a family.
    Family, faith, friendship, humor and all the wonderful things you expect from the series. Past characters from the series also make cameos, giving you the feeling of continuity as well as community warmth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2