Customer Reviews for

The Farming of Bones

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I read this book twice, I couldn't get enough

I LOVE AMABELLE'S STRENGTH, LOVE AND DEDICATION TO THE ONES SHE LOVED. SHE DIDN'T GIVE UP ON FINDING SEBASTIEN, THE ONLY ONE SHE EVER LOVED. SHE DIDN'T WANT TO DIE, SHE WANTED TO LIVE FOR HER PARENTS AND SEBASTIEN. IN HAITI, I USED TO HEAR RUMORS ABOUT HOW HAITIANS W...
I LOVE AMABELLE'S STRENGTH, LOVE AND DEDICATION TO THE ONES SHE LOVED. SHE DIDN'T GIVE UP ON FINDING SEBASTIEN, THE ONLY ONE SHE EVER LOVED. SHE DIDN'T WANT TO DIE, SHE WANTED TO LIVE FOR HER PARENTS AND SEBASTIEN. IN HAITI, I USED TO HEAR RUMORS ABOUT HOW HAITIANS WERE TREATED IN DOMINICAN REPUBLIC BACK THEN, BUT I FINALLY BELIEVED. THIS BOOK TOOK ME TO A PLACE I'VE NEVER EVEN BEEN TO.

posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Farming of Bones

The Farming of Bones was a book that I was very unsure about in several areas while I was reading it. I felt that the style of writing throughout the book was inconsistent. Sometimes it would be interesting, detailed, and easy to read, while other times it was unclear a...
The Farming of Bones was a book that I was very unsure about in several areas while I was reading it. I felt that the style of writing throughout the book was inconsistent. Sometimes it would be interesting, detailed, and easy to read, while other times it was unclear and lengthy with extemporaneous discriptions. The actual plot of The Farming of Bones was interesting, but it could not always be easily understood. For example, the ending; it was difficult to decipher whether Amabelle was cleansing herself in the river or committing suicide. It is understandable that maybe the author wanted an element of mystery, but it left the book without any closure.
I would not recommend The Farming of Bones to someone looking for a light, easy read. The book was complex and depressing; it was probably more appealing to someone who likes analysis and intricate themes.

posted by dcicero on November 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2001

    I read this book twice, I couldn't get enough

    I LOVE AMABELLE'S STRENGTH, LOVE AND DEDICATION TO THE ONES SHE LOVED. SHE DIDN'T GIVE UP ON FINDING SEBASTIEN, THE ONLY ONE SHE EVER LOVED. SHE DIDN'T WANT TO DIE, SHE WANTED TO LIVE FOR HER PARENTS AND SEBASTIEN. IN HAITI, I USED TO HEAR RUMORS ABOUT HOW HAITIANS WERE TREATED IN DOMINICAN REPUBLIC BACK THEN, BUT I FINALLY BELIEVED. THIS BOOK TOOK ME TO A PLACE I'VE NEVER EVEN BEEN TO.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    Tearjerker and reality-Farming of Bones

    I thought this book was an excellent representation of how life was treated back in 1937 in the Dominican Republic and Haiti. Not only was this a pure love story, but it was so factual and real. Danticat does an excellent job with her writing this novel, and deserves an applause. This book was touching and gripping at the same time. Annabelle the main character was caught in your mind for days afterwards..Sebastien and Annabelle make an adoring couple, even though they are so young. The end of the novel was beautifully written, which for all you readers out there, I do not wish to spoil the ending for you:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2000

    A wonderful novel.

    This is a beautiful and haunting tale. I selected it for my book club and it rendered a complex and interesting discussion. I have visited the Dominican Republic and her lush illustrations brought back memories for me. I also learned a lot about Dominican and Haitian history and relations-- history and relations that are not taught to students here in the U.S. This book has universal appeal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    A Highly Recommended Excursion into a Hidden History

    No more will Africans let others define African history from non-African perspectives. This is what this young yet talented writer, Edwidge Danticat, seems to say with each stroke of her pen. She sincerely articulates the pains of suffers of voiceless and oppressed. She has taken the resposibility to represent their contributions to history by legitimizing their pains, struggles, and triumphs by acknowledging them on the page. Which she successfully accomplishes here with her third novel 'Farming for Bones.' This story chronicles the turbulent life of a young Haitian-Dominican girl in Trujillo's Dominican Republic. The story follows along in Danticat's magically style reminiscent of Caribbean authors like Maryse Conde. Yet it still maintains a credibility that historians would appreciate. Her skill is fully apparent when one recognizes that she seamlessly combines fact and fiction, truth and story telling, history and thought. We would only hope that she continues to stay true to that inner voice that is the thread that has tied her three novels together. From one African to another, stay Black stay beautiful Edwidge! We are proud of you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I read The Farming of Bones in one day. The story was compellin

    I read The Farming of Bones in one day. The story was compelling, the characters engaging, and the writing was prefect. Danticat had me hooked all the way through. An added plus was that it is historical fiction, my favorite genre.

    The Farming of Bones takes place during Rafael Trujillo reign of power in the Dominican Republic. Personally, I know very little about the Dominican Republic and it history. Most of what I know about this period I learned form The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz, which I read back in 2009. The Farming of Bones, gave me another chance to learn about this moment in history and from the view point of a foreigner living in the Dominican Republic during the unrest. I could help about shuffle through my memory every now and again to remember bits and pieces of Diaz's novel and what I learned there to apply to this one. It was interesting to learn about the discrimination that Haitian workers experienced in the Dominican Republic, the history of the conflict between Haiti and the DR, as well the Massacre of 1937. This information along with the characters, their backstories and Danticat's writing style combined lead to a real page turner.

    I can't say that I liked one character more than another. They were all so well developed and thought out. The author could give you glimpses into the each characters background and what brought them to this moment in time. This made me keep turning pages to find out more about them and what fate had in store for them. The main character, Amabelle was the most flushed out (of course) and her story was heartbreaking at times (most of the time). I found myself rooting for her and hoping that by the time I got to the last page she would finally find even a little bit of happiness and peace. Her story did not end the way that I had hoped, but it felt right. I didn't find myself second guessing, there was no "What? Where did that come from?" moment. Danticat's choices for Amabelle (or any of the characters) were very much in line with the way the story was going, no surprise illogical twist.

    The writing style was amazing. That is the only way that I can describe it. One of my favorite passages:

    I will say that for me the end was a little unsatisfying. I felt that Danticat tried to wrap everything up with a bow. The ending seemed a little rushed to me and did not as nicely together with the story as the rest of the parts. In this case, there are somethings that I wish she had left me to wonder about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Amazing

    Made me think about the real problems at hand in our world. I cried several times through the novel, i would recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    The Farming of Bones

    The Farming of Bones was a book that I was very unsure about in several areas while I was reading it. I felt that the style of writing throughout the book was inconsistent. Sometimes it would be interesting, detailed, and easy to read, while other times it was unclear and lengthy with extemporaneous discriptions. The actual plot of The Farming of Bones was interesting, but it could not always be easily understood. For example, the ending; it was difficult to decipher whether Amabelle was cleansing herself in the river or committing suicide. It is understandable that maybe the author wanted an element of mystery, but it left the book without any closure. <BR/> I would not recommend The Farming of Bones to someone looking for a light, easy read. The book was complex and depressing; it was probably more appealing to someone who likes analysis and intricate themes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    walker's review

    Farming of Bones Amabelle Désir came to the Dominican Republic a few years, after her parents drowned trying to cross a river. She was found on the bank of that river, and Amabelle is adopted by a wealthy family who allows her to work for them as a servant.sleep she iswoken up every night by the nightmare of her parents drowning. she pairs up with Sebastien, a Haitian who works the cane fields that have ripped most of the skin on his black face, leaving him with scars. Sebastien lost his father in a hurricane, and he understands how Amabelle is sad. they promised each other they look forward to sharing life, trying to heal the scars of their past.When Trujillo orders the Massacre and a word--perejil --determines who lives and who dies. Amabelle and Sebastien are separated. Once she makes the dangerous journey back to Haiti, escaping both Trujillo's soldiers and ordinary Dominican citizens, Amabelle searches for Sebastien, hoping that he, like Saint Sebastian could have two deaths. The first one comes quick enough, so it's good to have another one as back up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    A Compelling Book

    Though I did not pick up this book for pleasure reading, I found that indeed it was a pleasure to read. Through graphic and beautiful language Danticat paints a poignant picture of a land that not many of us have ever experienced. In her beautiful descriptions of the culture and the land she gives an truthful idea of the small country of Haiti. Though sometimes confusing and not fast-paced, the poetic language and short chapters in which she describes Amabelles dreams and thoughts make this book a treasure to read and a jewel of otherwise unknown knowledge. I highly recommend this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    A Very Good Book

    I deeply enjoyed reading this work for many reasons. As a haitian american I have always had an interest in understanding the history and problems which exist and have existed in Haiti, but in reading several texts I often find that the language of the genre is often uninteristing. For me Danticat changes that, she takes a historical event in Haitian history and structures it magnificently through the eyes of her young female character. I am glad that there is someone like Ms. Danticat in the literary world to help young Haitians like myself gain a better understanding of Haiti and its culture.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    A Beautiful, Heartbreaking Novel by Danticat

    Edwidge Danticat's The Farming of Bones is a work of art. Danticat masterfully evokes the atmosphere of hatred and terror of the massacre of Haitians by Dominicans through the eyes of Amabelle, a young woman with only a few memories of her childhood and an incredibly uncertain future. A wonderfully rich fictional account of an widely ignored atrocity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2001

    Phenomenal

    I could not absolutely put this book down. I believe that the author did a magnificent job at making the reader become part of the story. It is a must read. I absolutely loved it when I read it the first time and the second and the third time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2001

    A stunning novel

    Danticat has really captured the spirit of the persecution of the Haitian people. The story is riviting and captivating, and the characters entirely enthralling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    Brilliance at its best

    This book is absolutely wonderful, sad but wonderful! Danticat is a great writer and I can not wait her next arrival.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2