Customer Reviews for

The Fashion Disaster That Changed My Life

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wheb

IS THERE A SEQUELCOMMING OUT!?!? IF SO......WHEN?!?!

posted by 10464392 on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Parents read the book first - You may not want your child to read it.

First of all, I bought this book for my 9 year old daugher (going into 4th grade). We picked it out at the store and it looked really funny. I was unfamiliar with this author and, by chance was thumbing through the book at home and started reading. The story was pretty ...
First of all, I bought this book for my 9 year old daugher (going into 4th grade). We picked it out at the store and it looked really funny. I was unfamiliar with this author and, by chance was thumbing through the book at home and started reading. The story was pretty good but the thing that shocked me was a scene where the main character was at a sleep over with the popular girls. The girl hosting the sleepover took her friends to her parents room to go in her Mother's dresser drawers and pull out a copy of Playgirl, and also discovering a pack of condoms. While most 7th graders might not think anything of the scene, my 4th grader wouldn't have a clue what Playgirl was or condoms. Had I not read the book myself first, I would have been put in the position of having to answer questions about these things. I don't believe in sheltering children, but my daughter is not ready for a discussion regarding these things and I don't want to explain these things to her at such a young age. While I don't believe in censorship, I have told my daughter she can't read the book. I'm taking it back to the Barnes & Noble stoer. I will never buy another book by this author. The funny thing is that the whole scene was really unnecessary. This experience has really opened my eyes. I will not let my daughter read a book I am unfamiliar with unless I read it first.

posted by Anonymous on July 25, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Parents read the book first - You may not want your child to read it.

    First of all, I bought this book for my 9 year old daugher (going into 4th grade). We picked it out at the store and it looked really funny. I was unfamiliar with this author and, by chance was thumbing through the book at home and started reading. The story was pretty good but the thing that shocked me was a scene where the main character was at a sleep over with the popular girls. The girl hosting the sleepover took her friends to her parents room to go in her Mother's dresser drawers and pull out a copy of Playgirl, and also discovering a pack of condoms. While most 7th graders might not think anything of the scene, my 4th grader wouldn't have a clue what Playgirl was or condoms. Had I not read the book myself first, I would have been put in the position of having to answer questions about these things. I don't believe in sheltering children, but my daughter is not ready for a discussion regarding these things and I don't want to explain these things to her at such a young age. While I don't believe in censorship, I have told my daughter she can't read the book. I'm taking it back to the Barnes & Noble stoer. I will never buy another book by this author. The funny thing is that the whole scene was really unnecessary. This experience has really opened my eyes. I will not let my daughter read a book I am unfamiliar with unless I read it first.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    The Fashion Disaster That Changed my Life

    This book was said to be for girls as young as 10. To my dismay after choosing it for our mother/daughter book club, we realized there were references to sex, condoms & anatomy. This may not be appropriate for children that young.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    Parents Don't let your child read this

    This book is VERY innapropiate. There are many references to strippers and a girl gets her belly button pierced without parent permission lies about her age there is talk about condoms and many references to breasts. don't let your child read this.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Ehhhhh ok.........

    Um, i liked this besides the uhhh.....sexuel parts,Anyway,i think that like almost evreyone in this is sort of a jerk expesialy the popular girl.(the part where there chanting honey roasted(you know what) kind off annoyed me

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    Good, but inappropriate content

    My fifth-grade sister had this book in the car and I just picked it up and started reading it. It was very clever and witty, but there was inappropriate sexual content and 2 cuss words. I was embarassed thinking about her reading about strippers, among other things. I think it is fine for 7th grade and up, but definitely not before. Cool story, bad content.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    This was a great book, despite the few inappropriate and unnescesary things. Loved it! Every 7th and 8th grade girl should read it, since thats what its mostly about. It was so good it took me 2 days! Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    ok

    it was a pretty good book but a little too short for my 11 year old taste

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Wheb

    IS THERE A SEQUELCOMMING OUT!?!? IF SO......WHEN?!?!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    You should get this book!

    One of my favorite book! Lauren Myracle is one of the best authors ever! You should also read the Winnie Years!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    To all

    If u wanna get this book BUY IT DONT GET THE SAMPLE because the sample is 6 pages and thepart with the words is only one and a half. So if u wanna get it buy the book. Trust me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    How many pages is it?????

    How many?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Honey roasted! JK

    This book is funny and relatible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book !so funny!;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Uhhhhhhm.. no its horrible

    Its baaaad

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    So me

    Thx

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Dissapointed

    Deffinetly not one of Lauren's best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Shortness

    VERY SHORT!! Otherwise it waz good

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Good book

    This is a good book. Sort of have bad terms. But good over all. But anyway doesnt Jeremy Webster remind you of someone? He reminds me of this one guy that i go to the same classes with. His name is Ty. He's super weird ( in a funny way) and annoying, just like Jeremy. LOL!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Funny

    HONEY ROASTED PENIS! YAY!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Very good

    i do have to admit that it is hard to get into at first but trust me it gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5