BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fat Cat

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

FAT CAT = AWESOME!!!

This book was very inspiring to me. As a teenager, we as girls always feel insecure about our looks. But if we pay more attention to who we are and do what we feel is better for us as people, we will be better off. This novel teaches us that its not always the popular g...
This book was very inspiring to me. As a teenager, we as girls always feel insecure about our looks. But if we pay more attention to who we are and do what we feel is better for us as people, we will be better off. This novel teaches us that its not always the popular girl who gets the guy.

posted by Neyce123 on January 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Once you read this book, you'll want to look up more books by Robin Brande

I think we are all guilty of liking quick and easy to read chick-lit books. At first I thought "Fat Cat" was going to be another sappy teenage love story. But I was definitely wrong. Robin Brande writes not only about the drama that teenagers face on a daily basis, but ...
I think we are all guilty of liking quick and easy to read chick-lit books. At first I thought "Fat Cat" was going to be another sappy teenage love story. But I was definitely wrong. Robin Brande writes not only about the drama that teenagers face on a daily basis, but also incorporates a lot of different themes. The whole story is surrounded by this one science project that Catherine Locke (aka Kit Cat or Cat) is working on to beat her ex-best friend Matt McKinney. What starts out as a project for bragging rights, turns into a 207 day transformation. She becomes prehistoric (with minor changes) to "show the impact of environmental, nutritional, behavioral, and technological aspects of different lifestyles" (Brande321) to prove how unhealthy people are these days. Herself included. Cat looses weight and feels her body becoming healthier. With the help of her two best friends, her self esteem increases along with all the drama that comes with it. Her entire world starts changing and finally makes her confront her worst fear: Talking and reconnecting with Matt.
I like the way this book is written because the characters are well developed. Every single character makes some sort of transformation even if it is a small one. Like, her best friend Amanda becomes more patient and starts looking at situations in others perspectives.
I like that the ending is still sweet and leaves you happy but at the same time isn't perfect. It still has the disappointments teenagers' face, so it is realistic.
Aside from the information Brande gives about living a healthy lifestyle, this book also gives the reader little lessons. Not the revelation kind, but ones that make you rethink how you act with people or even live your daily life. For example one of the many quotes is, "Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler" (314). Not only did this line prove Cat's science project but it also showed that people over analyze everything. We make our lives too complicated for our own good. We should keep things simple but never lower our abilities. At least that is what I took from it.
Over all I really liked the book and would recommend it to any teenage girl. It's really relatable even if you are nothing like Cat. It's also one of those books that you can't put down. Not because of suspense, but because you become attached to the story and the characters. This book is like when you're watching a movie and you yell at your television when a character does something you don't like. In my eyes, if a book can make you do that, the author must be doing something right.

posted by TAnnC on April 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recomended for anyone looking for a good book to read

    I really liked this book and it's a good book for anyone to relate to. This book inspired me to just do something because Cat is so determined to get an A on her science project while at the same time trying to lose weight through the project. Really inspiring and highly recomended!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    <3 <3 <3

    A couple of years ago she overheard the person (who she thought was her best friend)say something that she never forget (dont want to give it away!) To get back at him she decides taht she is gunna whip his ass in the science competition. Her pledge: To find out what this new era of junk food and technology has dont to our bodies. She plans to accomplish this by using minimal technology and eating purely completley and absoloutly Natural! With her new but amazing best friend by her side, who knows how it could turn out!?

    I HEART YOU ROBIN BRANDE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    Catherine Locke has hated Matt McKinney ever since she overheard him say something mean about her at the seventh grade science fair. Before that fateful day, they were best friends. Now, she just wants to win this year's science fair. Science fair participation is a requisite for Mr. Fizer's Special Topics in Research Science class. The only problem is her project will depend on what picture she pulls from his stack. Mr. Fizer creates a folder with various pictures taken from magazines, and the students have to create a project around that picture. It could literally be anything and the students can't look when they pull a picture.

    Cat sees Matt actually smile when he looks at his selection. So when she pulls a picture of early hominis (think Neanderthals) surrounding a dead animal, she is devastated. How can she make THAT into a first place science project?

    Cat started plumping up in middle school. She used to love swimming, and the exercise kept her metabolism in check. But that one fateful summer, it seemed like her body took on a life of its own. Thankfully her best friend, Amanda, loves her just the way she is. So when Cat gets the idea to see how living like the early hominis would affect her, Amanda embraces the idea with her and supports her endeavor. Her parents, though not as quick to approve, finally agree, with the stipulation that Cat talks to the dietician at the hospital her mom works at, to ensure proper nutrition.

    This begins Cat's year-long journey of giving up modern technology, walking everywhere (though there were some safety exceptions included), and eating only what the early ancestors would have been able to produce. What Cat doesn't expect is how her body, and ultimately her own self-perception, changes during her scientific experiment. As the new Cat emerges, she finds the courage to finally confront Matt about the day that changed her life so long ago.

    FAT CAT is a fantastic book! I can't say enough about it Told in a sort of journal format, Cat shares her life as her science project progresses. The reader gets to feel her frustration, desperation, despair, uncertainty, and ultimately relief as she learns to accept herself for who she is. She realizes that she has used Matt as her reason for self-loathing, when it may have been far deeper than that. FAT CAT moved quickly, and as the pounds start to fall off Cat, you won't want to put the book down.

    One thing that really worked in the story is that not once does Ms. Brande reveal Cat's starting weight, nor what she wound up losing. The reader gets to experience the wonder of discovery with Cat and watch her blossom with her newfound confidence. Follow Cat on her science experiment and enjoy the ride. You won't be disappointed. I know I wasn't!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a fluffy makeover story.

    What a great book. I loved the premise - overweight girl takes a project to the extreme by changing her lifestyle to that of our distant ancestors, cutting out processed food and modern conveniences. Not only does Cat overhaul her eating, but she overhauls herself, digging deep and finding the real girl inside. This was a different take on the regular girl makeover story - one that felt real and authentic and not based purely on looks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fat Cat!

    Fat Cat is Robin Brande's 2nd novel that I have read. the first being Evolution, Me and other freaks of nature. I absolutely loved Evolution, and I knew I would like Fat Cat as well.
    Fat Cat had well developed characters, good writing, and was an overall good book. Cat started out as a smart, fat, and shy girl with no boyfriend at all. She was always the third wheel. Then she starts this obsessive diet plan for a project and gets people to start noticing her. The story follows Cat over the course of half a school year as she goes through her struggles with this project. This was a good concept because most books only take place for a month or two, not a long journey where you jump into their lives at different times every chapter. Robin's style of using foreshadowing in her writing makes this book even better. While I like Evolution, me and other freaks of nature a tiny bit better, Fat Cat was still a really good book that I would'nt mind reading again and again and again...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    such an amazing book :D...plotline is something u dont always read...i soooooooo love it, higly recomend it to anybody!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    :DDDDDLOVE IT!!!that's all i can say!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Poop

    No cat just a six hundrid poud person

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Whaaa

    I thought dis wuz about a cat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Flamestar

    Firestar of corse

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    To all the ppl/cats

    Or wht ever u are. You guys are feaks. Thank u have a nice day. Bye bye now.. im not kiddng tho. U guys are pretty weird

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Aqua Shine

    "Just leave!" She snarls. "We don't need any trouble."

    ~Aqua Shine

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Shadow

    Hi im shadow i want to join i posted in the last res.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Himi

    -she unsheaths her claws-
    What's going on?
    ~ Himi

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Darkheart

    "Is this starclan?"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Frostdrop (star)

    Pass in

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    So good

    He

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Topclaw

    I was whatching you and stormflash when you were alive i whatched as he saved natureflower i also whatched after yur death i was thinkingvto start a starclan council to see if we should let you back to blazeclan to be with stormflash

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Shadowstar

    Yippie an earthquake!!!! Jumps around play fully

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Come one, come all! To SKY, all results, all capitals!

    Join SoulClan! Just go to SKY, all results, all capitals. I, Magicsoul, will be there, waiting eagerly for you. (My pelt, as you can see, is reddish-gold, and my beautiful eyes are as gold- silver as the moon.)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Loudclaw

    Well now Morningsky is the leader; Morningstar. She's fair. I am not going to be deputy... but we must have you back. I know lies. I was born and raised around a lie. It's okay. Look at me now. I was exiled because of the lie. I found SkyClan. I am a descendant of Sky, Thunder, Shadow, River, and Wind. Because of this I am highly adaptable to different situations. Don't worry about it. I can guide you home. *earth rumbles* TAKE SHELTER! IT IS AN EARTHQUAKE!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4