Customer Reviews for

The Fat Flush Plan

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Life Changing

Ann Louise Gittleman's Fat Flush book has literally changed my life. I have been struggling with my weight for 50, yes, 50 years!!! (I am currently 61). I have tried every diet known to mankind without much success - until I happened upon this book through a friend's...
Ann Louise Gittleman's Fat Flush book has literally changed my life. I have been struggling with my weight for 50, yes, 50 years!!! (I am currently 61). I have tried every diet known to mankind without much success - until I happened upon this book through a friend's recommendation. Since my early 40's I have also struggled with the aches and pains of ageing - shoulder pain, foot pain, etc, etc, etc.

After I completed phase #1 (the detox stage) I experienced a euphoria that I still carry with me - literally all my aches and pains disappeared - no more swelling of the feet, shoulder pain, arthritic pain in my hands - the list goes on and on. A side benefit to the physical improvements was weight loss. I have not been this weight in probably 30 years - I feel and look so much better than I have in years. I believe that this new way of eating (living) has changed my matabolism - because I continue to drop weight at a nice slow rate - and have only about 5 lbs to go (I began phase #1 in mid April of 2009. I highly recommend this book.

VH

posted by VHarrison on October 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good for limited purposes

Since we all know by now that there is no magic cure for weight gain, this book is far from revolutionary in the sense that it is just another diet. It does, however, give a structured diet to those who need it. Results are quick if you follow the low calorie diet, but ...
Since we all know by now that there is no magic cure for weight gain, this book is far from revolutionary in the sense that it is just another diet. It does, however, give a structured diet to those who need it. Results are quick if you follow the low calorie diet, but to keep the results there is a need for a change in eating habits and exercise, which is, after all, really all you need to loose weight and keep it off. Good for kick-starting a diet only if the dieter is willing to continue with a healthy weight loss life style.

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    Life Changing

    Ann Louise Gittleman's Fat Flush book has literally changed my life. I have been struggling with my weight for 50, yes, 50 years!!! (I am currently 61). I have tried every diet known to mankind without much success - until I happened upon this book through a friend's recommendation. Since my early 40's I have also struggled with the aches and pains of ageing - shoulder pain, foot pain, etc, etc, etc.

    After I completed phase #1 (the detox stage) I experienced a euphoria that I still carry with me - literally all my aches and pains disappeared - no more swelling of the feet, shoulder pain, arthritic pain in my hands - the list goes on and on. A side benefit to the physical improvements was weight loss. I have not been this weight in probably 30 years - I feel and look so much better than I have in years. I believe that this new way of eating (living) has changed my matabolism - because I continue to drop weight at a nice slow rate - and have only about 5 lbs to go (I began phase #1 in mid April of 2009. I highly recommend this book.

    VH

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    I have lost over 60 pounds!!

    About a year and a hlaf ago I purchased "The Fat Flush Plan" along with "The Fat Flush Cookbook". It is the best investment that I have ever made for my health. I have lost over 60 pounds and created a healthy new lifestyle. It was after a doctor visit, where I was handed prescriptions for diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol and fibromyalsia, that I knew I needed to make some changes in my lifestyle. After doing alot of research, I came accross one of Dr. Ann Louise Gittleman's books "Guide to the 40/30/30 Phenomenon". I resonated with what she wrote about essential fats and how our bodies need a well balanced diet in order to function properly. So upon further searching, I found "The Fat Flush Plan". Within a matter of a few months, my doctor took me off of all of the medication, and she told me to keep on doing what I was doing. She had never seen such a dramatic turn around. After following the plan for two weeks, I lost 15 pounds. It took another 6 months to lose 45 pounds. When I stared the plan, my goal was to lose weight, and I did just that. But the best part of following the plan is how wonderful I feel, both physically and mentally. I have more energy now than I did 10 years ago. Like I said...this has been the best purchase I have ever made for my health.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I AM WINNING!

    Once upon a time there was a young women who found love and anesthetic in food and sugar, that was me, Christine. I am an Irish Catholic people pleasing social worker from Boston with love to burn trying to change the world by helping (and forgetting self for sure) With food I was numb, fat and self loathing. I ate food that would mirror how I emotionally felt, a self fulfilling prophecy to say the least.. I came to understand that my 100+ weight gain was shame. I found The Fat Flush Plan and Dr. AnnLouise Gittleman's brilliant thinking and found myself to be interested in the science she had discovered about food and nutrition. Her plan helped me understand nutrition, the livers function, allergies and hormones and once and for all hijack the head game of hating myself for wanting anestetic food. I followed the 2 week detox program and lost 10 lbs and 15 inches. I could hardly believe my eyes when the second number of my weight was down one of the scale. I was 'to the moon and back' with thrill and felt accomplished that I was actively involved and controlling what I did, not just hating what I had done. This was an enormous shift for me. I stayed on the plan and then radically started telling the truth to all who were around me and started to really clean up my life and start driving my own bus. Dr. AnnLouise Gittleman's FF Program is the only program and person whose thinking I believe, whose recommended products I buy and whose research I live......I am a comedienne after all which means I am cynical and the only reason I believe in Dr. AnnLouise Gittleman's program is because it is now my truth.. As I write this letter to you I am 9lbs away from loosing 100 and by all reports of family/friends and fans they would tell you I am looking younger and younger every day. I am off all medications, have done this all with nutrition and without stimulants and/or surgery like everyone around me has. As a self employed entertainer I am currently without medical insurance but I feel like I have special health insurance plan, vision and pride w/ the Fat Flush Plan, once and for all! I am doing this and winning!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2004

    Golly!!! It really works!!!

    Tomorrow I begin Phase 3 of the program, and I must say that I am blown away at the results!!! I stumbled on this book while webshopping one day, and just decided, 'What the heck.' Within the first week, I felt what I can only describe as a 'light feeling' -- as if something that was clogging my body finally was released. By P1W2 (Phase 1 Week 2) I had lost at least 1 inch in my stomach -- my problem area. By P2W1 even my co-workers noticed the difference. Clothes that I could not button or zipper up a month prior were now fitting me. By the end of P2W1, the thick allergy-related dark circles under my eyes cleared up by 75%, and overall my allergies did not bother me anywhere near the extent they used to. I just want to add that I saw results, and have not even started a fitness training program yet... I will admit that I followed 95% of the program. I used small amounts of salt just for flavor where necessary, and have even eaten some things that are not FF (Fat Flush) approved. Yet I NEVER felt terrible or felt as if I wanted to give up on the program because I STILL got results that were so wonderful that I didn't want to stop. At first it is very hard to give up the carbs, and even now I have my cravings, but the good thing about this program is that I know that I can satisfy those cravings, but in a healthy way and I can enjoy the things that I like to eat, but without going overboard and without becoming addicted again to the carbs!!! I would recommend this book/program to anyone. It was surely a wonderful addition to my life!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2002

    Instant Gratification and much more

    I have been on countless diets since I was a senior in high school. Some worked better than others, but the end result was always the same... the weight came back; usually more than when I started. But this has changed not only my eating habits, but also how I view food. The author explains how your body stores, breaks down and metabolizes the food we intake.After two weeks I have lost 8lbs,2inches from my waist, 1inch from each thigh and 1 1/2 inches from my hips. It's just enough to keep me intrigued and motivated.The reader needs to remember that this is not just a diet, but a lifestyle change. I would recommend it to anyone who feels trapped by the up and down struggle of weight gain.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    A diet that REALLY works

    Though i don't like the word DIET, this food lifestyle change really does work!!! Just by eating the foods in the Fat Flush Foods I lost two dress sizes!!!! And eating the healthy 'alive' foods made me feel better. I highly recommend these books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    Skeptics review

    It does work, I lost 21 pounds since October 2002, it is now December. I belong to TOPS, Take Off Pounds Sensicbly, they are a support group that helps you stay on track on the diet of your choice. Or your reccomended Diet by your doctor. I did modify the diet to suit my needs, I just poached my eggs and had spinach boiled from frozen, I added garlic and pepper instead of a egg omelette, and it was great. I used reg low calorie cranberry juice and mixed it 2 parts water to one cranberry juice. For the Morning drink I just used sugar free orange flavored equate (like metamucil but an off brand from wal mart)less $$$ I mix exactly as directed, and like the flavor of the cran-orange... At walmart I found a plastic container with a spout that is narrow and hold 1 and 1/2 gallon of cran water, so it is always cold and ready. I could not afford all the Health food store brands so I just modified, and it worked for me. I also exercise daily, I am a type 2 diabetic, for years I was stuck at a plateau,(I had lost 100 pounds with Richard Simmons Deal A Meal, it took 3 years, then I hit a Plateau and no matter what I did, I oculd not lose.. I tried everything! Now this FAT FLUSH Method is the first time I have been able to lose weight in about 3 years..and I am down to a weight that I have not seen since 1982. I have a lot more weight to lose, But I am inspired and encouraged once more. So I will continue to use this plan, and go to TOPS, I need both to stay focused, and to face the scales once a week... I am happy with the diet, it works for me, but you have to be willing to go the distance, to stick with it,,it does not come off over night...so don't give up so easy.You are worth all the effort it takes to be healthy. Good Luck Sherry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    A plan to live with ... lost weight, fewer aches, feel great

    My friends and family find it difficult to believe that I've actually stayed on an eating plan for this long. It's so energizing and satisfying that I've been on it for months, lost 41 pounds so far, have fewer if any arthritic and other aches, and am full of energy. Not bad for a 62-year-old woman who's fought weight all her life. A diet rich in protein and vegetables and fruits, spiked with spices chosen to aid weight loss and made satisfying with a generous allotment of nutty-tasting flax oil, is the basis of this plan. It is accompanied by food supplements that contain no stimulants. The idea is to detox your liver, and kidneys, then let them help you fight fat. If you're serious about losing weight, feeling better and having more energy, this may be the plan for you ...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    Mental energy increased and cellulite going bye, bye...

    The Fat Flush Plan has changed my life. My mental clarity is consistent all day now. I look great...my cellulite is disappearing even after 1 1/2 weeks...it's truly amazing. I've tried so many diets, plans including Atkins. The Fat Flush is a plan that gives you great choices of healthy, tasty foods, and gives you energy. I'm 50 years old and before this plan thought I'd never make it to 70 now...I have no idea how long I'll live but I can tell you it will be a life with new vigor! Most important of all is that I look at unhealthy foods as an invasion...because they take away what I truly enjoy...energy and clarity. I just feel great. Two of our Executive Staff members are on the Atkins diet now and I've recommended they consider Fat Flush since it's a more user friendly plan and truly changes you into the best you can be. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    Fat Flush Plan

    Wow - This book has changed my life. Ann Louise Gittleman sure knows her stuff. The book promises to melt off the fat from the hips, waist, and thighs and gives you the tools to do this. Is is the flax, the cranberry, or the diet itself which got rid of my cellulite - what ever it was, I am a believer and rate this book 5 Stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    Fat Flush Plan

    My body fat reduced from 38% to 20% on a month with The Fat Flush Plan. I really think every teen, mother,and male should read this book because Gittleman uses essential fatty acids for weight loss and overall health for every age, stage, and gender. Very ahead of its time. But this author always is. FAT Flush delivers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2002

    This plan really works

    I bought this book two weeks ago, went on the plan right away, and lost 10 lbs my first week. The reviewer below who criticizes this book has no idea what they are talking about -- I have experienced absolutely NO hunger, and when you are eating only healthy foods like fish, chicken, lean meat, vegetables and fruits, how can it be unhealthy? I am eating more vegetables now than I ever have in my life, and it's great. The American diet is simply too polluted with starchy carbohydrates -- take a spin through the center of any supermarket and you'll see rows of cookies, chips, sugary cereals, candy, sugary drinks, etc. Fat Flushers shop around the PERIMETER of the supermarket, buying only fresh foods, proteins, veggies and fruits. By the way, this diet is much better than Atkins, in my opinion, because Gittelman is sensible enough to allow you to have fruit. Fruit is good for you -- and you get to have some. After a few days on this diet, you will NOT crave starches or sugar -- it's really like magic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    Fantastic for those with Food intolerances!

    This book has changed my way of thinking and eating. When I was 20 years old a doctor discovered that I have a wheat (and slight dairy)intolerance and since then I have tried to find a way of eating that I could live with and stay/feel healthy. Finally, I have. I have more energy than I have ever had in my life, and as a bonus I have lost unwanted inches. For those of you with any type of intolerance, I highly recommend this diet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Life Changing Eating Plan

    I have been using the Fat Flush Plan for about 4 months and thus far have lost about 20 pounds and 13 inches. I have been a yo yo dieter for many years and have packed on the pounds since quitting smoking 2 years ago. I tried every diet under the sun but found nothing compared to the Fat Flush. Ann Louise has several plans and books; this classic FF book is really the benchmark book that really explains the why's, what's and how to manage the plan for a way of life-not a diet. The facts in this book about de-toxing are a real eye-opener and this plan really works without hunger. I highly recommend it for anyone who is looking for weight loss combined with a really healthy way to eat and exercise. It is a foolproof plan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    If you're serious about making a weight change with your body

    I was recomended this book without knowing that it was mostly writen for women, but I follow the book to the T, and it has truly been a life changing experience. I loose the weight and learn a life lesson in nutrition. Highly recomended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    A Life Changing Event!

    A lot of people like myself have tried just about every "diet" there is, however, I woke up one day to the fact that a "diet" is not what I need but a lifestyle change. You must be determined, disciplined and READY to change. Also, to realize that what we have done to our bodies is harm and not for the greater good is an understatement. We live in a FAST, WANT IT NOW, PROCESSED society and have sucked up empty calories and have forgotten what natural is and not slowed down to treat our bodies as they were intended, natural, and chemical free. This book is a map on just how to do that. The plan has worked SUPER for me and I haven't even incorporated all the principles yet. Losing 18 lbs in 30 days is beyond great and recommend it to anyone ready to change the way you think of yourself, become a new you and actually "feel good" about yourself which in turn rubs off on someone else! It is my goal to tell everyone I can that this really works! Believe in yourself and go for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    Tired of Falling off the Diet Train, Read this book and give it 2 weeks, you will see remarkable results.

    I have read this book cover-to-cover multiple times, and keep it with me. It has become my eating 'Bible'. I was told I have a 'fatty liver' and would never be able to lose weight. In two months I lost 16 pounds and 13.5 inches. This is an excellent book, that I highly recommend to all my friends, family and acquaintances. This plan has helped me break plateaus and improved my overall health. I have more energy and generally feel better that I have in years. The information that Ms. Gittleman provides about the function of the liver and how we can turn it into a fat burning organ sold me on the plan. I am so grateful that a friend told about Ann Louise Gittleman and her work. I will be forever grateful. Thanks ALG!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    The best eating-plan I've found

    A tongue-twister of a title, but it is so accurate. Having struggled with weight many of my 59 years, I am finally losing pounds and inches with no pain because of following the plan detailed in this book. In spite of my long-time interest in healthy food and supplements, I learned so much from Ann Louise Gittleman about how to increase metabolism, how to melt off cellulite, and how to get/remain healthy. The Fat Flush Plan is a must read, and a must eating-plan for everyone who is serious about losing weight and about getting healthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    Low Fat Never DID Work. Atkins has QUIT Working...

    Fat Flush is STILL working like gangbusters after 5 1/2 weeks and best of all, I KNOW I am eating healthfully and do not have to second guess myself, wondering all the time whether or not I am getting too much of one food group and not enough of the others. Anne Louise Gittleman incorporates foods from all food groups. Delicious shakes made of whey protein from the dairy group. Low glycemic fruits, all lean, fresh meats, all the low carb veggies, and even sprouted grain bread in moderate amounts. This book takes what I have instinctively always felt was the right way to eat and helps me to make it a reality by giving me a plan of attack. I highly encourage you to GO FOR IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    Do you want to finally understand how to get and stay thin?

    Ann Louise Gittleman has done it again! Like her other books, the Fat Flush Plan presents the science of nutrition in easy, everyday language. It's impossible to read this book and not understand the hidden factors that can make us fat--and what to do about them! The Fat Flush Plan is not a "quick fix" diet; it is a sensible plan for getting and staying healthy for the rest of your life! And there's no question that Fat Flush works. I am living proof, having detoxified my body, dropped over 50 pounds and lost over 40 inches in just a few months. Read the book and you'll be intrigued. Do the Fat Flush Plan and you'll be healthier than you've ever been!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2