Customer Reviews for

Fat Girl: A True Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

The book Fat Girl by Judith Moore is about a girl who is fat and what her life is like growing up known as "Fat Girl". She experiences what it feels like to have her parents be divorced, and live with her mother through her childhood. The girl's mother divorced her fath...
The book Fat Girl by Judith Moore is about a girl who is fat and what her life is like growing up known as "Fat Girl". She experiences what it feels like to have her parents be divorced, and live with her mother through her childhood. The girl's mother divorced her father because he would not stop getting fat. When the girl lived with her mother she was always being scolded about her weight. "When I stood close to her so she could measure my waist or pin up the hem to my dress, she pinched me hard and flicked me with her fingernail and hissed again and again how disgusted she was. She said I looked ugly and that boys and girls at my school would keep on teasing me," (Moore 86). Not only was her mother malicious but also the peers in her class.
The book was really heartbreaking that ever since childhood the main character has been hurt physically and mentally. It's surprising that people can act towards another person with cruelty just because they look different. I hope that people will read this book so that mankind will stop judging people on appearances. It is a good book to learn about how people are being mistreated everyday about the littlest things. But the thing I didn't like about this book was that it talked about food a lot, with a great deal of detail. Other than the food the book was a great read.

posted by 1143198 on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

This book wasn't the best

The book Fat Girl is a story that after I read it I wish I hadn't. Judith Moore should cry a river, build a bridge, and get over it."

posted by cdcddchkdh on April 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    DO NOT TAKE THIS BOOK TO BURGER KING

    'It's alright to love the devil. Just don't let the devil love you.' So said Truman Capote, at least, in his short story, 'Children on their Birthdays.' Judith Moore's demons come in the form of cheeseburgers, self loathing, and the insatiable emptiness of a ruined childhood. In Fat Girl Moore stands up to and describes her love affair with these in unflinching, unsentimental, detail. The result is a profoundly intimate self examination- brilliantly, beautifully and breath-takingly told. At the end of the book you will thank Judith Moore for her candor, and her generosity in telling her tale. You'll also thank God it was she and not you that lived to do the telling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Boring

    not worth the read, too many food descriptions, not enough about the author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Of three memoirs of overweight life struggles I¿ve read recently

    Of three memoirs of overweight life struggles I’ve read recently, this is the darkest and most lyrically written.  The author tells us upfront that she hates herself.  And even though she matter-of-factly requests that we not feel sorry for her, my heart ached at her recounting of a miserable childhood marked by abandonment and rejection.  

    One thing I found odd and unexpected was the lack of information about her life as an adult.  This is a short book, and she devotes pages and pages to minute details from her childhood.  Yet she covers her adult life with only a few pages of random musings at the beginning and a partial summary at the end.  Because the book focuses on family relationships, in particular I would've liked to know more about her relationships with her ex-husbands, whom she barely mentions.  

    If you are looking for a funny, uplifting or inspirational read about overweight life, this isn’t it.  Yet Ms. Moore has a gift for painting vivid pictures in the reader’s mind and evoking a mood. Her book is haunting, engrossing and beautifully written, and I’m glad I read it.   

    For memoirs infused with more hope, see my two recommendations.  Those are written in a more girl-next-door style with candid depiction of highs and lows.          

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Fat girl

    I used to be very fat and got bullied alot becuz of it. This book showed me why i decided to change my life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Half way through...

    So when i started the book i was beyond impressed.. well i was so excited to see what would happen next.... when i got to next it started to rant (like she was undecisive on whether or not to make a risky turn in the book) it never came although im in the middle i am sad to say it did not live up to my expectations. I stilll looove!!! The series but i think i wanted to many answers i expected too much explaining... i never finished any book that the author couldnt fathom taking risks. Like killing off a much loved character.. or creating a new enemy (SPOILER ALERT) kate never really turned imto the whip a** character i expected after so many books but thats just my very small opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    very good story

    a story of the pain a little girl went through as she was growing up, because she was heavier then the other girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Amazing

    Being obese i though i had tough times in my life, but upon reading this book i feel lucky. I have never been so deeply touched by a book in my life. That this women survived through those hardships shocks me. Amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Dosent deserve a star

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Am i fat

    118 lbs

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Fat

    I am 11 years old am im fat i weigh 89 pounds

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Wasted Money

    No redemption to be had. Bitter and depressing without much insight

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Hated it

    This book is poorly written and redundant. It is boring. I couldn't finish it. I do not reccomend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Jsyk

    This book is insulting to me bcuz i weigh 134 pounds and i feel the same wdy as her people bully me alot

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Revolting

    This is an ugly book, vulgar, angry, and overflowing with hatred. It's not so much about what it is like to be fat, as it is about self-loathing.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    review

    i bought it thinking it would be a really good book. i like it but it talks about food ALOT. its an okay book but i wouldnt say its great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2006

    Insightful

    This book is amazing. It tells storys of gain and loss-literally. It's so interesting to see someones life through their eyes, what the experienced. This is what this book is like. A quick and easy read at 196 pages...I finished it in a day. Some stories she tells of her childhood are very sad, but it's always good when people can conquer them like she was able to move on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    Painfully honest

    If you've ever struggled with your weight then you will totally relate to this book. It's so powerful that words cannot describe the way it hit me. I was nodding my head the entire time, completely relating to what she's been through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4