Customer Reviews for

Fat Girl: A True Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

The book Fat Girl by Judith Moore is about a girl who is fat and what her life is like growing up known as "Fat Girl". She experiences what it feels like to have her parents be divorced, and live with her mother through her childhood. The girl's mother divorced her fath...
The book Fat Girl by Judith Moore is about a girl who is fat and what her life is like growing up known as "Fat Girl". She experiences what it feels like to have her parents be divorced, and live with her mother through her childhood. The girl's mother divorced her father because he would not stop getting fat. When the girl lived with her mother she was always being scolded about her weight. "When I stood close to her so she could measure my waist or pin up the hem to my dress, she pinched me hard and flicked me with her fingernail and hissed again and again how disgusted she was. She said I looked ugly and that boys and girls at my school would keep on teasing me," (Moore 86). Not only was her mother malicious but also the peers in her class.
The book was really heartbreaking that ever since childhood the main character has been hurt physically and mentally. It's surprising that people can act towards another person with cruelty just because they look different. I hope that people will read this book so that mankind will stop judging people on appearances. It is a good book to learn about how people are being mistreated everyday about the littlest things. But the thing I didn't like about this book was that it talked about food a lot, with a great deal of detail. Other than the food the book was a great read.

posted by 1143198 on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

This book wasn't the best

The book Fat Girl is a story that after I read it I wish I hadn't. Judith Moore should cry a river, build a bridge, and get over it."

posted by cdcddchkdh on April 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Great Book

    The book Fat Girl by Judith Moore is about a girl who is fat and what her life is like growing up known as "Fat Girl". She experiences what it feels like to have her parents be divorced, and live with her mother through her childhood. The girl's mother divorced her father because he would not stop getting fat. When the girl lived with her mother she was always being scolded about her weight. "When I stood close to her so she could measure my waist or pin up the hem to my dress, she pinched me hard and flicked me with her fingernail and hissed again and again how disgusted she was. She said I looked ugly and that boys and girls at my school would keep on teasing me," (Moore 86). Not only was her mother malicious but also the peers in her class.
    The book was really heartbreaking that ever since childhood the main character has been hurt physically and mentally. It's surprising that people can act towards another person with cruelty just because they look different. I hope that people will read this book so that mankind will stop judging people on appearances. It is a good book to learn about how people are being mistreated everyday about the littlest things. But the thing I didn't like about this book was that it talked about food a lot, with a great deal of detail. Other than the food the book was a great read.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    That fat girl was me!

    I didn't have all of the challenges that the author did, but soo soo many of us grew up overweight, and being beat up emotionally for it 'even by ourselves'. This is a book that says, 'you weren't alone!'. I have to say, please go read a book that spoke so crystal clearly to me---'Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow'. It tells how to feel good about yourself, no matter how you look, and then how to start changing in a positive way! These 2 books should be a 1-2 punch!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A true story, indeed

    Fat Girl is a sad story about an overweight woman who went through obstacles from childhood to adulthood. I like the way Ms. Moore explains her thoughts in a warm, sedate kind of way that the reader can familiarize.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    eye opening book !

    this is the true story of a girl who grew up overweight, beaten, lost and depressed. it tells you all the details you may never have thought about, and tells the engrossing truth about it all. i would recommend this book NOT ONLY to someone who has been, or is overweight, but to anyone, skinny or fat. so that they could also start to see how miserable it is to be overweight. i feel for this girl !! i am 17 and would recommend this book to anyone 13 and up.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Of three memoirs of overweight life struggles I¿ve read recently

    Of three memoirs of overweight life struggles I’ve read recently, this is the darkest and most lyrically written.  The author tells us upfront that she hates herself.  And even though she matter-of-factly requests that we not feel sorry for her, my heart ached at her recounting of a miserable childhood marked by abandonment and rejection.  

    One thing I found odd and unexpected was the lack of information about her life as an adult.  This is a short book, and she devotes pages and pages to minute details from her childhood.  Yet she covers her adult life with only a few pages of random musings at the beginning and a partial summary at the end.  Because the book focuses on family relationships, in particular I would've liked to know more about her relationships with her ex-husbands, whom she barely mentions.  

    If you are looking for a funny, uplifting or inspirational read about overweight life, this isn’t it.  Yet Ms. Moore has a gift for painting vivid pictures in the reader’s mind and evoking a mood. Her book is haunting, engrossing and beautifully written, and I’m glad I read it.   

    For memoirs infused with more hope, see my two recommendations.  Those are written in a more girl-next-door style with candid depiction of highs and lows.          

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    very good story

    a story of the pain a little girl went through as she was growing up, because she was heavier then the other girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1