BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fat Kid Rules the World

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Wow

    I thought that ¿Fat Kid Rules the World¿ was an excellent book overall. Though in many occasions it did us profanity and swearing, I have never read a book that is better about describing someone¿s thoughts. That is why I could not put it down. I expected the book to end much differently then it did, but I was not disappointed. I was even better than I had imagined. This book has many unexpected twists and I recommend it for anyone who likes the books ¿Crank¿, ¿Burned¿, and ¿Glass¿.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Great book!!

    Troy, the main character is an obese seventeen year old who was found by Kurt standing on the edge of subway platform thinking about jumping off into the bus. He thought about who would miss him and how all his fat would splatter onto the subway. Troy thinks about how everybody laughs at all his everything he does. Troy's mother past away when he was little. He has never acted the same since then. His dad is ashamed that his son is obese and his own brother won't even talk to him and is embarrased to be seen with him. Before he goes to jump he hears a voice from a guy named Kurt. Kurt is a legend at Troy's school. Kurt demands lunch for "saving his life and stopping him for jumping into the subway." They begin to be friends and form a band. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys music, or feels different from everybody else and is an outsider. Troy starts his adventure. He becomes a rock star drummer and is noticed more.

    Fat Kid Rules the World is a hiarious book. Troy and his daydreams are funny. This is the life of a teenager, the book does use profanity. But all the profanity is used at the right time and K.L. Going does not go overboard with it. This book is interesting and will keep you reading. I highly recommend this book for teenagers and young adults. You will expect the book to be different than it actually is. It has twist and turns and this will have you wanting more books like Fat Kid Rules the World.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    A good book with a respectable narrator with a unique voice. Its comical, but also covers some deeper issues. Its not exactly exciting, but its absorbing enough to be interesting. I recommend it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    Bow to the fat kid

    Fat Kid Rules the World was written by K.L. Going. She has lived in New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Louisiana, and Maine. As a kid she moved frequently and always was the odd man out. She is four feet eleven inches, but was never self conscious about her height, but instead her weight. Going often felt everyone was looking at her as she felt like the fat kid. She still to this day is very insecure with herself and is an exercise fanatic. She works part time at a gym just so she can work out all day long. This possibly explains how she was able to hone in on the character Troy, and give the reader a glimpse of what it is really like to be laughed at because you¿re different. Troy Billings is a lonely kid of seventeen years old standing on the edge of a subway platform thinking if anyone would miss him if he jumped, and how his fat would explode as the train slammed into him. He is morbidly obese at six foot one and around three hundred pounds. Troy¿s mom died when he was little and his life has never been the same. He has a father who is a Marine and is ashamed of the fact that his son is obese and a jock little brother who refuses to be seen with his big brother, let alone talk to him. This is all about to change however. His suicidal thoughts are suddenly disrupted when a voice comes into his head telling him not to jump. At first Troy wonders if he is just hearing things as he looks around and sees everyone who he believes to be secretly staring at him. He then locates the voice coming from a pile of dirt lying in a corner on the subway station floor, his name is Curt. Curt is a star at Troy¿s school or better yet a legend. He is a rock star who left Troy¿s school a few years prior, and there is a myth around the school as to whether a kid could actually be that good on the guitar. Now Curt wants Troy to buy him lunch and the whirl wind of life changing moments begins. Follow Troy in his adventure to become a rock star drummer, and all the things that come with it like trouble, friends, and even girls. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys music, or just likes the warming sensation of a happy story. It is likely that you¿ll read this one from cover to cover without even blinking as Troy and Curt rock your world!<BR/> In a brief conclusion this book is for anyone looking for a picker upper with the character Troy who gives you someone to cheer for as he goes from a laughed at fat kid to a rock star with fans roaring for him. I greatly enjoyed Fat Kid Rules the World and I¿m sure you will too!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    review

    Fat Kid Rules The World A 269 pound high school boy named Troy is standing on the subway platform staring at the trains go by thinking if he should make a choice that will end his life. Then something very strange happens. A teen guitar junkie appears in Troy¿s life, and his name was Curt. See Troy sees everything when he thinks to himself, but he never thinks twice to do something about it. Troy¿s father is rough on him because he doesn¿t have any athletic ability. Like his brother Dayle who has all the talent. Troy¿s mother is dead and his father was an ex military guy. Troy agreed to be the drummer in Curt¿s band when he knew that he was a poser and didn¿t know how to play. Curt has faith in him and Troy doesn¿t really understand why. Troy¿s father supports him so Troy¿s dream may come true. This book is definitely not for any small kids! They curse a lot in this book. I recommend this book to people who like reading about other people¿s lives and their lifelong story and what goes on in their lives. This book was awesome!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    review

    This is a story about a teenager named Troy Billings. Troy is not your average kid because at seventeen, he weighs 296 pounds. His obesity almost causes his life because after years of teasing, he makes an attempt to commit suicide. Luckily he is saved by Curt MacCrae, a dropout, homeless, and guitar player. Curt soon becomes Troy¿s best and only friend he has. Together, the two start a rock band and Troy is the drummer, although he doesn¿t know how to play the drums. Troy has faith in himself, along with Curt, but his father does not. Troy¿s father has always been tough on him because he has no athletic ability, and his brother Dayle is very athletic. Soon Troy¿s dad sees how important it is to him, and he supports him through everything he goes through. In my opinion, this was an excellent book. Since there was foul language, and other inappropriate topics such as suicide, this book would not be appropriate for younger kids. I would mostly recommend it to teenagers, because they will be most likely to relate to it because it also talks about how cruel kids can be at school. Overall, I would give this book four stars out of five.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Fat kid rules the world

    I think that Fat Kid Rules the World is a great book. It tells its readers that when you laugh at people it really gets to them and you should help them not make fun of them. I recommend this book for anyone who likes stories that start with a sad statement and ends with suspense. The story is about a fat kid named Troy who wants to be a famous drummer and a man who saves him from killing himself teaches him how to play because in Troy¿s high school that man was a legend for drumming. Also in return troy had to help him get back on his feet clean him up and get him food and a roof over his head. For example he has to get him his life back, and under control of his actions. I understand troys actions I was also bullied by everyone by multiple reasons and I want to become famous to show those kids they should have never made fun of me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    A drummer with a BIG problem

    Troy is a seventeen year old kid who weighs nearly 300 pounds and wants to commit suicide. Right before he jumps a man named Curt McCrae starts talking to him. Troy notices the Curt is the leader of his favorite band, Smack Metal Puppets. He buys Curt supper and they become friends. Curt went in the same taxi with Troy and got out with him so they had to lie that he was and said they were making a band and Troy was the drummer. He has no experience in music but need to learn quick because Curt already has planned a show. Will he learn to play in time? I liked how it jumped right into action. On the first page he¿s about to commit suicide. The book starts off fast but slows down and speeds back up when they get closer the show. The humor is endless. I loved how the book was separated into eighty-nine chapters because if you have to stop it¿s really easy to find a good quitting point. I thought it was funny how he thought of headlines such as ¿Fat kid gets splattered by train¿ and ¿Fat kid hallucinates about cool friend.¿ This book is not part of a series but a sequel would help to explain how the concert went. This book reminds me of Born too Short by Dan Elish because the main character talk in the same tone. It also remind me of Larger the Life Lara by Dandi Daley Mackall because there both mainly about a fat kid who gets made fun of. Anyone who listens to music, especially classic rock would like this book because they can relate to Troy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    amazing book about a obese teenager who is about to commit suicide and is stopped by a homeless, dirty, smelly kid. troy (fat kid) and curt (homeless kid) become friends and even try staring their own band. i would recommend this book to anyone who wants to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Self-concious is no way to live.

    Every kid in existence has felt self conscious about something in their life. When you are as big as Troy, it is all he thinks about. Troy got to the point that he was thinking about jumping in front of a subway just to stop the talk about him. Luckily a kid named Curt helped him out by stopping him from jumping. Troy¿s mom is dead and his dad is an ex-military soldier. Troy does not get much attention from anyone so without skipping a beat, he accepts Curt. It turns out Curt wants to start a band with Troy, but Troy had not touched a drum set in a few years. Troy is surprised when his dad gives consent to the band. Troy¿s dad, though, still does not like Curt because he thinks he is a lowlife. Troy¿s dad is always feeding Curt and always taking care of him but he grows attached to Curt. Troy¿s brother thinks both Troy and Curt are losers and thinks he is so much better than both of them. Troy¿s brother is an athletic machine and plays every sport imaginable. Troy¿s dad put Troy on several diets, found him a therapist, and paid for all of it, but Troy never got serious with it and now is six foot tall and weighs 296 pounds. Sometimes being self-conscious gets in the way of what he needs to do. This is a great book and it has a great message to it that applies in everyday life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    Fat kid finds hope

    However imagine weighing 300 pounds and having no friends, walking down the halls of high school with people pointing. In Fat Kid Rules the World, 17 year old Troy Billings is truly the fat kid weighing in at 296 pounds and standing 6 feet tall. Struggling with weight isn¿t even the beginning of his problems. Troy¿s mother is dead, his little brother disowns him and he¿s friendless. He¿s had enough he¿s about ready to take his own life when someone speaks up. A stranger who really isn¿t much better off. Curt is dirty and homeless but he has respect, something Troy is so desperately longing for. With in a day curt not only saves Troy¿s life, he alters it completely. Curt is a guitarist, who is in search of a drummer. Its a great book about students overcoming themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    Fat kids do rule the world

    This book is GREAT! For one thing, it portrays a lot of what goes on in a normal high schoolers everday life. I think that on a personal level thats what counts the most. The major problem the book adresses is the fact that a lot of people in this world are one sided and prejudiced, and that people who look differently can come out on top. This book I definately recommend to anyone who enjoys the underdog stories and/or wants to read a good book with a good theme and moral.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    good read

    This is a good book and i recomend everyone read it. Its a very fast read when i started i could stop until i was finished. This is a book where you can see yourself in their shoes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    Fat Kid Rules The Book World

    Fat Kid Rules The World is a great novel about an overweight kid who tries to take his own life but then meeting a homeless teenager turns out to be the king of his school at one time stops him. They embark on an adventure of ups and downs and a ending i will never forget. for anyone bored on a rainy day pick up this book and give it a shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Fat Kid Rules The World A Pretty Good Book

    Fat Kid Rules The World is a funny but also serious book about a overweight high school student which who is always made fun of for his weight. He then tries to commit suicide when meeting a homeless teenager who used to be the king of his school. They embark on a relationship of twists, turns, and lots of suprises that will make want to keep turning the page. It isn't one of the greatest books i've read but i would put it up there. Fat Kid Rules The World a story for everyone. 4'5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2005

    Khaki kings (or apprentices, hehe) of rock and roll

    Man this is like, the best book like THAT I've read in a long time. It got me in touch with all the amazing sounds life makes and also made me realize how rough the world is. It touched me so much that I cried. This book is definately one of the best. Would especially reccomend to those who feel left out or those of us who love to rock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    Derek DeFrank's Book Report

    Our teacher had us do a book report. So as I was looking through Barnes and Noble the cover of this book caught my eye. I read the title of the book and thought, ¿Oh this doesn¿t sound like a good book.' But after I read the back, it had a different but good story line. The book is about a 300-pound teenager who is about to commit suicide (jump out of one train and in front of another), when Curt an extremely skinny rock star talks him out of it. After that, Curt, who is homeless at the time, hitch-hikes a ride back to Troy¿s house. This odd couple becomes friends and starts a band. Imagine this a 300-pound teenager at the drums while he can barely fit on the stool; playing with a someone one third of his size, who's a great singer and is excellent at playing the guitar. Oh yeah, Troy hasn¿t played the drums in five or more years and forgot everything about them! To top it all off they have their first gig in a few months. Uh oh! Can they pull it off? Read 'Fat Kid Rules The World' to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    Great Book !!!

    I picked up this book, thinking I may like it because it might of had something to do with drums (which is shown on the front of the book.) Also , because it was a short book....lol. I was so glad i read it because it was a thrilling, powerful and a moving book. KL Going just grabs your attention in the beginning of the book by starting out with her main character and narrator standing 'just over the yellow line' in a New York subway station, deciding whether or not to kill himself, but she takes you further on with secondary character Curt MacCrae saying, 'I saved your life.' 'You owe me lunch.' Knowing that this book was about suicide i really coulnd't put ti down becuase i was wondering, why? KL Going's entire book is amazing. You find yourself laughing at times, like when Troy is thinking about committing suicide ('Would it be funny if Fat Kid jumped?') or when Curt has just passed out because of overdosing on prescriptions medications ('What the f*** are you all staring at?!' Only later did I realize that that was the first time in my life I ever said that, and I didn't even enjoy it.). This book is so awesome. At some points you feel like you are in the book, like one of the characters. This novel is just wonderful, because Going uses things that kids think about today. She uses the humor and the thinking process of a regular teen. That is why you will get into the book. If you haven't read this yet, do. Buy it. Just keep reading it. This was a fantastic book,and I hope you you enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    Great book

    A really good book, with some awesome moments and original insights into the world and music of punk-rock. I met K.L Going, and she rocks my socks :)(sorry, that was off topic)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2