Customer Reviews for

The Fat Smash Diet: The Last Diet You'll Ever Need

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    9 Months and Losing

    I recommend this book and this diet for everyone who has tried it all and failed. It is so easy to follow, made for real people with real lives, and never once have we been hungry. My husband I I started this 9 months ago, both very overweight. My husband has lost 92 pounds and I have lost 68. The diet is one you can easily live with and adapt too. The phase I is a little tough, but hang in there and I promise you it will be so worth it. We started out with walking, just 2-1/2 blocks and rested for 20 mintues then back home at the start, now I breeze through the mile walk without resting and back home. This book has given us a change of eating that we can easily live with and maintain. It gave us quality of life back without feeling deprived. Buy it and try it, you won't be dissapointed.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    It Really Works!!!!!

    My husband and I decided we needed to live a healthier lifestyle and started Phase I the week following Thanksgiving. We were able to enjoy some of the traditional Christmas food and we STILL LOST WIEGHT! We finally finished all the diet phases and have lost a combined 60 pounds. We have so many friends on the Fat Smash Diet that we joke that we should get a commission on the book sales. I would encourage anyone who wants to live a healthier, more fulfilling life to give it a try. I tell everyone that it's not really a diet, but rather living healthy. Look at it this way, I would rather spend money on fresh fruits and vegetables than medicine to keep me alive. Good luck for those seeking longer life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    Easy to follow

    I lost 13 pounds during the 2nd phase! I found the book to be easy to understand and follow. I found the last phase hard to maintain, but I found the 4th phase works for me to continue to lose weight slowly. I highly recommend the book for those who are interested in losing weight and keeping the weight off. I hate exercising but the book motivated me to lose weight at each level (except the last - 1 hr. is toooo long). I am planning to try his next book to lose my last 15 pounds fast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    A Great Life Changer

    We have been watching the show and wanted to see if it was real to an average person. After Phase 1, which was difficult I lost 7 pounds in the first week alone. I love how simple it is. He doesnt complicate things and you have flexibility to eat what you want within the food groups. Thumbs Up, Weight Down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    Finally...a diet for the average person!

    I just completed Phase 1 of this diet and lost 9 lbs! I do not have much weight to lose so I was shocked to lose that amount of weight in such a short time. I found the book very easy to follow. Lists of what you can and can't eat, it doesn't get much easier that than. With each Phase I have something to look forward to. I am starting Phase 2 now and am excited by all the foods I can add back into my diet. Once you reach Phase 4 it is all about a new lifestyle. The new lifestyle doesnt restrict you from eatting foods just explains you should eat them in moderation. For the first time in my life I am excited to eat healthy and exercise!!! I recommend this to anyone looking to lose weight!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    A great plan to lose weight and keep it off

    I liked this diet book a lot because it is a multistage system where each stage limits the types of foods you can eat but NOT how much you can eat! The first phase is a cleansing phase and that makes a lot of sense. The last phase is a maintenace system and has the most food types available to you. The book ends with a lot of excellent, excellent receipes for each phase and also some charts with useful information. This is also a brief book that is fast to read and very very easy to use. Exvellent!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Live it before reviewing.

    I lost 11 lbs in PhaseI. In week one of Phase II lost 2lbs. I will follow this diet until I reach my goal. You cannot judge the book unless you use it. It is a simple to follow, healthy and successful way to lose weight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    Great results

    I heard about it on the radio and finally when the book came out i decided to try it. I lost 15 pounds in 4 weeks. The detox is a little challenge but I am very happy with the results. TRY IT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    Not bad.

    I train people and and always keep my eye out for good diet books. This one stood out because it is the diet plan that is used on VH1's Celebrity Fit Club show. First of all, The Fat Smash Diet isn't really a diet, its a weight loss plan. It includes a well laid out diet plan as well as a reasonable exercise plan. The idea behind this is not a trendy one but a sensible one, you don't count calories, but you change your eating habits slowly over the book's 4 phase plan- and meanwhile you add exercise slowly and progressively over time. As you can see, such plans have been proven to work, and will probably last as the aim of the book is to change your eating and exercise habits for a lifetime- amen! A good book that will benefit many, I give it 5 stars easy. One caveat though. As the first sentence of Chapter 1 warns, 'diets don't fail people, people fail diets.' Like every weight loss plan you'll ever read about, it can't help you if you don't find a way to stick with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    i have this book and am on this diet and it is great

    i must say that i had tried many diets before i tried dr. ian smiths fat smash diet. and none had worked. but honestly this diet amazes me and my doctors. with my health actually improving due to the weight loss i am having on this diet i have never been more please with a book purchase. i recommend this book. it is tough but it is worth it if you are ready to change your life

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    The beeeeeeeeeeee Rash

    The beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Must Have

    I dropped 12lbs in ten days with little exercise. I feel off the map but I'm starting the program back after Thanksgiving..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    GET IT NOW!

    I am not a dieter, never have been and never thought I would be. This book has not only changed the way I eat but the way I think about food. I lost 6 lbs. in 9 days. I am still losing (9 and counting!) but most of all I feel great! I'm eating better than I have in my whole life!! If you are waiting for something to motivate you this book is it! Get it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    The only diet you'll ever need!

    I don't think this should be called a diet - it is a life style change. I lost over 22 pounds and have maintained the weight loss for over a year. I will never be off the Fat Smash Diet because it is so simple and easy to stick to. I just bring a banana or apple with me to class, work, or wherever so that I can maintain my eating habits anywhere. The recipes in the book are also very helpful especially when just starting out. Dr Ian has changed my life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    Great read.

    I train people and and always keep my eye out for good diet books. This one stood out because it is the diet plan that is used on VH1's Celebrity Fit Club show. First of all, The Fat Smash Diet isn't really a diet, its a weight loss plan. It includes a well laid out diet plan as well as a reasonable exercise plan. The idea behind this is not a trendy one but a sensible one, you don't count calories, but you change your eating habits slowly over the book's 4 phase plan- and meanwhile you add exercise slowly and progressively over time. As you can see, such plans have been proven to work, and will probably last as the aim of the book is to change your eating and exercise habits for a lifetime- amen! A good book that will benefit many, I give it 5 stars easy. One caveat though. As the first sentence of Chapter 1 warns, 'diets don't fail people, people fail diets.' Like every weight loss plan you'll ever read about, it can't help you if you don't find a way to stick with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Great!

    This book really is simple! It gives lists for what you can and cant eat. Very plain and to the point. I lost 9 pounds in my first phase. The only diet I have ever been able to stick to! 190 to 181!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    THIS IS THE ONE!

    I'm through phase one, in my first week of phase two, and have lost 11.5 pounds. This eating plan is the one. It is a SIMPLE book with a SIMPLE plan: to retrain ourselves to eat healthy! This is the first 'diet' ever where I no longer suffer from powerful cravings, and I have my appetite under control. Thanks to Ian, I am 'smashing' my old bad habits and replacing them with new, healthy ones. I am learning to APPRECIATE the food I eat. And I have my cravings and appetite under control. I reccommend the book to everyone, especially those who have ever felt controlled by food!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2006

    Great page turner

    This book is a great eye opener for dieters. I recomend this book for those trying to lose weight!!!1The phases are easy, fun, and satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Love the plan

    I love watching celebrity fit club and like everyone else I am truly amazed to see these people losing the weight. I have problably tried every diet. I am sick of counting points, calories and fat grams. I love this plan because you did not have to do any of that. The first three days of Phase 1 was hard, but after that, it was easy. I lost 7lbs during Phase 1...so I am loving it. I am on Day 2 of Phase 2 and I know the weight will continue come off if I stick to the guidelines. I have 38lbs to go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Heaven Sent

    This is a great book! Simple and to the point. I didn't want a book with all of that extra information. Most people lead very busy lives and we don't have time or energy to sit down and read a Diet Encyclopedia! I've started 4 days ago and I'm feeling different already. I have way more energy throughout the day and sleep better at night. I don't know if I'll be ready to add more back into my diet after 9 days. The way I feel I might just wait a little longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2