Customer Reviews for

Fatal Affair (Fatal Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 551 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(303)

4 Star

(159)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Read this in one sitting.

Rarely do I put life on hold to read an entire book in one sitting ,this was thatone of those books. An egaging plot and well written charactures kept me turning pages. Just as I thouht I had figured out "who done it" there was another twist. Tomorrow I will purchase t...
Rarely do I put life on hold to read an entire book in one sitting ,this was thatone of those books. An egaging plot and well written charactures kept me turning pages. Just as I thouht I had figured out "who done it" there was another twist. Tomorrow I will purchase the next in the series and HOPE I have the will power to put it down long enough to accomplish my work for the day!

posted by minagain01 on November 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Dreadful!

This could have been a great book. The plot was promising, but the main characters have no self control. Much of the book was spent describing sexual encounters between the two. A few of those would have been enough. Instead the plot lurches along--sort of, "Oh look...
This could have been a great book. The plot was promising, but the main characters have no self control. Much of the book was spent describing sexual encounters between the two. A few of those would have been enough. Instead the plot lurches along--sort of, "Oh look what happened. Let's go back to bed." I could have loved this book if more attention was payed to plot.

posted by DMHNJ on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 551 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    The bomb

    This is one of the best series of books i have read in a while.definently a must read set. Love and romance with a lot if action all mixed inbetween.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Let's cheer for another great add!

    Another fantastic add to the Fatal series! This series just keeps the readers so engaged with the whodunits and the love between Sam and Nick that we all hope it never comes to an end. I love Sam's character, bad ass cop, I really don't want to see anything break her spirit. This series functions the way it does because of her career choice and I don't want that to change! I look forward to reading many more books in this series and seeing what other kinds of experimentation the sexy Cappuanos come up with....wink wink! ;0)

    SR

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Highly Recommend!!!

    This whole series is the absolute best read. I have so enjoyed the original 5 books and was thrilled to see a 6th book come out!!! I even sent Marie Force an email.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    FANTASTIC!!!

    I love this series. I cannot wait until her next book comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I have enjoyed reading this series, can't wait for the next one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Marie Force

    Again another winner. Another page turner. So hard to wait for the other books in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Love This Series

    Can't wait til next book is released.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    Loved this book!!!! This was another great book in the Fatal ser

    Loved this book!!!! This was another great book in the Fatal series which I love. The only thing I don't like is having to wait so long for the next book. I have read all of her series and can't wait for the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    Fantastic story!

    Fantastic story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Concentrait on the murder,

    Their is too much concentration onthe main male subjects sexual attraction and the burnining desire to be in bed with him. I found this to boring to endure. I found the story too hard to get into because of their constant deesire to have the hots for each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013



    Nmb.m

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and couldn't wait to get the 2nd. It is a great suspense with a little romance worked in. I have now read all 5 in the seriesand I wish a 6th would be coming in the near future. A great read!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    I enjoyed this first book of this series

    I enjoyed the first book of the series and have purchased a few more to see how the story continues.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Good story line

    I will read more books

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Disappointed

    Liked the idea of a series about DC politics and murder mysteries but was disappointed when it turned out to be a run of the mill romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Engaging

    In Washington DC; Sergeant Samantha 'Sam' Holland lands a big case: a U.S. senator is murdered. Complicating the investigation is the senator's chief of staff and one-time Samantha intimate: Nick Cappuano. The convoluted and coincidental start off is a bit of a leap - but once one settles into solving the case, any questions of coincidence are past. For one thing, Sam is an incredibly believable detective, wearing past mistakes instead of her heart on her sleeve; remembering and almost grieving the death of a child that she believes was her fault. The regard of her boss, and his expectation that she can 'win this one' makes us wonder if she isn't being too hard on herself - as does being assigned this plainly major case.

    Dialogue, from the first, reveals a lot of inner emotions - and between Sam and Nick, a lot of bottled up, never resolved emotions. There is always more going on between the two of them than just solving the case. I'm never a fan of a shifting point-of-view, although at first, this seems well-managed between Nick then Sam, it was disconcerting to shift to the Senator's family member, then on. Perhaps nothing was wrong with it technically, but it still interrupted the flow in a few specific spots. Many other points were exceedingly well handled. The backdrop of Washington and then the very lovely Leesburg area all seem accurate. Descriptions are never overdone, or intrude on the story.

    A hint of the old-time hard-boiled detective fiction in the plot pace and snappy dialogue in Fatal Affair. Nick Cappuano is decisive and clever - and probably should have been a detective himself! Sam is emotional perhaps, but also professional, and we will discover - insightful. This is a fast read and a puzzling page-turner: Romance and mystery fans alike will enjoy Fatal Affair.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2015

    Excellent series!

    I actually just finished the 8th book in this series and had to let everyone know what a great series this is...it will not disappoint. I love romance and mystery and Marie does a great job of mixing the both to keep the story going !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    Good read

    Suspense, romance and a good read. what more could you want?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    Another great book...

    Another great book from a very talented author! I love the Gansett Island series and I wasn't disappointed with the Fatal series! Looking forward to reading the entire series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2015

    I recently finished Fatal Affair by Marie Force and wow. I was l

    I recently finished Fatal Affair by Marie Force and wow. I was looking for a series similar to JD Robb's In Death books and I think I found it. I love a series where you follow the same characters across several books in a romantic suspense series so I am excited about this one. Fatal Affair has everything I love in a good story - a blend of romance and suspense that evokes many emotions from me while reading it.

    Samantha "Sam" is a very strong female character. She can be sensual and passionate when she wants, but given her life as a Metro Cop, she has to mask emotions when necessary. Nick is a strong male character but is willing to show his emotions to Sam more often and he usually does so in public to rile her up which is hilarious.

    The characters are what pulled the emotions out of me the most. Nick's raw grief over losing his best friend was enough to make me tear up. Sam did the best she could to distance herself emotionally from the case but was also be there for Nick. I warmed up to her as she showed her compassionate side to him. I wasn't sure I liked them together at first, but by the end of the story I loved them as a couple.

    Marie does a fabulous job with the story. She weaves an intriguing mystery and lets you figure it out with the characters. I actually had no idea who the murderer really was until the very end. I was constantly turning pages and on edge about what would happen next.

    Something else that stood out to me in Fatal Affair is the relationship Sam has with her father and other superiors on the force. It would warm my heart to see them all interact. Sam does seem to have an enemy and I am looking forward to how that will play out in future books. If you are looking for a solid romantic suspense that had a nice balance of both sensual romance and gripping suspense, I highly recommend you give Fatal Affair a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 551 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28