Customer Reviews for

Fatal Error (Ali Reynolds Series #6)

Average Rating 3.5
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    helping a friend can be murder

    Ali Reynolds takes a six-week-long course at the Arizona Police Academy. Considering she is fortysomething and female, that alone would be a challenge, but she's also taking the 6 a.m. shift at her family's restaurant while her parents are on a cruise. Brenda Riley is a colleague from Ali's old broadcasting days. She has an alcohol problem and tells Ali a story about a missing fiancé that just doesn't sound right.

    Ali does some digging and find out he isn't who he says he is. He's a cyber-sociopath leaving a trail of broken hearts. After he's murdered, the various women become suspects, but the police center on Brenda. Ali attempts to clear Brenda's name.

    I really like Ali and this series of books. I must say I really missed her blogging in this book. Plus I missed her interacting more with her family. That said, I still enjoyed this book. It was well plotted and had a good pace to keep the reader interested and wondering how the guilty party would be caught.

    The author has done a great job crafting a group of characters that make me care about them. If the town were real, the diner is one I'd want to eat in if I came to town. Ali is a great investigator. I must say I like having her be an amateur rather than a policewoman, but she'll be great as that, too, if it happens in future books.

    I highly recommend this book and the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    loved it

    typical Jance page turner until the end!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    It's been 2 ½ years since I'd read a book in J.A. Jance's Alison

    It's been 2 ½ years since I'd read a book in J.A. Jance's Alison Reynolds.series.  Now that I've finished “Fatal Error”, the 6th in the series, I am asking myself “What TOOK you so long to come back?”  

    Like most of Jance's novels, Fatal Error is “A Novel of Suspense”.  Sometimes that means there is a murder mystery associated with it, and other times – like this one – it's more of a “here's the scheme, now how (if?) our protagonists discover what happened before it's too late?  Before Person(s) X gets killed / before the crime occurs / before the culprits get away / etc.  That's fine – after all, Peter Falk and his team turned that kind of crime story into an art form with the long-running Columbo series.  As long as it's done well – which, when the name “Jance” is on the cover, you automatically assume it will be!

    The Alison Reynolds series, including Fatal Error, features likeable characters – not flawless, but likeable.  It features a beautiful setting – Sedona, Arizona (although the majority of this novel takes place in various California settings – come to think of it, a lot of the tales in this series find an excuse to wander across the state line.  (Ms. Jance, are you justifying a tax write-off for your wandering, by any chance? ).  Fatal Error also features intertwining plots – an alcoholic middle-aged ex-anchorwoman (a thinly veiled funhouse-mirror image of our hero), a serial online-dater, and a May/December couple dealing with a bankrupt company who worked on drones for the U.S. Government.  (I'll let the reader watch how / if these actually do wind together.)

    It will NOT be a whole 30 months before I read the next in this series!

    RATING: A solid 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Interesting

    Good mystery.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, quick read

    Ali Reynolds is in the middle of her Arizona Police Academy training course when she's visited by an old friend. Ali and Brenda Riley were both TV news anchors before being considered too old for their respective slots.

    Ali is more than surprised to see the condition Brenda's life is in. She's not only an alcoholic but has lost everything and is living out of her car. She wants Ali's help to locate her fiance, Richard Lattimer. The problem is that Brenda has never met Richard and doesn't even know what he looks like.

    With the help of her boyfriend's computer expert, Ali soon discovers that Lattimer doesn't exist, but Richard Lowensdale does. In a cruel game of cyber-stalking, Lowensdale has been using fictitious last names to create bogus romantic relationships with women on the internet. After leading each to believe he's in love with them, he drops them just when they think they're engaged to him. When Lowensdale is murdered in his home, everything points to Brenda Riley.

    Reynolds finds herself unemployed following her training and sets out to prove that Brenda is innocent. With a murderer on the loose, Brenda disappears, and Ali teams up with Det. Gil Morris to find her friend and the killer.

    Like Jance's other mysteries, FATAL ERROR is a fun, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    A really fun read

    Another good Ali Renolds book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Clearly a #6 in the series

    I don't mean for this to seem like a downer book, but as a reader of all other J.A. Jance books, this one seems a little scattered. I was expecting Ms. Jance to continue with Ali's "blogging" to bring in the adventures she seeks as well as insights from her "blogging" readers. However, this isn't the plot. I am happy that the writing has continued to be great and no stone unturned. Fatal Error has at times unexplained and needless information, but it does come together towards the end. For anyone who has not had the joy of reading Ms. Jance's Beaumount series - I would certainly start with those first.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3