Customer Reviews for

Fatal Fixer-Upper (Do-It-Yourself Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fresh and invigorating, wonderful new voice in the world of cozies

I will admit, yes I'm a sucker for super cute cozy mysteries; they envelop me in a world of "Who did it? Why? What's going on?" and they have a slightly old fashioned charm to them that regular fiction lacks. They usually revolve around small towns and nosy neighbors, r...
I will admit, yes I'm a sucker for super cute cozy mysteries; they envelop me in a world of "Who did it? Why? What's going on?" and they have a slightly old fashioned charm to them that regular fiction lacks. They usually revolve around small towns and nosy neighbors, random weird characters that make me giggle and of course the crime, figuring out who did it is quite delicious and fun and there's nothing better than turning into a Sherlock Holmes for the duration of the book.

This might be the author's first novel but it's really wonderful. Light and fun but whimsical and very smooth, it had enough charm to keep me glued to the pages until I finally finished it in unmentionably late hours of the evening ( actually not too long ago) and it made me crave for more of Avery, but for that I will have to wait till next spring.

When a textile designer living in New York finds out that her aunt in Maine is dying to spill some family secrets, she finally decides to take a trip but all is too late. The older Aunt Inga has passed away right before she arrives but lo and behold, the house is left in Avery's name alone with all of its possessions. At first she is heartbroken but later feels an air of uncertainty, someone wants her to stay away form the house and its furnishings and keeps meddling with the property. Is the place more valuable than she though and was the aunt's death an accident or cold blooded murder? It seems that everyone form her friends in Maine to relatives and other acquaintances seem suspicious, each possibly having a motive, not to mention the legends of missing furnishings belonging to Marie Antoinette, could her Aunts old fashioned stuff be mixed with priceless antiques? Read and find out and enjoy the crisp and refreshing new voice of Jennie Bentley, she's a sassy lady with tons of charm and talent. There are plenty of ex-boyfriends, meddling relatives, family secrets, cute potential love interests, suspicious and shady characters and tons of clues. The book was also a breeze to read, not something that I had to labor over (always a plus).

Lovely mystery with many twists and turns, I figured a part of it out ( by luck! ) but I simply loved the entire book and it had the perfect balance of mystery, even a tiny bit of romance ( nothing blah) and lots of clues and fund home renovating tips, cant wait for the next one!

- Kasia S.

posted by Kasia_S on December 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

T

Nothing special. I thought it was expensive for an older digital read.

posted by 892267 on January 2, 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fresh and invigorating, wonderful new voice in the world of cozies

    I will admit, yes I'm a sucker for super cute cozy mysteries; they envelop me in a world of "Who did it? Why? What's going on?" and they have a slightly old fashioned charm to them that regular fiction lacks. They usually revolve around small towns and nosy neighbors, random weird characters that make me giggle and of course the crime, figuring out who did it is quite delicious and fun and there's nothing better than turning into a Sherlock Holmes for the duration of the book. <BR/><BR/>This might be the author's first novel but it's really wonderful. Light and fun but whimsical and very smooth, it had enough charm to keep me glued to the pages until I finally finished it in unmentionably late hours of the evening ( actually not too long ago) and it made me crave for more of Avery, but for that I will have to wait till next spring. <BR/><BR/>When a textile designer living in New York finds out that her aunt in Maine is dying to spill some family secrets, she finally decides to take a trip but all is too late. The older Aunt Inga has passed away right before she arrives but lo and behold, the house is left in Avery's name alone with all of its possessions. At first she is heartbroken but later feels an air of uncertainty, someone wants her to stay away form the house and its furnishings and keeps meddling with the property. Is the place more valuable than she though and was the aunt's death an accident or cold blooded murder? It seems that everyone form her friends in Maine to relatives and other acquaintances seem suspicious, each possibly having a motive, not to mention the legends of missing furnishings belonging to Marie Antoinette, could her Aunts old fashioned stuff be mixed with priceless antiques? Read and find out and enjoy the crisp and refreshing new voice of Jennie Bentley, she's a sassy lady with tons of charm and talent. There are plenty of ex-boyfriends, meddling relatives, family secrets, cute potential love interests, suspicious and shady characters and tons of clues. The book was also a breeze to read, not something that I had to labor over (always a plus). <BR/><BR/>Lovely mystery with many twists and turns, I figured a part of it out ( by luck! ) but I simply loved the entire book and it had the perfect balance of mystery, even a tiny bit of romance ( nothing blah) and lots of clues and fund home renovating tips, cant wait for the next one! <BR/><BR/>- Kasia S.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    Readers will find that this first book in a new series a delight

    Textile designer Avery Baker is based in New York City working for Aubert Designs when a letter arrives from an aunt she never heard of living in Maine. Her aunt asks her to come visit her so that truths and wrong doings see the light of day. Avery is intrigued by the note, but has doubts about going until she finds her lover in bed with his receptionist. The house in Maine is in terrible condition, but Avery who inherited her late aunt¿s estate hires Derek Ellis to renovate the house she can get a better price for it.---------------- Before arriving she had received an anonymous letter warning her to stay away from her late aunt¿s home. On her first day in her new home, Avery sees someone broke in and destroyed the crockery and dishes. She soon finds a picture of a tapestry in her aunt¿s home, but it is missing. Avery discovers a fainting couch meant for Marie Antoinette if she had gotten out of Paris alive. Professor Wentworth was a frequent visitor of her late aunt Avery believes his disappearance is tied to those truths her aunt¿s letter mentioned that someone wants remained hidden. Her inquiries bring her to the attention of killer colder than a Maine wintry night.------------ Readers will find that this first book in a new series a delight and are happy that they found a great whodunit and tips on rehab a house. The heroine is spunky, talented and obstinate as she refuses to allow anyone except Derek change her mind once she decides something. Fans will enjoy this fine cozy as readers and Avery know someone wants her to leave dead if necessary.---------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Fast & Fun read !

    I enjoyed the charaters and the plot in this book...if you have read this 1st book, you will enjoy the rest of the books in the series.


    Beth from NJ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    Definitely Recommend

    this was a fun book to read! Grab a cup of tea and this book and curl up. You won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Love this book and have now read the entire series. I enjoyed this more than many of the others in this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Enjoyable!

    A light, enjoyable whodunit read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    Remodelling with a twist of death. Romance which is romantic and kindred.

    This was a nice read. I'm not big on mushy love romance books but this one had just the right real life dream of Mr. Wonderful and falling in love slowly. The mystery is the ringer that gets me to buy but it is the plot and the expertise that keeps me buying. Avery is out there with her ideas of design but I can envision smaller scale of what she presents; which is where Derek reins Avery into period. Keep the cats involved!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Fatal Fixer-Upper has been chosen by the Fenton, Mo. Barnes and Noble Fiction/Mystery Book club for May 2009. I have already read the book this month.

    I truely enojoyed the characters as they seem life like and one can relate to them and their many miss-haps. The plot seems more original then other mystery books and the author has an easy style of writing. This is a fairly easy read but the book holds one's attention. I did not figure out "who did it" until close to the end. Good book for books clubs because it is not heavy duty and would be good on a snow/rain day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    so cute

    I enjoyed reading this, fun, good ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2