Customer Reviews for

A Fatal Grace (Armand Gamache Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Louise Penny has again for me, hit the mark with both her characters and writing style.

Louise Penny is one of the few authors who can combine strong and singular characters, lyrical writing style and satisfying plots into an immensely readable book. Her characters in the Three Pines series become neighbors that you grow to both love and sometimes, not so ...
Louise Penny is one of the few authors who can combine strong and singular characters, lyrical writing style and satisfying plots into an immensely readable book. Her characters in the Three Pines series become neighbors that you grow to both love and sometimes, not so much, as each develops into complex and very human dimensional character. The plots are vehicles for the character development, but they are well thought out and progress at a pace that does not bore. It is with the side plots where I feel she truly excels - this is where you will Penny offering day-to-day situations and exploring the motivations for our actions that all people deal with. There are endless topics here for book clubs to discuss. But foremost for me is her style of writing. She is a wordsmith. The well- crafted sentences, finding the precise word and turning a phrase that conveys meaning in a near poetic manner makes her works a joy to read. She is an author who will remind you why it is you love to read. The series does not have to be read in order, but if you do, the characters will unfold in a graceful way. "A Fatal Grace" is the 4th of the series I have read, and it's one of my favorites so far.

posted by lostwithoutabook on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The New Agatha Christie

The setting is during the winter, illustrating the beauty and challenges of the snow and cold in this quaint village. This especially resonated with me as I read the story in December. The characters are so well developed that you feel you know each of them and are a ...
The setting is during the winter, illustrating the beauty and challenges of the snow and cold in this quaint village. This especially resonated with me as I read the story in December. The characters are so well developed that you feel you know each of them and are a part of their little community. Ms. Penny's structure is reminiscent of the Grand Dame Agatha Christie as she drops clues along the story's journey which are individually examined by her version of Hercule Poirot, who then weaves them together at the end of the story. Very entertaining. Turning from chapter to chapter, you find that you've started the next book. I recommend, though not required, that the books be read in order so you get to know the characters and references to prior books make better sense.

posted by Blackie11 on December 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Louise Penny has again for me, hit the mark with both her characters and writing style.

    Louise Penny is one of the few authors who can combine strong and singular characters, lyrical writing style and satisfying plots into an immensely readable book. Her characters in the Three Pines series become neighbors that you grow to both love and sometimes, not so much, as each develops into complex and very human dimensional character. The plots are vehicles for the character development, but they are well thought out and progress at a pace that does not bore. It is with the side plots where I feel she truly excels - this is where you will Penny offering day-to-day situations and exploring the motivations for our actions that all people deal with. There are endless topics here for book clubs to discuss. But foremost for me is her style of writing. She is a wordsmith. The well- crafted sentences, finding the precise word and turning a phrase that conveys meaning in a near poetic manner makes her works a joy to read. She is an author who will remind you why it is you love to read. The series does not have to be read in order, but if you do, the characters will unfold in a graceful way. "A Fatal Grace" is the 4th of the series I have read, and it's one of my favorites so far.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Kinder, Gentler Detective

    I am now in my 3rd Three Pines mystery, so obviously, I like them. Armand Gamache is a character that I really love and want to continue reading about. In fact, the goings-on at his police dept. trump the dramas at Three Pines. One has to keep reading to see if he figures it all out. This particular Three Pines mystery was a good one. I just had a problem with the murderer--I'm not convinced that that person had the intelligence and cunning to pull that off. Other than that, I have only praise for the book and highly recommend it to anyone who loves mysteries and doesn't love gratuitous violence and gore.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A visual of a Thomas Kincaid Painting

    Penny has a real insight into people and a wonderful way of creating a cozy atmosphere, small town living. Compelling characters and brain teasing who-dun-it. Thoroughly enjoyed it! Another hit!!

    A couple of other books that are on my "masterpiece shelf",...EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Linda Pirrung and THE HELP, by K. Stockett.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I'd recommend all Ms. Penny's books!

    Once I read one book by Louise Penny, I ordered all her others from B&N -- I wasn't disappointed... as a matter of fact, I've ordered her next one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    A book to sit with a cup of tea and really enjoy.

    Penny's books are so enjoyable to read and I can't wait for each new one to come out. This book is entertaining and a great read. Her characters are interesting and I find myself really caring about them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    charming and delightful

    This series could be described as 'Lake Woebegon' with murders. The writing is sharp with effective dialog. The reader is transported to Three Pines and becomes immersed in the idylic life of the village. The mysteries are believable, the tension builds nicely and the endings are realistic and satisfying.

    If you're looking for several hours of enjoyment, these books are well worth the investment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Excellent mystery

    I enjoyed the setting and the style which reminded me of Elizabeth George.
    The "suspects" were well done and hard to pinpoint which made it exciting.
    I liked the characters very much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Immediately drawn into the lives of the town and Chief Inspector Gamache.

    Louise Penny writes in such a way that you are captivated by the denizens of Three Pines and the personality of Chief Inspector Gamache. Their story so drew me into the towns' lives and the inspector's fascinating methods of uncovering the answers in his intriguing manner, led me to ordering this second book, which also was just as satisfying allowing one to continue with the same involvement. I have already ordered the third in the series "The Cruelest Month", waiting to read it almost as a tease, it is such a reward for me to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    Well, I am truly enamored with Louise Penny after reading the se

    Well, I am truly enamored with Louise Penny after reading the second in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series, not only for the mystery aspects but her insights into the human psyche. Anxious to continue sharing the lives of Three Pines with Gamache's and his cohorts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    Not Just a Mystery

    This is book for serious readers as well as plain, unashamed mystery lovers. I've read all the books in the series about Chief Inspector Gamache and the Surete de Quebec. Like the others in the series, this would be a great choice for club discussions, whether of writing technique, plot construction, psychological insight, personalities of the main characters, implied social commentary...and more. There's a lot of meat in these stories.

    Louise Penny's novels are novels first and mysteries second, which is what I like best about them. They are also told in a vice that give the reader almost as much information about their author as she provides for her characters. Setting, characterizations (a special challenge because this is part of a series that contains only a few new people in each story) all are without fail surprising, illuminating, and above all, to me--real. I admire the moral messages in each book of the series that are delivered so painlessly and intrinsically.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    great reading

    The series is great---it does not just go on and on about the crime---but gets one invol ved with the people, history, etc. Hope she continues with the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    I very seldom read a book again, with the exception of Louise Pe

    I very seldom read a book again, with the exception of Louise Penny. Penny's books bring tears of sadness and happiness to me. I would love to meet Clara and see her paintings. And I feel a kinship with Ruth, that old woman with a gruff exterior and a heart of gold. Three Pines, the village, stands as a Brigadoon that only a few chosen people find and enjoy. Each character has an interesting personality. The three older women show the strength and vulnerability of these three friends. I notice that this book points to a future book, How the Light Gets In, many times. Inspector Gamache is one of most favorite detectives. Whenever I feel my life hitting snags, I think of Gamache, and know I need to try harder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Reaper

    Howls

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The New Agatha Christie

    The setting is during the winter, illustrating the beauty and challenges of the snow and cold in this quaint village. This especially resonated with me as I read the story in December. The characters are so well developed that you feel you know each of them and are a part of their little community. Ms. Penny's structure is reminiscent of the Grand Dame Agatha Christie as she drops clues along the story's journey which are individually examined by her version of Hercule Poirot, who then weaves them together at the end of the story. Very entertaining. Turning from chapter to chapter, you find that you've started the next book. I recommend, though not required, that the books be read in order so you get to know the characters and references to prior books make better sense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Great Reading

    I am now on #7 in the series and I've loved every book! The ongoing people in the books are interesting and it's also nice to get so much histery and ambiance of Canada in this mystery series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    Seems like a great place to visit (except for all the murders)

    I really didn't think I would like these books because I am not crazy about cozy village mysteries, but I like the characters and Gamache. Even though I had figured out who the murderers were fairly easily, I still enjoyed the book. I'm very caught up in Gamache's problem with this previous Arnot case and the continuing fall out from it. Also I'm very intrigued by Agent Nichol--she is a puzzling and unlikeable character, but you think she might be redeemable. I'm very much looking forward to reading the next book to see who is working against Gamache and trying to bring him down and how he will handle that problem. The only thing I don't like about this series is how long it takes to get into the plot, and the excerpts of (character) Ruth Zardo's poetry is getting excessive. A little of that goes a long way. Otherwise, I enjoy the time I spend in Three Pines and would love to visit and get a bite to eat at Oliver's bistro.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Asuperb police procedural

    In Three Pines, Quebec socialite CC de Poitiers runs a successful personal guidance business based on her book Be Calm until she participates in the local Yuletide curling competition only to be electrocuted. Montreal Chief Inspector Armand Gamache arrives at the tiny village to lead the official inquiry into what appears to be a tragic accident.----------- Armand interviews the victim¿s submissive spouse and overweight daughter, a lover, a rival self-help guru, curling competitors and officials, and some townsfolk. All seem to have alibis, but share in common a universal loathing of CC. In fact each person questioned paints a picture of an abusive ugly person and that the culprit should be honored not arrested. Thus everyone he has talked to especially the family members has a motive for killing the apparently odious CC de Poitiers most had an opportunity though they offer alibis.----------------- When Gamache is front and center investigating the death, A FATAL GRACE is a superb police procedural when the plot refers to the past especially that of the odious deceased it loses momentum. Still the story line contains a fine whodunit as it appears that much of Quebec wanted the nasty CC dead and several had the opportunity to fix her equipment and that make for a bunch of suspects for the police and readers to sift through and find out who, of all those who wanted her dead actually, acted on the desire.----------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2014

    Fantastic series

    This is the second Armand Gamache novel read and I am now thoroughly hooked. Insightful, with good plot lined, quirky but highly likable characters set in a statedly unbelievable idyllic setting, this series is great. I know when I'm done with the books I will be sad, but I can't stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Is this clan a sucsess?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Sunset to rockstar (super important)

    Can you tell me where the moonpool is?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9