Customer Reviews for

Fatal Judgment (Guardians of Justice Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 769 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(244)

4 Star

(255)

3 Star

(140)

2 Star

(70)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Thanks B & N!

Thank you Barnes & Noble for offering some Christian & inspirational choices for the free Friday selection! Just because this type of fiction isn't everybody's cup of tea, does not mean it "sucks" or is "boring", in the words of other posters. I appreciate that there ar...
Thank you Barnes & Noble for offering some Christian & inspirational choices for the free Friday selection! Just because this type of fiction isn't everybody's cup of tea, does not mean it "sucks" or is "boring", in the words of other posters. I appreciate that there are a variety of genres offered for the free Friday selections, offering something for everybody.

posted by ukgrad93 on September 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Ugg...boring too much religion

OMG!!! Too much religion....not a good read if ur no religion or one other than christian. Boring suspense. Free seems ro be terrible now.:(( boring

posted by 9261853 on September 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 770 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 39
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Thrill Packed Ride That Must be Checked Out!

    Irene Hannon in her new book "Fatal Judgment" the first book in her new series, Guardians Of Justice published by Revell Books takes us into the world of the U. S. Marshals. The focus this time is on Jake Taylor, a Deputy Marshal just recently come home to St. Louis.

    One of the duties of the U. S. Marshals is to protect judges. Federal judge Liz Michaels' sister has just been killed in the judge's home and it is possible that the murderer meant to kill the judge instead of the sister. From that point on the hunt is on for the murderer and to protect Judge Michaels until then. However the forensic evidence is slim and time is quickly passing with limited results.

    Jake Taylor and Judge Michaels know each other because the Judge married Jake's best friend who, possibly, committed suicide. Jake is not all that happy about being in charge of her protection but he is a professional and will do the job he has been assigned to. However, being in such close proximity causes Jake to re-evaluate the information his friend had given him about the judge thus developing their romance.

    The judge is kidnapped and the good guys have no clue as to his identity. Time is running short with Liz's life in great jeopardy and this thriller becomes more and more exciting with the last hundred pages being an extremely wild ride. All I can say is imagine going on a roller coaster the beginning of the ride is nothing until you get to the top and experience that first drop then it is nothing but twists, turns, upside down loops until the ride ends. This is what Ms. Hannon does to us as readers with this book.

    In addition to the nerve-wracking suspense there is also the wonderful theme of judgment and why we should not judge others. Almost every character in this book has made a judgment against another and how those judgments affect them is incredible to witness. God tells us that we should not judge simply because we do not ever have all the facts and we cannot be dispassionate. God, on the other hand, knows everything and can deliver a just judgment. I think this is Irene Hannon's best work so far and this book is just the beginning of the new series.

    This is a fun read, it is a fast read, however I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Ms. Hannon is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as she tightens the suspense. I recommend this book, and everything else that Ms. Hannon has written, highly!!

    If you missed the interview for "In Harm's Way" and would like to listen to it and/or would like to hear the previous interviews where we discussed the first and second books of The Heroes of Quantico series please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available January 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Irene is great again!!

    Guardians of Justice

    Irene Hannon

    2011

    Revell

    Fiction/Romantic Suspense



    Reviewed by Cindy Loven



    When U.S. Marshall Jake Taylor finds himself assigned to a new case, he is shocked to find out that the federal judge he is assigned to is the widow of his best friend from college. A shooting in Judge Liz Matthews' home has left her sister dead, and the U.S. Marshalls and the FBI wondering if the shooting was a sad case of mistaken identity. Was the real target the Judge?

    Dealing with the feelings that he has towards the Judge, Jake finds that maybe all the information he had been given about his best friend Doug's wife, might not be all factual, in fact the more he learns of Liz Matthews and observes her, he cannot seem to place that information to what he has been told and what he is seeing first hand.

    Dealing with his own guilt and grief from his own wife's death four years earlier, Jake recognizes that the feelings he has for Liz is turning into something that he is not sure about, but positive he must explore further.

    Irene Hannon once again brings us her wonderful talent in the suspense genre. A suspense packed story you will not want to put down! 328 pages US $14.99 5 stars


    Available January 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group

    This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Good read

    Fatal Judgment picks up with the story of U.S. Marshal Jake Taylor. He's been in Iraq on a special mission and now he's returned home to St. Louis. He's felt a need to return to his family since his sister was hurt in an auto accident.



    Before he can even go home and change he's assigned a new mission-protecting his deceased best friend's wife. The one he felt didn't treat his friend right. Her life is in danger so he will do his job. He finds an attraction growing between them every time something happens to her.



    I love reading books that take place in my old home town and this one is a fast-page turner. Hannon's characters Jake Taylor and Liz Michaels quickly become real people to readers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Just ok

    This was an ok read - just not the same pace as some other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    I don't see how there was a bunch of "god crap"

    I thought it was a good read and had a nice plot. I think what the character went through is how most of us feel when we lose a loved one. Anyway, the story went along at a good pace and kept my attention. Give it a shot and you might be pleasantly surprised like I was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book and the entire series. I also enjoyed

    I really enjoyed this book and the entire series. I also enjoyed the other books written by this author. The story kept me on the edge of my seat or entertained the entire time. There weren't any slow parts. My only warning is do not start this book at night unless you plan on staying up. There is no good stopping point. The romance that is intertwined throughout the story is based on respect, intellegence, and a common relationship with God. I wasn't made to feel uncomfortable with any inappropriate language or intimacy. I highly recommend this book as a clean romantic suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    I really enjoyed this Suspense Romance Novel. The action starts

    I really enjoyed this Suspense Romance Novel. The action starts out
    strong and keeps going throughout the entire story. Each character is
    strong and well developed. It is clean without sex or language and
    suspenseful without being gory. The action, romance and religion are
    well balanced to create a compelling, inspiring story. I would like to
    read the story that follows.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Slow reading and predictable

    Slow reading and predictable

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book. Will be buying the rest in this series

    Really enjoyed this book. Will be buying the rest in this series and some others by this author. Wholesome suspense!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    I enjoyed this book very much. It is an easy read and just a &q

    I enjoyed this book very much. It is an easy read and just a "nice" book. No gratuitus sex or bad language. Thank you for offering it as a Free Friday selection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    SO SO

    I like this book but each book in the Heros of Quantico and the Heros of Justice series is too close. It feels like she just replaced names , agencies, and the threat in each book. It feels like some of the elements are mentioned too often altough having been in such situations I find them true to the situation , like the repetive coffee, food, pizza, command meetings. It is repetitive in each story and although it is true to the experience it feels a little to structured and artificial. This also may sound strange coming from a christian but the author made repetitive deliberate attempts to make the reader understand that a character was using foul language without actually using the words. I think you can either put the word into the story or if its against your moral standards leave the word out of the story. However, using repetitive phrases like, "he muttered a word he shouldn't have" or "he held back from saying the word that really came to his mind" is not really worth the effort. Agents, police officers, etc. use foul language on the job for the most part. It's a difficult job . To make the story realistic you can include or exclude the language but don't allude to the language. That world is black and white without a hint of gray.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A new enjoyable author for me

    Ok, I admit it. I judged a book by it's cover... and was pleasantly surprised. I picked up this book when it was offered for free and when I started reading I really didn't expect much. I expected a quick and fast romance that was unrealistic in how fast the two fell in love with the romantic connection consisting mostly of some steamy love scenes. I'm glad to say my expectations were all wrong.

    I have to say the author did a good job of creating characters that I not only liked, but admired. There was a connection there, but she didn't force it, as so many authors do, by having them fall in love in a short time frame where you the reader are left feeling it wasn't earned.

    I loved that this book didn't focus on sex, there wasn't any foul language, and that the story actually centered on the characters themselves.

    There were some flaws in the story, such at the conversations between the male law enforcement did not seem natural at times, it didn't flow. Also, how they eventually got all of the connections to find the bad guy was a bit far fetched. Aside from that, the story was enjoyable and I would read it again. This author is on my watch list.

    Stats:
    Ebook Pages: 284
    Re-Readability: Moderate
    Steam Factor: Some sexual tension, but not steamy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Good Read

    I won't rehash the plot because the overview does a good job of providing a synopsis for this book. I found the book to be a good read and enjoyed it. It is Inspirational Romantic Suspense. To those that object to any reference to God in their reading material, I would say this book isn't for you.

    One note to add is that I read this via Nook app on both my phone and Toshiba Thrive tablet. I noticed that when using night mode that although the words turned white that the Chapter number didn't. Hence, if your preference is night mode you won't know with 100% certainty when you move on to another chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book, easy read, yet kept me interested.

    I do have to disagree with some of the other reviews about the religious aspects. There was some religious subject maters, however I felt that the author dealt with the issues she took on in a way that I think that many people deal with. I felt that she accomplished this with out pushing it. All in all a good book.

    Got to Love Free Friday's!! I get to read books that I would otherwise probably not read, for free!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Loved the book!

    After reading some of the reviews i would have thought the book read like the bible which it did not. I found myself wanting to know what happened next which is a good thing. If I would have based the choice to read and purchase this book on some of the negative reviews, I would have missed out on a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    At last!

    It is difficult to find a really good mystery that isn't filled with filth. Irene Hannon is refreshing! Content is great, and it is not written for the sleeze crowd but for intelligent readers. I can't wait to see what else she has to offer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Eh

    I really liked the book in the first few pages, but then the author kept mentioning God over and over again and it just made me really uncomfortable. The way she brought it up in the story made me feel like I was trying to be converted. It also didn't fit the characters. Maybe it was just me, but it really turned me off of the book and I lost my interest. And the way she built up the main character's husband's problems and the whole situation before he died made it seem like it was going to be more tragic then it actually was, which was really annoying. Didn't even finish it. In fact I just skimmed the dialogue and I still understood what was going on before it got too much and I just deleted it from my library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Too predictable

    I don't like books that so predictable. Within the first ten or so pages it becomes clear where the story is headed and what the outcome will be. Boring and not very good writing. Good thing it was free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Guardians of Justice

    U.S. Marshal Jake Taylor has spent a stint in Iraq, and he'd rather go back than to cover his next assignment, Federal judge Liz Michaels, the former wife of a now deceased college buddy. Jake is convinced she drove him to despair and . possible suicide. For five years he's thought of her as a cold-hearted, workaholic woman.

    Given a mistaken murder and an unknown enemy, the circumstances up the ante, leaving Liz in even more danger. The who and why are uncertain. With little to no clues, they need to find the perpetrator before he or she gets to Liz.

    In Fatal Judgment, Irene Hannon takes you on a fast-paced mystery, with multiple twists and lives in danger. The circumstances and actions taken are very real to life, one you could take off the front-page cover of a national newspaper today.

    Irene cooks up a slow-brewing love angle that takes Jake by surprise, yet both he and Liz find it tantalizing. But the first rule of his job is to not get involved romantically with the client.

    Irene pulls no stops to the tension of the horrific danger, the unknown cunning of the assailant, the constant yet troubling romantic feelings, and the out-of-control circumstances that abound. She is a writer that you can depend on for high-octane suspense right up to the very last pages of her book! If you love great suspense, this is one book you need to read!

    This book was provided by Donna Hausler, Publicity Assistant, for Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2015

    Moves along nicely

    Look forward to reading Hannon's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 770 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 39